We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT RECOMMENDED!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Bali Bay View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bali Bay View to your Saves list
The Bali Bay View
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kebon Iwa | Taman Mumbul, Nusa Dua, Bali 80362, Indonesia (Formerly Swiss-Belhotel Bay View)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Makassar, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NOT RECOMMENDED!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I booked a deluxe room, the room is approximately 14 square meter excluding the bathroom, and it lacks of space if you're travelling with 2 large sized suitcases. Worse, you have to buy sandals from the hotel, which SHOULD BE FREE as with all other hotels. The bed creaks with every moves you make. I got the room with a view to air-conditioning compressors, very nice and relaxing to look at, the air-conditioning itself is not cold enough. The balcony door can't be opened, I assume you have to ask for the key from the hotel's staff, that if they care to give it to you.

The point is, DON'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!

Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJLeith, General Manager at The Bali Bay View, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property.
I have read your comments and have noted the issues regarding the size of room, space for suitcase and sandals.
I will be discussing these matters with the management team to ensure clarity for the future.
I thank you for your comments.
Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    107
    65
    35
    19
See reviews for
64
97
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

After reading a few negative reviews I was apprehensive. However it was just what we were looking for. Quiet, away from the noisy traffic and crowds. The infinity pool on the roof was awesome, we were the only people in it most days and then would only see the odd person for a short while. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. You do need to take a taxi if you want to venture out,which was fine as it's too hot to walk anyway. If you are going to Bali to shop and party, then it's probably not for you.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, more room and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJLeith, General Manager at The Bali Bay View, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Amandaandwilo,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thought that our infinity pool on the sixth floor overlooking Nusa Dua and Tanjung Benoa was 'awesome'.

It is also heartening to hear that you for all the staff to be very friendly with nothing too much trouble for them.

We are continually striving to improve all of our services and products and are bolstered hearing that you enjoyed our efforts.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Andrew J Leith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Checking time was 2pm however we were still not in our room at 1.30 as they weren't ready, staff were not very helpful. The shuttle bus only has 6 seats, you musta book it the day before and who wants to plan ahead on a holiday? Is off the highway on a hill and is not walking distance to any bleaches, shopping or resturaunts! So far away from anything and the hotels resturaunt is not that great. It is the 4th place I have stayed in Bali but I will never stay there afain

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJLeith, General Manager at The Bali Bay View, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Rhii108,

It is unfortunate and we are sorry that you found the location of our hotel terrible. As we are not located in the hustle and bustle of Kuta or Seminyak we are able to provide a peaceful and tranquil setting for us guests. This is obviously not for all.

We are sorry that you found the shuttle bus service inconvenient and am somewhat confused as we have a 28 seat shuttle bus but use smaller vehicles when there are few bookings for the shuttle. We use the "day before' booking system so as to ensure that we have enough space and use the appropriate vehicle. You can join the shuttle the same day without booking, however, those that book have priority.

We appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards,
Andrew Leith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed in a 1 bedroom suite, we were given a suite on the first floor. The apartment size was good but had limited aged furnishings and a view of the hotel driveway.

The bathroom was disgusting, chipped floor tiles, mould in the shower (which also didn't drain), toilet did not flush properly and the taps on the bathtub did not work. The basin tap was surrounded by rotting wood which had obviously not been waterproofed properly. We were only given one set of toiletries (even though we had booked as a honeymooning couple) and there were cobwebs around the bathroom.

The air conditioning, though it worked, it dripped constantly and the fully equipped kitchenette was not so fully equipped. Our room was infested with bugs due to the fact that one of our windows was falling out of the frame and that the balcony sliding doors did not have a seal.

Don't bother with the restaurant as the meals are overpriced and not of good quality.

The hotel offered shuttles to Kuta and the beach, but are at inconvenient times and the hotel staff are more than happy to rip you off on their tours and airport transfers. A cab to the airport cost was around 70,000RP (airport fee included) and the hotel was happy to charge 150,000RP.
You can also create your own daily tours with a cab driver for a third of the price the hotel charges (also with better service). The hotel is on a hill in the middle of nowhere, automotive transport is a must.

If the pools were maintained they would be fantastic but there was rust and grime everywhere.

The staff were friendly but unhelpful and more interested in making money off you rather than fixing problems with the hotel. A quick question about what there was around the hotel turned into a tour selling pitch.

The cleaners swept the driveway everyday to make the outside of the hotel look well kept, there were derelict rooms facing our room opposite the pool and the entire place is infested with creepy crawleys that a good spray of mortein couldn't fix.

We stayed here for 7 nights and will not recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJLeith, General Manager at The Bali Bay View, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear ozzzy23,

Please accept our apologies for the obvious stress and the detriment to your holiday that occur during your stay with us.

It seems that unfortunately we have let you down on every aspect of your stay and am therefore somewhat surprised that you didn't request to meet with me to discuss this whilst you were staying with us.

Please contact me on gm@swiss-belhotelbayview.com so that we can discuss this matter further.

Kind regards,
Andrew Leith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our first time to Bali. Stayed here for 7 nights with my parents in the 2 bedroom apartment. Not very convenient place to stay as there is nothing to eat within the walking distance. Food in the restaurant is not the great. However the spa was really good! Staff are all very nice and polite.

Room Tip: If possible request to stay on the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJLeith, General Manager at The Bali Bay View, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear scsleng,

We are glad that you found us "good enough" and that you enjoyed the spa and found our staff nice and polite.

We are continuously trying to update and improve the menu in our restaurant. We are sorry that you didn't think the food was that great. We continue to improve this.

Kind regards,
Andrew Leith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we stayed at 2 Bedrooms Villa for 1 night. it wasnt a good experience. All I can say it's just :

Plus :
- The villa was nice. it was serene. perfect for honeymoon or person who just wanna lay-down and relax.

Minus :
- Air-conditioner in one bedroom wasnt work properly and in the same room, we couldnt lock the door. when we called the staff in front-office, he replied with not-so-nice-voice-tone. they couldnt fixed the problems at the end, so they moved us to another villa in the late of night :)
- average breakfast
- Not so nice services. the staff wasnt friendly enough

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJLeith, General Manager at The Bali Bay View, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear yerikho21,

Please accept our apologies for the maintenance issues with your Villa that you encountered during your stay with us.

These issues should have been identified and corrected before you arrived and that they weren't is disappointing for us and you. Again our apologies for this oversight.

We are glad that you liked the Villas and found them to be perfect for a honeymoon or those that want to relax.

I do hope that despite the regrettable start you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Andrew Leith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night after arriving on an evening flight. Check-in was quick and the staff were polite & helpful.

The room was nice enough although on the small side and had a bar fridge plus tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was fairly firm. Both the room and the bathroom were clean and the shower had good water pressure.

The resort was very quiet with not many people around at night although very busy the next morning at breakfast (which was included in the price). They seemed understaffed at breakfast as it was busy and there was a fairly long wait if you wanted omelette or eggs to be cooked and the tables were left dirty for a while after people left.

We would stay here again for one night if we had either a late evening or early morning flight as it is clean and inexpensive. As it is not located within walking distance of anything I wouldn’t like to stay here for longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJLeith, General Manager at The Bali Bay View, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Silver999,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us.

Our apologize for the wait during breakfast at the omelet station. We try our utmost to roster additional staff and place additional omelet stations during busy periods, however, unfortunately we cannot control we our guests attend breakfast and if a significant portion of them arrive at once some delays can occur.

Kind regards,
Andrew Leith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bali Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bali Bay View

Address: Jl. Kebon Iwa | Taman Mumbul, Nusa Dua, Bali 80362, Indonesia (Formerly Swiss-Belhotel Bay View)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bali Bay View 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers easy access to Megiat beach & the water sports activities in Nusa Dua. It is also within reach of the white sands of Jimbaran Bay and its popular seafood restaurants, is within driving distance to the famous surf breaks and pristine beaches of Uluwatu and Pecatu, and the world-famous Kuta, Legian, and Seminyak shopping and entertainment areas are closer now with the new toll road. Swiss-Belhotel Bay View combines 57 deluxe rooms, 37 One-Bedroom suites, 20 Two-Bedroom suites and 2 3-Bedroom Royal Samudra Suites - with most of the spacious and comfortably furnished suites offering stunning views over Benoa Bay and to Nusa Dua Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Bali Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Bay View Hotel Benoa
The Bali Bay View Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bali Bay View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.