We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fish” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Astina Bar and Restaurant

Astina Bar and Restaurant
Jalan Rambutan (Jalan Ketapang), Singaraja, Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 41 Restaurants in Singaraja
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The first time I tried this restaurant on my own I had some of the best fish I have tasted. I asked for it spicy and that is what I got. It was excellent and the service that night was good. Unfortunately on a return visit with friends, the service was very slow and the fod came in relays, despite there only being two tables of diners. I would try it again, based on my first visit and hope that there is more consistency in service and food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worst meal ever had in Bali and possibly ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was a total train wreck. The food was absolutely disgusting and clearly the staff and cooks have no clue whatsoever about how to cook. We had whole fish which was smelly and gross and was full of tiny bones. The prawn Thermidor was truly revolting and looked like cat food and tasted even worse. My daughter had fish and chips where the chips were cold and soggy and the fish was brown?? I have never seen brown fish flesh before and would choose not to again.
I strongly suggest not to go there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Québec, Canada
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great value good food nice show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great Balinese and western food at great prices,very good value for the money and bonus balinese dancing a few times a week. A must do not miss !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“No Balinese Dancers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I came to this restaurant specifically because the sign on the street advertised Balinese dancers in the evening. The pleasant, smiling waiter informed me that because it was the low season, there were no Balinese dancers. The food was just OK.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I walked past in the morning and noticed that they had whole fish with vegetables and chips for only 35k. So we came back for dinner. The fish was superb and the veggies nice and crunchy done in garlic and butter my wife had a pizza and it was ok. Good atmosphere and fantastic service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astina Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Astina Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astina Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.