We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for Bali, but a lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Damai Restaurant, Lovina

The Damai Restaurant, Lovina
Jalan Damai, Kayu Putih | Lovina, Singaraja, Bali, Indonesia
+62 362 41008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Singaraja
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: French, European, Fusion, Danish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Cowcowing Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very expensive for Bali, but a lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Our meal cost over 1 million rupiah and was very nice, but we probably enjoyed eating at our villa and other local places more. Great for a special night out and the pick up service from our villa was great

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We only had coffee & cake but a great experience. The views across Singaraja added to our pleasure

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“High cuisine?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed at the Damai Lovina for three nights and overall in was a good experience (especially we liked the villla, it was gorgeous). However, we did not like the restaurant.
> Perhaps we expected too much. On our first dinner we ordered a bottle of Jacobs Creek Chardonnay which we have tried so many times before that we were familiar with the taste. So when waiter asked me i d like to try it i said no. The wine had a weird orange colour and smell, but waiter didnt seem to notice that anything was wrong. When we asked him if the wine was fine, he looked at the bottle confusingly and said it should be. After we tried it we realised that something is obviously wrong, it tasted like an apple cider. Then The waiter called the manager (?) and he was trying to convince us that the wine is fine because it was kept under the certain temperature, certain angle, etc. finally he agreed to try the wine himself and after that he said that the wine is not good and he can bring another bottle or just dont include it in our bill. We refused to have another bottle. After that we had to wait for our bill for at least half an hour after asking different waiters several times.
On our subsequent visits to the restaurant we were hoping to find a dish which will make us forget about the incindent, but we didnt. Tomato soup tasted like ketchup and fettuchine had too much salt. Now i m just scared to go to the places Which Are "organic" and "high cuisine" because it means the food will be expensive and the good food and good service are not guaranteed

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay, outstanding villa and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful stay at Damai; the food items and services received were great, especially from Pak Gede, who was highly engaged, and nothing too much to ask for. The villa was overlooking the forest and Lovina bay; the interior design and the overall concept and comfort amazing. Would love to stay again!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent food, great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed 4 days in one of their villas with our own pool. The first night we had dinner at the poolside. Make a reservation and ask them to put your table outside. Great view and atmosphere. We liked the food that much, that we had dinner here throughout our whole stay. Try their gooseliver, or tortellini with lobster, tuna tatakinor wagyama beef sashimi as a starter, as a main course their lamb rack is excellent als well as their beef. Lunch time? Take a tuna sandwich, you will not believe what you get in your plate...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Damai Restaurant, Lovina also viewed

 
Kaliasem, Lovina Beach
 

Been to The Damai Restaurant, Lovina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Damai Restaurant, Lovina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.