We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bale

Save Saved
You added The Bale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bale
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 hotels in Nusa Dua
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Loved this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I'll start with our HUGE deluxe villa, wow everything you could want. A large private pool and nice grassy area. The bed and bedding top notch. The out door shower was unbelievable and overall privacy, perfect. The included breakfast was terrific. The included lunch or dinner or massage all worth the delux upgrade. The beach area was really nice, a short walk to the beach.The location perfect for us and close to a lot of places if you want to get out and about.
They don't have expansive views like the Bulgari... But the real deal here is the value. This is a really nice boutique hotel and the Staff and the manager Luke do everything to make you feel comfortable. The architecture and design are both modern yet Balineese. The second I opened the door to our villa I could smell the great thatch roof smell that stands out in memory as the "Bali smell".
This should be a model that other hotels strive for.
We travel the world and wish we could get this kind of value more often!
Great job to The Bale team, we will be back!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth the upgrade s you in addition to breakfast you get either lunch or dinner or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hello danasbox, thank you for visiting us all the way from the US of A. Bali is obviously very different from the Big Apple and looking at your profile it certainly is rewarding to receive a posting like yours given the volume of postings you have made from all your travels worldwide. I am glad you loved this hotel because so do we!!! and I firmly believe this shows in the pride, passion and desire of the team to ensure our guests receive a genuine experience. You are absolutely correct we do not have Ocean views, but we are only a 2 minute drive from the beach front with our own designated area, serviced by our team area for our guests to use. We do look forward to you returning and if I can assist with making this happen, feel free to contact me directly at luke.harley@thebale.com
Kind regards - Luke Harley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    42
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
314
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Couldn't have been happier with our Deluxe Single Pavilion. The room, pool, day bed, service and everything was exactly what we wanted. There is nothing like taking a swim in your private pool then walking straight up the stairs into your gorgeous bathroom to take a shower or a soak in the huge bath.
We only ventured out of the hotel a couple of times as we were so relaxed here we didn't want to leave. We didn't even make it to the restaurant, instead enjoying breakfast served in the pavilion and some nights dinner too! We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our honeymoon and our only regret was we didn't spend our entire time in Bali staying here. We will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: Stay longer! It is the perfect base for a Bali holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi MwithanE and thank you for visiting us from the beautiful Airlie Beach in Australia, one of the wonderful locations as gateway to the Whitsunday Islands. We are all glad you were able to relax, unwind and enjoy the last few days of your honeymoon in style with us and thank you for choosing us to celebrate this special occasion. The purpose of the villas design is that you don't have to leave unless you want to with the space, flexibility and discreet service provided to ensure this can occur. While you may not have made it to the restaurant, it is great that you were able to enjoy the same consistent quality of food and service in your villa to maximise your occasion. Our product is perfect for honeymooners or couples looking at getting away. There is no better location than The Bale for a bit of RnR (romance and relaxation) and we look forward to seeing you do it all over again for an anniversary in the near future.
Kind regards - Luke Harley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The invitation to review the Bale by our editor was just at our last minute. We made a reservation and yet after 2 weeks we haven’t got any response about the reservation until we call the day before and they emailed us the form to fill up.

After our late check out at Alila Uluwatu we went and have our check in at the Bale, it was late check in and we have no appetite to go out, rather than just staying in and do right away the review.

The resort did not informed us earlier that they are having the renovation in their vicinity. Its very hard no not to turn your head toward the giant The Mulia as you are about to enter The Bale Nusa dua. Because both of The Mulia resorts are located smack in front of The Bale. Consequently the humongous resort blocks the ocean view that The Bale used to have. Good thing the management of The Bale are doing something about it by building an interesting restaurant above its receiving area which can "block" guest to see The Mulia, though the constructing are giving some distraction towards the serenity ambiance they are trying to create.

The butler handled us quite well to lead us to our villa to have "room check-in" not to have us wait to long on the receiving area
The villa is interestingly designed, you really got the privacy feeling once you entered its typical balinese door. With sufficient sound system and small pool a couple can easily spend the whole day inside the resort. They should have more DVD movies available, as it was really limited as we inquire at the front desk after receiving a great shoulder massage as a welcome treatment.

The resort provide the free shuttle to the Bali Collection, which we don’t really have the chance to experience the shuttle.

Unfortunately the air condition is not sufficient to cool off our room. We do appreciate the quick response of our butler to handle our complain even he could not do more because it is the machine which are insufficient.

During the breakfast, they have quiet a good variety of breakfast, with a big portion of serving. It is advisable to again ask the size of the serving before ordering. While having our breakfast the front office manager was going around and asking each table regarding their stay and we told her about the aircondition and the mosquitoes, in the same time we inquire about the location of the nearest BII office, where she said that she will let us know as soon as possible. The front office manager promised to get back to us with information of where we can find BII bank office but unfortunately we did not see her anymore

For the value that the guest spend to stay at The Bale, we feel that it is too pricey for the value that we received, with that price more people will go to variety villa or hotels nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi TranquilIndonesia and thank you for your review. 1st impressions last and you are 100% correct that yours was not as it should have been from the pre-arrival communication. When I spoke with our Reservations team about your noted comments, they put up their hand immediately and accepted full responsibility that your email had been missed in their spam folder and was not actioned quick enough. We all apologise for this and certainly not a standard of ours. I have also spoken with our Front Office Manager who remembers your conversation last Monday very well. She did leave the restaurant to find the details for you, returned a short time later but you had departed the restaurant. The lady then tried ringing your villa a couple of times to provide you this information, however there was no answer. She also sent a note to your room with the details you required but we do believe the note was either missed by you at the front door of your villa, or was possibly delivered as you were checking out given the limited timeframe between the request and your departure. Please do not feel this was ignored or not actioned, as we assure you it was and the lady in question takes alot of pride in ensuring requests and services are actioned accordingly. The Mulia project is well in truly finished and we do not see them as competitors, due to being 2 completely different products. They are a complex of approx 800 rooms/villas, we are 27. There were challenges during construction however this is now ceased and while it is a very large opulent complex, we welcome their arrival as it will bring a new found guest base to the area, one we look forward to working with for our exciting new restaurant product due to open early next month. Your points are duly noted on the ac system and while each villa does have 3 individual operating ac units, the unprecedented heat and humidity we have received over the last month between the wet and dry season (many days 35+ degrees with 90%+ humidity) has been the main contributing factor to this. If there is any opportunity you can return, so we can recreate your impression of our product then please feel free to liaise with me directly on luke.harley@thebale.com As you were with us for no more than 18 hours given your late arrival of your 1 night stay, I would love for you to experience our hotel, service and team for a longer period so you can receive a genuine Bale experience.
Kind regards - Luke Harley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was our first time in Bali and prior to this we did a lot of research on where to stay. We decided on the Nusa Dua area as we preferred a more private & quiet option. Upon researching on the hotels that would suit further our needs, we decided to stay at The Bale. The visited the website and was drawn to it immediately. We were drawn further after reading throught the great reviews from previous guests. We paid and booked online for a 3 night stay.

Upon booking, we immediately got a friendly email from the staff at The Bale. We were made to fill up a checklist of our preferences. I think this is a good indicator of the hotel's desire to get to know us and understand ways meet our needs. I replied with a few questions and every time I would get a quick reply.

Upon arrival, the weather was really hot. We immediately saw our driver from The Bale and he was very friendly and helpful. We were greeted with cold refreshments & towels which alleviated the warm weather. The car ride was comfortable despite the traffic because, apart from the refreshments, there were new magazines readily available to keep us busy.

The check-in process was a breeze! It was done in the comfort of our hotel room. The General Manager personally greeted and welcomed us.

Our room was just divine! It far exceeded our expectations! The pictures that the guest posted online didn't seem to do justice to what we saw in actuality.

The food was really very very good! We looked forward to our daily breakfast freshly prepared!

The service of ALL the staff was superb! They were quick, informative, efficient and they all have a warm & friendly disposition.

Although the hotel was right across the street from the beach, it was walking distance and the hotel made sure that there is a shuttle always available. The Bale had a private area by the beach and an attendant was always available to offer assistance & refereshments.

The check-out process was also a breeze! We were so sad to leave...

A few things that could still be improved are the following:
> The choice of food was limited and the price for the food and drinks was on the high side.
> Our assigned butler could have been more in touch all throughout our stay. But the over-all service experience from all the staff over-compensated for this.
> Availability of music in the garden/lounge area (e.g. ipod dock or speakers outside). But the staff were helpful in providing us options in the absence of this.
> The ride back to the airport could also come with refreshment options anticipating traffic

Our over-all wonderful experience was so good that above down-sides mentioned were not a big deal at all. I come from a Customer Service background in the work that I do so I tend to be critical about service. The Bale is a very good example of consistent and excellent service! What makes it more special is that you can see evidently that it comes from the heart of each staff. Kudos to Luke, the hotel's General Manager and to all the staff of The Bale. We will be back! :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi KTDeAsis, thank you for visiting us from the Philipines which in itself is a very lovely country with wonderful locations. It is great you took the time to research us, came to the Bale based on this and we were able to live up to all expectations. I am also very happy the genuine and beautiful Balinese people exceeded your expectations being your first visit, which they do so effortlessly and with such pride. The guest experience commences before your arrival at the airport and I am glad you mentioned our reservations team and their professionalism, as first impressions last and it begins with them. They are 1 link in the team, but often forgotten about as so often they are "out of sight out of mind" but they do a wonderful job in building the excitement and experience for us to then follow upon arrival, right through until departure. Your points raised as improvements are very well noted and will be discussed accordingly. It is great pleasing someone at your level in the service industry and receiving this feedback. Consistency and guest interaction is paramount to our success and while far from perfect, I am glad we were able to achieve this during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back personally in the near future.
Kind regards - Luke Harley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent six nights at The Bale over Easter on a stress relieving break from our hectic life in Hong Kong. Perfect in every respect. The property itself is beautiful and an oasis of calm and serenity. We used the main pool and restaurant more than the typical guest and virtually had the place to ourselves. The Spa is very good (although the gym is a little tired). The individual villas are beautifully designed, spacious, and well equipped - if you want to stay inside - with totally private grounds and a great pool - for just hanging around with your partner - all of which make it very hard to drag yourself out. Privacy is complete and the staff very well trained to respect that. The quality of the food was excellent throughout, the main restaurant menu a selection of Indonesian. Thai and Western, was good, the poolside snacks were a particular favorite, and the room/villa service choices excellent. To top it off, all of the staff we encountered, from the GM, to the Head Chef, the butlers and waitresses were fantastic. Very well trained, extremely friendly and helpful without being fussy and intrusive. As I said .... perfect in every respect.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Chr A, thank you for visiting us from Hong Kong and your detailed review. Our team do strive hard to please in all areas of the hotel operation and the overwhelming majority of the time we do this well. From arrival to departure and everything in between as a team we enjoy what we do and we enjoy our work environment which certainly helps in creating a positive workplace, leading to a positive guest experience. Our product is very private and spacious as you know and perfect for couples to get away from the rat race for a while, to celebrate a special occasion or simply just to enjoy each others time together. I am glad you were able to enjoy your time with us and more importantly your partner. We look forward to welcoming you back so you can do this again and feel free to liaise with me directly luke.harley@thebale.com if I can assist in making this happen.
Kind regards - Luke Harley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We (me and my wife) have a wonderful experience at the Bale. It was very quite and peaceful. It was our second stay there. The room was very clean and tidy. Our privacy is the main concern. A romantic dinner was also set up by the Bale and it impressed us very much. Now we are looking forward to staying our next holiday at the Bale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello fssn. Thank you for returning to stay with us and thank you for your review. We are a wonderful location for a private and romantic getaway as you experienced and even moreso when travelling from Jakarta, being so close. Our housekeeping team are very consistent and take a lot of pride in ensuring high levels of cleanliness are maintained. The dinner in your villa is also a lovely experience, romantic with discreet service when celebrating a special occasion like yours. I look forward to welcoming you both back for another romantic escape and please make contact with me directly if I can assist in making this happen.
Kind regards - Luke Harley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Me and wife stayed at the Bale for our 1st anniversary, upon arrival to Bali we were greeted by our airport pick up driver, halfway towards the car, I had the need to use the toilet, and he promptly escorted us to a better and cleaner toilet, even though we need to take a detour and the fact that he was carrying our luggage and there was a nearer toilet. The trip to the hotel from the airport was a short 20 minutes ride.

Upon arrival to the hotel we were greeted by the butler and directly escorted to the villa without even asking for booking voucher whatsoever, only after he had finished escorting us to our villa, introducing the amenities and served us with a refreshing welcome drinks, he then asked us for our booking voucher and ID's for the chek-in process. and to our surprise, our villa was upgraded to a deluxe villa!!

The villa itself was huge and have all the comfort a luxury villa should have, we totally loved the pool and the daybed, they also put a small tv in the bathroom, so you can watch tv while soaking in the tub. Also, there were birds passing by which occasionally come down for a drink at the pool, and will also grab some if you left your breackfast unattended, this wasn't a problem for us as we actually enjoyed and entertained by their company and i was intentionally giving away breadcrumbs for them.

Breakfast was great and they deliver them to the villa in no time, the spa was also good and as we were also celebrating my wife's birthday on our 3rd day there, we had a dinner in the villa and we got a surprise birthday cake. The check out process was also fast and withouth any surprise/hidden cost to the bill. The only letdown was our villa is located near the road so we can still hear some passing cars, but the road itself is not a busy road.

The geger beach is one of the white sandy beaches in bali, just a short walk away from the hotel, which they provide shuttle and beachclub service there.

Room Tip: Let them know in advance if you are going there for a special occasion, the small surprises won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hello Ardi_Basaltyo, thank you for your review and for visiting us from Jakarta. The team here are very proud of their culture, heritage and nationality so gain great satisfaction and pride when able to ensure our local Indonesian guests depart with fond memories. We are all very glad we were able to make your anniversary such a memorable experience. Our very private villa product is ideal for special occasions such as yours and as a team, we love creating little special additions to ensure occasions such as yours are recognised. It is the little things that make a difference and I am glad that many of these little things performed by the team added up to a much larger positive and memorable occasion for you both. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you both back again, to celebrate another anniversary next year. If I can assist you, any of your friends and family please liaise with me directly as would love to help out. Kind regards - Luke Harley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bale

Address: Jalan Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bale 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bale is a rare gem, a retreat dedicated to revitalizing your soul. With just 29 blissful pavilions, each with their own private swimming pool and modern, fashionable interiors, The Balé offers you the chance to relax and revitalize in style.Stroll through peaceful white − walled courtyards and past refreshing water pools, indulge in the unique collection of holistic spa treatments and well-being programs and dine on the freshest organic produce.Enjoy the friendliest and most refined service − what we call out "hospitality from the heart". The Balé is all this and more. Come and experience its magic.You deserve it ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bale Hotel Nusa Dua
Bale Nusa Dua
Bale Hotel Nusa Dua
The Bale Bali/Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.