We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at Club Med Bali was a holiday to remember cannot find any fault whatsoever very good value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Club Med Bali to your Saves list
Club Med Bali
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.T. Holiday Villages, Lot 6, Nusa Dua, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Nusa Dua
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time at Club Med Bali was a holiday to remember cannot find any fault whatsoever very good value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Patel x 4. We stayed at Club Med Bali from 1st to 10 September 2013. When we arrived we were made very welcome with a drink then after lunch we were shown to our rooms.
The location was very good and the rooms we were given were within easy reach of the beach, bar, swimming pool, restaurants etc.
The food was excellent and the Chefs and the staff in the restaurants were very caring. In our party we had one vegetarian person and Ravin and Sam went out of their way and made spicy food for us.
The GO's were always out to mix with everyone and get us to join in the fun, especially Sagar. The evening entertainment was excellent mad the dancing after shows was very good.
There was a very good choice of drinks at the bar and the bar staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The beach was clean at all times and so were the grounds. The swimming pool was also clean and it was nice to have a swim and join in the water exercise at about 11.30 every morning.
To sum it all up, if we had another chance we would definitely come again. We will recommend Club Med Bali to our friends and family.
Thank you for a fabulous holiday
Mr and Mrs B Patel, and Mr and Mrs R Patel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    487
    131
    54
    30
See reviews for
943
454
63
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I and my wife have just returned yesterday for a 5D4N Club Med Bali stay as kindof a belated birthday celebration for myself. Against the backdrop of over 1,400 existing reviews about Club Med Bali, instead of writing about their facilities ("hardware"), I'll pitch my this review to touch on more about their GOs and their service in general (i.e. the "software" portion), comparatively with Club Med Maldives and Club Med Bintan (which I and my wife been to before in 2011 and 2012 respectively).

On arrival to Club Med Bali, both of us were greeted warmly by their Chief Village and one of their GOs, which indeed made us feel very welcome.

As the days gone pass, I and my wife noticed something peculiar. In Club Med Maldives and Club Med Bintan, we noticed that the GOs would mingle with the GMs during meal times and rarely we will see a GO by himself/herself, or even GOs amongst GOs themselves in a table. Over at Bali, throughout my 5 days of stay with 3 meals each day, no GOs had asked to seat with me and my wife to "make small talk". Having said that, I do observe that the GOs in Club Med Bali seems to either huddle amongst themselves during meal times, or they would be in the companionship of their country compatriots (Korean GOs eating with the Korean GMs, French GOs eating with the French GMs etc). While I do recognise that there will be guests whom prefer meal times to themselves and their kids without the GOs interrupting their private family time, but for me personally, I do miss the kind of "small talk" interaction and spontaneity between the GOs and GMs over our meals back in Club Med Maldives and Club Med Bintan.

In terms of the kitchen staff, the servers are very warm in greeting and leading us to our tables, and their staff are also very efficient and prompt in clearing and setting up of the tables. In fact, one of their chefs even took the effort to make small talk with my wife on a few occasions when she is at the dishes counter (which reminds me of our experience in Club Med Maldives and Bintan where their chefs would personally be at the dishes counter to help in explaning the dishes or to ask for feedback about the dishes that they have cooked for the GMs).

Housekeeping was effcient, though there was a minor service lapse on one of the days. I had placed the "Do not disturb" sign at my door before leaving the room as I felt that there was no need for housekeeping on that day. Upon my return to the room, the room was housekept. However, I was glad to see the integrity of the housekeeping staff as my wallet and other valuables are left untouched on the table. In addition, one of the towels that we placed in the sink (based on the leaflet's instruction) was not replaced with a new one. In this aspect, we did not face such service lapses especially in Club Med Kani, which was of top notch service.

During one of the days, I and my wife popped by the counter to see our pictures on the computer terminals that their resort photographer would randomly take of the GMs. My wife accidentally closed the browser to view the pictures, and both of us were not able to find any descriptive shortcuts of the picture folders on the desktop home screen. Thus we apologised to the counter staff and asked if she can help us bring out the picture folder again. Without saying a word, the staff walked over and opened the browser for us and retorted to us to be more careful. Her expression was rather black, like almost as if we owned her money. Though that angered us inwardly for a while, nevertheless we brushed it off as there's no need to let this incident spoil our holiday mood.

We found out that the beach was rather not suitable for swimming or even soaking in it. Basically, there are 2 sections of the beach that are designated for swimming, one being too shallow, the other being just as shallow and too rocky on the sea bed to walk on as well. Hence, during our stay, there was not many people on the beach or in the beach waters (except for some of their locals fishing in the beach, as the beach was a open public beach). I was actually looking forward to soaking myself in the beach waters for this trip, but to my somewhat disappointment.

To me personally, the niche Club Med Kani lies was in its blue waters, over-the-sea water bungalows and couple getaway with no kids allowed for the resort. For Club Med Bintan, we were blown away by their GOs and their friendliness there. As for Club Med Bali, it was the resort itself that strikes out the most. Club Med Bali feels the most like a holiday resort and the total resort place is real big, very spacious feeling. Not forgetting their stage for the daily night performances was rather high-tech with the backdrop computer effect. Oh, do note that both Club Med Bintan and Club Med Bali has the Mini and Petit Club activites for your kids and juniors, so it's very suitable for families.

To those of you whom perhaps desire a quieter stay away from the stage and buzz, you may like to request for rooms nearest the "whiser-zone" quiet pool end.

On the whole, both me and my wife had an overall pleasant experience with Club Med Bali. I would still strongly recommend Club Med Bali to all, especially to those of you whom have not been here before. Do look up my reviews on Club Med Maldives and Club Med Bintan in Tripadvisor if you wish to compare, as well as my other forum review about transport in Bali http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g297698-i9451-k4202904-o20-Taxi_Shuttle_Fare_from_Airport_to_Nusa-Nusa_Dua_Nusa_Dua_Peninsula_Bali.html#52928281

In fact, I'm already now looking forward to my next 4th Club Med experience with my wife for next year...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Having spent 5 nights at Club Med Bali, my husband and I finally agree on something - we will never go elsewhere!

I cannot begin to describe the relief at not ever having to worry about paying for meals and drinks. With 2 kids in tow and while Bali is so cheap for food anyway, it can still nonetheless work out quite expensive each day when you throw in 2 main meals, snacks and (of course) the cocktails and Bintangs. But not ever having to worry about this at Club Med was a huge relief for us and made our trip feel like a true holiday because we had zero stresses. We did put on a few kgs though!

So Club Med specifics which were a treat:
- The Whisper Zone (adults only pool) was beautiful.
- The GO's were all super friendly and helpful, especially if you registered with them for one-on-one golf lessons etc. And they're from all over the world. The Indonesians very rarely hold GO positions.
- The entertainment each night in the Theatre was hilarious
- The outdoor bar was amazing. Full stop. And top shelf liquor was included if wanted. Many MANY good days and nights spent in this area.
- The onsite nightclub which opens late once the outdoor bar closes and generally closes doors around 2am was awesome.
- The local family of water monitors always had a huge amount of people watching them
- The food served in the main restaurant was beautiful.
- Highly recommend going to the smaller restaurant sometimes (bookings required) as it's much quieter and avoids all the families (sometimes you just want some quiet eating time!)
- A 2-min walk along the beach and around the corner are some quiet markets to buy your tees, clothes, stubbies, thongs from etc.
- A bit further around and across the road are the $50,000 1-hour massages, perfectly good rooms / area etc. They even did my hair for me one night.
- The daily activities are fantastic. We enjoyed golf lessons and the soccer match. There were many more things we wanted to participate in but did not have time (and those are free too).

So for the Bali die-hards there are a few things at Club Med that may (at first) put you off. They don't serve Bintang, only Bali Hai. They don't have a swim-up bar. The rooms are a bit dated (like me you probably think Club Med and it conjures up images of brand new flash'ness). Our rooms a/c was temperamental and the TV was a 21" set very far away from the bed (making it feel like a 10"!)

However all of this was mitigated by how awesome the venue, the events, the parties they put on, the endless supply of cocktails available and the food was. We are already having our travel agent look out for another Club Med Special to book for us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at Club Med Bali in September 2013, which marked my 5th visit to this resort over the past 12 years - 4 have been since 2011 and there's a reason why I keep coming back.
Firstly, I love Club Med for their concept - it's not a resort that is quiet and everyone keeps to themselves. It's very interactive and there's always something to do, so if you're looking for quiet or and adults only sort of resort, I wouldn't recommend it. However, if you want to go somewhere absolutely amazing and get a little involved and enjoy some atmosphere, this is the place.

The Rooms:
I think they're great. I stay in the standard rooms and they are more than fine with great bathrooms, big beds and wardrobes and very clean, serviced daily. If you're going on holiday to stay in your room, what kind of holiday is that...?

The Food:
For someone who eats incredibly healthy 90% of the time, even I gave in after a day or 2 to all the goodies. So much on offer and all of it is fantastic. There's so much to try, unless you stay for weeks I can't see how you'd get bored with it. You have to have the crepes at lunch!

The Staff:
The GO's make Club Med. As an ex-GO I guess I know a little more of the inside info than most guests and I know how hard these guys work. Most of them do an amazing job and put their heart in to it every day. Some GO's seemed to be more about enjoying themselves than getting to know the guests and I found that disappointing as I know what's expected of you as a GO. However, the great ones will go far with the company and I wish them well. I won't mention names because unless you're traveling in the next 3 months, some of the staff may have moved on to their next village.
The GE's (local staff) are absolutely beautiful and make up for some of the lacking GO's. The GE's in the main bar are simply amazing and really make up the vibe of the place. Rata, Rosie and the rest are fantastic. Cocktail list is good and they can make you up other drinks as well if they have the ingredients, just ask.

It really is a great place, the one thing I was sad about - and this is not CM Bali's fault - is the old concept that no longer exists. If you have stayed at a club med prior to 2004-ish, the original vibe of getting people together, lots more interaction, the village clown etc. are all things I miss and I know many other long timers of club med miss this too. I know the company is going in a different direction but it'd be great if some where in the world, they opened a village that was run on the old/original concept. It's still a great place to visit but I wish it was a little more old club med.

I know I said I wouldn't, but to mention a few special people - JB (chief) and PJ (2nd in charge) are so full of energy and really make this village spectacular. They do a great job and I hope to see them in other villages in the furtue. Gavin and Adi in the bar are amazing, look out for them. Rob in sports is full of energy as is Geoff, Chelsea and Anshley and also Shira who looks after the staff training. Great people to get to know!

Thank you all for an amazing week! I will be back!

Room Tip: Standard room is fine, you're not in it much. Rooms in the 2000 & 3000 are the best for loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My 11th Club Med holiday and 4th time at this property, however I had not been back since 1997. Yes it had changed, new bar, spa , second restaurant, A/C in the main restaurant, however, it was still the same value for money, great holiday. Rooms were good for a Club Med but don't expect them to be a 5 star hotel quality. Grounds were very well maintained and IMO I didn't really feel the pool was too hot as mentioned in other reviews. Food good, GO's competent, in all a great place for a family holiday. I would have no hesitations booking again.

My only complaints is that they desperately need an early dinner time for kids and also a diet softdrink option in the restaurant for Diabetics, unfortunately all that was on offer that wasn't sweetened was water or soda water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Club Med Bali was amazing. The staff absolutely made the holiday for our family. This was our second time here and we totally enjoyed it. the C'Komo Club ( Icha especially and June) made our holiday perfect being able to leave our littlest in kids club so she could play and sleep whilst we were able to do activities she could not do. Others to mention were the life guards - Ian, Taiwan and Chelsea. Chelsea was absolutely amazing and really made our stay ! Rob also was a blast and ran Club Med very efficiently!
Thank You Club Med Bali for the wonderful experience xxxxxc

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent a week long family vacation in Bali at the Club Med. I decided to try CM again after our less than ideal CM experience last year in Cancun and took advantage of a discount voucher obtained from it (took some convincing as the voucher was supposed to be used only in the North America, but eventually CM accommodated my request). We flew in from Jakarta and arrived around noon. Policy is that check in is in the afternoon, which was ok with us. We were asked to pay for that day’s lunch, however.

The hotel is very, very nice. The grounds are very well kept, with beautiful local architecture/décor/sculptures, etc. all over the property. The garden is magnificent, with chairs, cabanas, etc. all over the perfect lawn and sand. We also loved the swimming pool (it is probably 30 meters or more in length and easily becomes the focal point of the club), with the bar next to it as well as the theater. Then there is the usual (tennis, archery, spa, sailing, etc.) and are all ok; there is a short golf course, in not the best condition but definitely a good alternative to play some holes or get started. Equipment, a usual, is below standards, which I don’t quite understand, so bin your own if you are serious about practicing any sport.

The food for the most part is good to very good. Each meal has at least 3 or four specialties (Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Indonesian, Italian, etc.) that caters to guests from different regions and in this regard CM does a very good job. Also loved the snacks next to the swimming pool. One exception is breakfast: we found the choices to be very limited and a Sheraton hotel in Lombok offered a much better breakfast service, for comparison purposes.

Service overall is very good. There is however a different approach than in Mexico: in Latin America there seemed to be a stronger initiative to involve guests in activities; it may have been that we spent a lot of our time touring Bali but we didn’t feel the same energy re being approached for activities, which is not necessarily a bad thing. GOs do a great job as usual in general. We did one tour thru CM and was very good albeit pricey; after that we decided to contract directly with locals and was fine too, and much more inexpensive.

As said we loved the Bali CM, and would have liked to have had a more extended stay. One noticeable letdown, and not a CM fault, is that the beach is not good at all. Sand, water, etc. are not attractive and hence families gravitate towards the swimming pool. I would have rated CM Bali at 5 stars if it weren't for the less than ideal beach and breakfast service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bali

Address: P.T. Holiday Villages, Lot 6, Nusa Dua, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#14 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At your feet lie clear waters and fine sand beaches. The Village of Bali is one of Club Med(R)'s most beautiful, an Indian Ocean pearl set in the Sunda archipelago. Beneath the coconut palms, by pools of lotus and water lilies, the bungalows with their sweeping roofs take their inspiration from Balinese architecture. A spirit of serenity wafts over Bali, and you can discover a way of celebrating life that is unique. Bali promises moments of grace for young and old, families and honeymooners too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Club Med Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Bali Club Med
Club Med Nusa Dua
Nusa Dua Club Med
Club Med Bali Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.