We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mulia is simply awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mulia

Save Saved
You added The Mulia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mulia
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Raya Nusa Dua Selatan | Kawasan Sawangan, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Mulia Signature Package
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Mulia is simply awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed at The Mulia for 2 nights in April 2013. Stayed in the Earl Ocean View suite. Service at The Mulia and also Mulia Resort was excellent. From a personalised welcome upon arrival to ensuring your every need is met, The Mulia spares no effort to make you feel like a VIP or even a celebrity.

Room rate came with complimentary afternoon tea at The Lounge just next to the pool, which was of a high standard and quality.

Every morning, your butler is at the door, greeting you as he delivers your papers. Buggy service is provided for travel to other parts of the resort and their system is so efficient that you do not have to spend any time waiting for a Buggy. The butler or buggy driver also escorts you all the way to your venue eg the restaurant and passes you over to the Restaurant Staff saying things like, "these are guests from the mulia, they would like to have breakfast here, pls take care of them"...and before he takes his leave, he politely asks for permission to be excused. It is through such etiquette and service that the mulia staff stand out as being well trained in customer service compared to the staff of other 5 star resorts.

The rooms itself were luxurious. Very well appointed. Wonderful jacuzzi in the large patio for The Mulia rooms. The hotel itself looks luxurious, with beautiful pieces of furniture. Very well designed indeed.

Food wise, The mulia/mulia resorts beats all other 5 star hotels. Their buffet breakfast at The Cafe restaurant is the best in Bali and even Asia....they even serve sashimi for breakfast and their sashimi is very very fresh...This I can vouch for as I travel to Japan at least twice a year and I think I know my food well enough to be discerning. No hotel buffet breakfast has impressed me as such....the only other hotel that comes close is the St Regis Bali, followed by Hilton Niseko in Hokkaido.

Also ate dinner once at Soleil restaurant, had satsuma wagyu steak flown in from Japan, which was very good. Also had seafood stew which included canadian lobster which was very fresh and nicely done. However the best dish has got to be the Ikan Bakar recommended by the knowledgeable waiter, it was moist on the inside and well-grilled on the outside.

Facilities-wise, Mulia also has it all - private beach, a few large swimming pools, tennis court, many places/avenues to relax and chat with friends/family, and also a spa.
Tried their spa, which exceeded expectation, not as established as Banyan Tree Spa or the Remede Spa at St Regis but they have well appointed spa rooms and generally offer quite high standards of spa treatment.

Overall, I feel the winning point of Mulia over all other luxurious resorts has got to be their well-trained staff, who are ever so impeccably groomed, polished in delivery, knowledgeable and polite. 10/10 points for their customer service. 10/10 points also for the food and actually every other aspect too...:)

Room Tip: If having an ocean view and large room with jacuzzi in the patio is a priority, choose The Mulia Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    31
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
84
118
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just returned from a much needed and the most wonderfully relaxing break ever at the new Mulia Hotel in Bali. This luxurious property caters for everyone with the three different sections – from the resort with its differing room categories all tastefully and individually decorated with very classy furnishings and fittings to the all-suite hotel with wonderful ocean views from the private Jacuzzi and day beds on each extensive balcony to the hillside villas complete with their own private pools and spectacular views over the resort and the numerous pools right down to the ocean.
From the moment we stepped out from the airport we experienced the true class and efficiency of the Mulia with our smooth transportation direct to the property, wonderful warm welcome and stress free check-in. We stayed in the all-suite hotel and were very spoilt with our extremely helpful personal Bulters who attended to every detail right down to checking us in for our return flight – not that I ever wanted to return home! The Mulia beds and pillows are the most comfortable I have ever experienced. These are standard throughout the Mulia properties in both Bali and Jakarta and they are so wonderfully comfortable.
Of course the Mulia has fabulous and unique restaurants and food and the Sunday brunch at Soleil is not to be missed – not only is it a seafood extravaganza complete with Alaskan king crab and lobster but wonderful steak and pork and fantastic homemade pasta too. Amazingly the full al la carte menu is also included in the price and the friendly staff come around with individual tastes of mouth watering daily specials for the Chef. The Chef also visits tables personally to discuss his food.
The delicious complimentary afternoon tea complete with international and local specialties makes the day as it overflows into relaxing with complimentary afternoon cocktails as you glance along the rows of statues to the waves that break on the reef of the Indian Ocean. The entire staff go out of their way to speak to you and ask about your day or if they can do anything for you. They are also very conscious of your privacy and check if you would prefer not to be disturbed. They are so friendly and extremely professional and courteous and obviously love their jobs to provide such classy service.
There are endless pools to relax in or by where the staff are always only too happy to assist you and there is ample security personnel who are very discreet. The beach is always kept very clean and any seaweed and debris that comes in with the tide is always cleaned away immediately. With the reef being a way out from shore a very safe lagoon type environment makes it a nice safe beach to swim or enjoy some reef walking at low tide.
A highlight for us was watching the spectacular sunrise from the privacy of our own balcony and Jacuzzi or just relaxing with our books on the very comfy day beds. We also enjoyed a delicious romantic dinner in the privacy of our personal balcony.
We can’t wait to return and next time we’ll take our children and book the Marquis Suite!

Room Tip: We LOVED our Oceanfront suite with spacious balcony complete with hot tub, day bed and dining table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just recently visited The Mulia in Bali for our 10th year anniversary and business trip.
This is a brand new facility with 3 compound The Mulia all suites, The Mulia Resort and The Mulia Villas.
Our suite is oceanfront with great view and the spa in balcony help us relax ans enjoy after a day swimming and shopping
The compound offers oceanfront, view and surrounding Bali.The buffet is great variety of excellent fơơd.The restaurants are excellent.The complimentary afternơon tea with many excellent local fơods are very special.
We had bêen travelling to Bali in the last 10 years and stayed in many 6 th star hotels but this time the experience is different because the staff attitude and services
From hotel General Manager to waiters etec...everybody are friendly, professional , courteous and willing to accomodate guests
They really proud of their jobs and services.
We want to thank them for the services and help us having a memorable trip and we will come back sơon

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This Hotel complex is really really giant. But dont worry they will provide you buggy. The entrance is already stunning. It has 3 different pools and an amazing seaview. The rooms are really really spacious and provide you shampo, waterboiler, coffe, etc. Once you arrive there you dont wanna leave really and explore bali. The rooms are very clean and the sunday brunch is amazing. Japanese Corner, Indonesian, Western, Indian, Thai and some small selection of cheese and bread for European stomache :) Make sure you explore the whole resort and have a lot of time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This brand new 6 stars hotel is just awesome. The service we received from absolutely outstanding, from the moment we arrived until our departure we were treated very well.

I read all the reviews before I booked this hotel, the rate is not very high, ranked 22/32 in Nasa Dua area. I guess people confused with the three properties, The Mulia, Mulia resort and the villas.

Mulia resort has 400+ rooms and with major facilities, lagoons and pools, temple and chapels, fitness center, etc, but you may have to share with group tourist.

Mulia villas, we visited 2 rooms and had lunch there, are also new and great, all rooms are beautiful with a private garden and pool.

The Mulia, which we stayed with, is a suite only hotel. It opened only two weeks when we get there. Rooms are very spacious and included butler service, which is spectacular, we even found a hand written welcome letter from GM waiting for us- beyond expectations. Breakfast and afternoon tea each day at the Lounge, which is exclusively for The Mulia guest, attention to every single detail from plate presentation to taste to customizing the food for the guests.

Trip tips: you can have breakfast buffet at mulia resort but don't go, the lounge is much better than the cafe

Room Tip: suite only = awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I checked in to The Mulia last Saturday afternoon for a 1 night stay with a girlfriend who was there on business.

After arriving to the main lobby, i was promptly told that i was checking in to The Mulia (the suites down on the beachfront) and a golf buggy was arranged to take me down there.

My golf buggy driver introduced himself and off we went.

Check in was seamless and i was soon escorted to my STUNNING suite on the ground floor. With good sized television, huge suite, jacuzzi on the balcony, spacious bathroom (with the most amazing hotel bath robes i have ever felt), great amenities, i knew i was in for a treat.

My friend had brought some champagne with her that we enjoyed in our pool (each of the ground floor suites at The Mulia has their own pool which goes down in to the main pool) and this was brought to us in an ice bucket with two gorgeous glasses.

We had dinner at Soleil, and as it was Chinese New Year, we had the choice of either western menu or Chinese menu. We both went Chinese and it was excellent. The food kept on coming, and the staff were very attentive, with the chef coming out and introducing himself to us during the course of the evening.

At the end, we even had a special dessert brought out to us, compliments of the chef, which was a nice touch.

The bed is incredible and probably the most comfortable bed Ive slept on.

Breakfast - well what can you say about eggs benedict served on crispy crab cakes? juices, breads, fruit, eggs, indonesian food....the list goes on, and it was ALL good.

Check out was painless and took no time at all.

And the most surprising touch, and the thing that EVERYONE i speak to says 'WOW' about is the fact that my car was returned to me WASHED! Yes, they washed my car for me! NEVER have i had this happen in any hotel i have stayed in.

Do i recommend The Mulia? ABSOLUTELY YES.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

When u enter this hotel, for sure u will say WOW!!! Amazinggg.... Friendly and charming staff, u will find everything here,6 star restaurant Solail beach front dining, really fabulous Bar Zjs[so no need to go to Legian for spend ur night life], u will enjoy ur real fabulous holidays in Bali without feel boring. Treat ur self as King and Queen here at The Mulia!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mulia

Address: Jalan Raya Nusa Dua Selatan | Kawasan Sawangan, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mulia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening February 2013. With stunning beach frontage along Nusa Dua's bay, The Mulia evokes a relaxed yet polished sensibility. From expansive and elegant suites to distinct lounge and oceanfront pools, The Mulia's luxury accommodations truly exceed expectations for style, comfort and service. Experience a relaxing retreat with lavish amenities at this amazing haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mulia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mulia Bali/Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mulia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.