We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I told my husband (after the first time dining here for dinner), "Let's eat again here tomorrow for lunch and dinner."” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soleil

Soleil
Jl. Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Kawasan Sawangan | The Mulia Resort Bali, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
+62 361 3017777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 127 Restaurants in Nusa Dua
Cuisines: Italian, French, International, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Soleil, the seaside restaurant of The Mulia, Mulia Resort & Villas - Nusa Dua, Bali offering Mediterranean and Pan-Asian cuisines. Specialized in delectable dishes with a Mediterranean touch, as well as exotic cuisines from Indonesia, Vietnam, and Thailand. Our internationally acclaimed chefs at Soleil are prepared to pamper your senses. Facing the magnificent view of the tranquil Indian Ocean, the two elegant marbled dining areas with outdoor spaces are adorned with warm and inviting interiors.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I told my husband (after the first time dining here for dinner), "Let's eat again here tomorrow for lunch and dinner."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Thank you so much Soleil for cheering up our hungry tummies. During our stay at Mulia resort the end of May we dined at Soleil for dinner.

Mr Lugiano, the one who served us, was a truly kind heart. We had too much French and western food that we told him our local tounge missed Indonesian food so bad.

So sop buntut and wagyu beef rawon which were suggested by him were on their way from the kitchen together with my kid's meal a pan-fried fish dish with steamed broccoli.

All this while, sop buntut B***budu* from a hotel in Jkt always won every sop buntut lover's tounge, but this sop buntut from Soleil Mulia was waaaaay better than the one talked about. I am not exagerrating, yes it was sooooo good.

I never wanted to try any rawon meal because I thought it was smell but the rawon here with quality wagyu beef was WOW-ing me.

Kid's meal also satisfied my baby's taste bud which is so picky.

The mixed juices we ordered (also recommended by Mr Lugiano) were beyond expectation.

He told us Donnie Yen was there a few days ago and he loved the wagyu beef rawon too, haha! A good way to make us order the same food! Beyond expectation, we will surely ALWAYS come back to Soleil.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMuliaBaliResort, Manager at Soleil, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear 270885jakarta,

Thank you for dining at Soleil and for taking the time to share your dining experience. We will certainly pass your feedback to our team. Mr. Donnie Yen and his wife certainly enjoyed the rich selections of Soleil's signature cuisine that they kept coming back during their stay with us.

Also, do try our signature Sunday Brunch!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you,

The Management
The Mulia, Mulia Resort & Villas – Nusa Dua, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    75
    21
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chester UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Magical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My hubby and I went for Sunday brunch ...what an experience, the setting and ambience of the dining room was just perfect ...not too big . The food was out of this world ...beautifully presented., top quality and so fresh. We loved the tiny samples of different styles of food ...Thai. Vietnamese and of course Indonesian we could choose from as well as the chefs choices which got brought to our table to sample. Service was second to none ...we just loved everything about our visit . They even brought me a chocolate cake with candle ...and a row of singing waiters since it was my birthday. Cocktails were good and wine non- stop. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMuliaBaliResort, Manager at Soleil, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear heyjudechesterUK,

Thank you for trying Sunday Brunch at Soleil and for taking the time to share your dining experience. We will certainly pass your feedback to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you,

The Management
The Mulia, Mulia Resort & Villas – Nusa Dua, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Last time i went to Bali for Soleil sunday brunch and last day in bali for lunch.. This is the best restaurant in Bali! you will love all the food they served.

My fav food is thai chicken wings, foie gras, and the filet mignon.
My friend's fav is pork menu at the appetizer, and pad thai.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMuliaBaliResort, Manager at Soleil, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Nasibah A,

Thank you for dining at Soleil and for taking the time to share your dining experience. We will certainly pass your feedback to our team. Do try our signature Sunday Brunch!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you,

The Management
The Mulia, Mulia Resort & Villas – Nusa Dua, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We met some people in Bali a year ago who invited us to the Sunday brunch - unfortunately we were unable to go so we diarised it for our next visit to Bali which was last week - and what a brunch/ lunch it was - the service was excellent and the quality of the dishes were delicious - the little surprises were a nice touch - Just when we thought we were done our waitress had reserved 2 of the delectable desserts - Bomb Alaska and a chocolate ball full of Tira Masu with hot choc sauce to smother - sensational The fact that you can order the inclusive alcohol package allowed you to enjoy a few sparkling wines , cocktails and wine at a very reasonable price . Its not the French champagne that you get in the Singapore brunches - however its half the price and you cannot fault the food and the chefs on the bbq plate were very entertaining - Havent been in a restaurant where the staff were so happy and attentive for a long time - OH and also the view is to die for - WE WILL BE BACK !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMuliaBaliResort, Manager at Soleil, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear eprunty,

Thank you for dining Sunday Brunch at Soleil and for taking the time to share your dining experience. We will certainly pass your feedback to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you,

The Management
The Mulia, Mulia Resort & Villas – Nusa Dua, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excellent food. But please let me decide how much I can eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Every dish we ordered was really good in terms of taste. I would put a 5 star rating.
While the staff is really courteous, I would not put a 5 for its service and overall experience because I didnt like to be persuaded to order the expensive stuff and keep piling on the orders.

1. without checking with us, the staff decided the quantity based on the number of people we had (six foreigners). This means one dish would be 3 orders of the same dish. Even when we said we didnt need that quantiy as we wanted to sample others, they persuaded us to take the orders.

2. We stopped ordering after consulting the staff a few of the large "appetisers" (considering these came in pairs. We wanted to check the quantity before ordering more. The staff tried to persuade us to order more. Fortunately we didnt as we already could not finish what we ordered.

3. The speed is exceptionally slow. The dishes took about 70 minutes from the time we ordered to its serving. I guessed this was because they wanted to serve all the dishes when they are ready hence it took them so long. We were hungry and asked several times if they could serve whatever dish first, so we could have something to munch over our conversations. But still, they served only when all our orders were ready.

The same speed during dessert order. When we ordered a wine (separate orders by glass and by bottle), it took 20 minutes each to come. It was a weekday evening when we were there, and the restaurant was about 12-15 guests full, including us.

The dinner took us three hours.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMuliaBaliResort, Manager at Soleil, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Yuzimomo,

Thank you for dining at Soleil and for taking the time to share your dining experience. Our main course do take a little bit time to prepare to perfection and hence we normally recommend to take several course of appetizers, hopefully you can understand that our culinary team wanted to prepare the best meals for you. But thank you again for sharing your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you,

The Management
The Mulia, Mulia Resort & Villas – Nusa Dua, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soleil also viewed

Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.