We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Melamun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Melamun to your Saves list
Hotel Melamun
7 Jalan Laviana | Kalibukbuk Banyualit, Singaraja, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Singaraja B&B and Inns
Gunnison, Colorado
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“More than a place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A stay at Suzi's Hotel Melamun is so much more than a place to sleep or arrange tours. Suzi is a wonderful Australian who wants to empower and educate locals in the Lavina area. She opened the lodge to help employ almost two dozen people and spends her profits on both upgrading the facilities and enriching her employees life through helping them with medical and educational opportunities for their families.

The facility itself is wonderful. Clean, cool rooms, a quiet veranda, excellent restaurant and relaxing pool greets you. The staff is happy to arrange tours. We enjoyed snorkeling both locally and at the national park, seeing the dolphins (which is a bit intrusive on the pod), and a trip to the market and local textile factory which created gorgeous sarongs etc. All were inexpensive trips well worth the time. We also ate twice at Le Jaenzan a nearby restaurant which will provide free transport to and from your hotel. It had some of the best food we have eaten in 10 months of travel! I would come back to visit the wonderful family like staff at the lodge and eat at Le Jaenzan again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool have better wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    33
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
43
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in the bungalow, which was basic yet comfortable. Suzy and her staff were very warm and friendly. When they realized we were on our honeymoon, they surprised us with a beautiful home made cake and a musical performance by staff. It was such a memorable evening. The human touch is what makes this B&B such a special place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We just stayed 1 night. While we arrived around 10pm, the staff was waiting for us and room was ready.

We had a dolphin watching and snorkeling trip on the next day morning. Hotel staff waked up us on 5.30am, drove us to the beach directly. And the staff took us to see dolphins with his boat; after that, we snorkeled around Lovina. The trip was about 2hrs and cost IDR 160,000 per person. After the trip, we just walked back to hotel and had breakfast, so relaxing.

The hotel is run by an Australian Lady. Everything is just perfect for a short stay. Clean room, big bathroom (a little bit dark), nice garden and lovely pool. Close to the beach (5 mins walking); however, it's not a walkable distance from hotel to city center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. We received a warm welcome by staff and the owner Susie. Our room overlooked the pool and the beautiful Balinese garden. There are many good restaurants nearby. The hotel will arrange a transfer to the central area, a 5 minute trip by car.

Staff were helpful and friendly and we loved the complimentary coffee service provided at the restaurant, poolside or to your room. A must is a visit to Le Jaenzan restaurant. An experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The owner Susie greeted us like old friends. Set in beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, our apartment was huge and furnished with bespoke items. The pool at our door was crystal clear and the open restaurant just beyond the pool. Nothing is too much trouble for Susie; she goes above and beyond to make her guests feel at home.Transport is provide to see around the area. We explored a nearby beach where you can pick up ancient pottery shards from ship wrecks and also went to the hot springs in the nearby mountains.Staff are very friendly and helpful.Food was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portopalo di Capo Passero, Italy
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel in quiet Lovina, north Bali is owned by an effervescent Australian who loves to share Bali to the world. It has well kept and manicured Balinese gardens and the pool area is a mecca for all to join in the sun. At one stage there were some five different nationalities all around the pool exchanging travel stories ,in a uniform language..sign language!!
The staff are friendly and always smiling and trying to learn English.
The restaurant is comfortable serving both western and Balinese food. Rooms are clean and spacious with air conditioning and new beds were being installed when we were there!
Good value for money for both short and long stay.
The hotel provides a driver and tours on request.

Room Tip: all rooms face the pool and there are family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Service is good. Hotel will drop you in central lovina and will come and pick you up. Grounds are quite well maintained and pool area is very relaxing and quiet. Breakfast quite substantial and served promptly. Some guests stay here for several months (avoiding European winter). Just like to suggest the owners jnvest in some new towels and bathmats - far too thin to be effective after a shower.


  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Melamun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melamun

Address: 7 Jalan Laviana | Kalibukbuk Banyualit, Singaraja, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Singaraja
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Singaraja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Melamun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Melamun Bali/Singaraja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Melamun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.