We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Low Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Apple

Warung Apple
J.L. Mawar, Singaraja, Bali, Indonesia
(0) 81334961799
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Singaraja
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
1 review
“Good Food Low Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I came here because this place have good rating on Tripadvisor. Turn out they deserve it. The food is good, tasty and quite spicy (I like spicy). It's a little bit small but I came during low season and their place is the only one that is crowded. The waiter speak good English and German (and German!). There were Belgian tourists dining next to me and we have a good chat. They complimented the waiter's German.

I ordered mix grill meat (the menu is not in perfect English so you have to figure it out) which turn out nice, in reasonable portion and came out cheap. Mix grill meat (with fries) and Balinese coffee just around Rp 45,000.00.

Recommended for everyone

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    77
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Small and busy street cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were staying just up the road and were just looking for somewhere to eat. Spotted this place the previous evening and thought it looked OK so, why not?

Probably more like eating at home than in a top restaurant (understatement), but the food was absolutely fine. The people serving were as attentive as they needed to be and because we ate early, we benefited from the Happy Hour beer prices. Win-Win in my book.

We even had a punt at a coffee which was the ubiquitous nescafe that seems to be dreadful in whichever country you drink it. But looking back, we wouldn't have stayed that long if we didn't think it was fine.

I always like to look at the 1* and 2* ratings for a laugh. I don't have any photos, but this place is basically a lean-to shack held up by the shack next door. You can see the kitchen from your table and the guys are busting a gut to get food out. They're even preparing food out the back. It is absolutely tiny. If memory serves, there are about 20 covers. My granny could tell you that there wasn't going to be a toilet!

Top tip for getting the best out of the service industry is to smile and treat them like human beings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with local spices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Good food for low prices, pleasant and friendly staff. Dishes homemade and fresh! You will find real Indonesian/Balinese food overhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food,great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Warung Apple would probably have the best value food in Lovina. The owner is very attentive to your needs and palate regarding spice factor.
Food is terrific and fresh with a great range and all priced incredibly cheaply.(IDR30,000 to 40,000 for a main)
The Warung is busy due to its popularity and we had to wait for a table. No issues here as the owner came and advised when it was ready....we were in a bar next door.
Would recommend any visit to Lovina should include a meal here!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A long wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The food here is good and excellent value. Seven of us (four adults & three children) ate very well - 3 courses - for under 500,000 IDR. In Australian prices that's about $7 per person.
We had to wait about an hour to get a table, this place is very busy. Next door was empty. The owner tried his best to accommodate us, even serving us beers while we were waiting across the road. I think because they are so busy the service can be a bit confused.
A pair of young hopeful cats hung around.
Overall 6/10, considering the wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Apple also viewed

 
Kaliasem, Lovina Beach
 

Been to Warung Apple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warung Apple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.