We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, beautiful design” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bale

Save Saved
You added The Bale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bale
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUPER PROMO 40% DISC!
Ranked #6 of 43 hotels in Nusa Dua
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, beautiful design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The Bale is a beautifully designed hotel with rooms that are secluded for excellent relaxation. We had a double pavilion, which to our surprise was two completely separated buildings and two private pools as well as a covered outside bed area by the pools! Everything about the layout of the hotel is well thought out so that everywhere you are, whether by the pool, in your own room, at the restaurant, etc., is a tranquil experience. Highlights of the room include very comfortable beds, a nice bath tub and an indoor and outdoor shower, a selection of 6 different kinds of soap, daily fresh fruit and cookies in the room, and complimentary sodas in the mini bar (it's the little details that make the difference). The staff are all very friendly and eager to help out.

The hotel has its own roped off area of beach that is a few minutes drive away (the hotel shuttle will take you there). It's not an especially nice area of beach and there are a lot of people that approach you to sell things, but it is fine.

A couple things to keep in mind: Nusa Dua is a bit removed from where most of the sites in Bali are so it takes a while to get anywhere. Also, the internet is too slow to really do anything with, so if that's important to you you'll need a backup plan. The area is quite buggy and the rooms have a space beneath the door that bugs can get in so we ended up with A LOT of mosquito bites. We heard that they are planning on doing a complete renovation of the hotel though so maybe this is something that will be fixed?

Overall, a fantastic stay at a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    38
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
302
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here with my fiancee a week in Deluxe Pavillion, and fully enjoyed our visit here.

We had asked the hotel to pick us up from the airport for smooth arrival, and would suggest everyone to use this. Makes life so much easier.

On our arrival I had asked the hotel to pre-arrange romantic arrangement with candles in the pavillion, garden and in the privat pool and flowers to surprise my wife and to have nice setting for my propose. Could not hoped for better setting. My salute to the staff.


The Architecture of the Bale is modern and clean with nice sandstone walls and timber screens that create a positive overall environment. Love the fact that Villas are designed for couples get-away and are just the setting you would wish for romantic setting. A nice overflowing privat pool gives you the privacy. The bathroom is well appointed and designed with a lot of glazing that allows a lot of ligh in. The main restaurant was definitely nice and the food & service great. And I would recommend to try out candle light dinner in privacy of your own pavillion.
The area of Nusa Dua is nicely isolated from Kuta and the noices. And taxis are cheap so they are easy to reach if you wish to go there. Although its not on the beach, its just few minutes walk to the hotels beach or they will drive you there if you do not wish to walk.

Sorry to say we did not use the public pools, they are nicely situated and we planned to try them... but the week was too short for that ;)

Cannot understand the negative comments, but as saying goes: there is one for every train...

The Bale is small and boutique hotel, if you wish to big luxury resorts and you are willing to give away the privacy, you should... But if you prefer to spend the quality time with yours truly, choose The Bale. They let you to concentrate to enjoy. We loved our privacy and take full benefits of it during the hole trip. We loved the idea of small hotel, they can concentrate to the quests more detailed.

ON the comment that the staff was cold, I cannot relate at all.. We had just the opposite feeling. They were very lively and warm, and they seem very genuine.

The Bale and its staff made this trip and well worth of the money.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe pavillion
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Fin-Traveller2

Thank you very much for your very kind review!!! We all appreciate the effort you put into it and thank you for that.

It was a pleasure to assist you for your surprise proposal to your lovely finacee with a flower petal filled swimming pool, bubbly, candles and everything to make sure she would say yea, and she did!

CONGRATULATIONS!!!

Thank you for your accurately nice description of the resort and for your support.

It has been a true pleasure to welcome you here and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back foe your honeymoon or first anniversary, maybe.

Happy New Year!!!

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed at the Bale for 4 nights in December and had a fantastic and relaxing time. We had a Single Pavilion Villa, which provided perfect seclusion in a luxurious setting. Every aspect of the service was great: from the driver who greeted us at the airport with chilled water and fresh fruit, to the general manager who checked with us each day at breakfast to see how things were going.

We were very impressed with the design, size and layout of the villa. The pool was a great size, perfect for casual swimming unlike many 'pool villas' on the market with small 'plunge pools'. The outdoor area was an ideal place to relax, and as a consequence we spent a lot more time in the resort than planned. The room was very tastefully appointed, and the bathroom was spacious with an elegant bathtub as well as indoor and outdoor (waterfall) showers.

The breakfast is simply excellent, and the waiters go out of their way to get you everything you could possibly want. The quality of the restaurant for dinner was very good, although expensive relative to local standards but in-line with similar quality fare at the other top resorts.

The only downside was the number of mosquitos - but this is Bali in the rainy season. Despite keeping the villa doors closed we still ended up with a large number of mosquitos active while we slept. However when we mentioned this the hotel promptly installed a mosquito net for us which effectively solved the problem.

We will definitely return next time we're in Bali, and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Snobs_Travel

Thank you very much for writing such a great review of your stay in The Bale. I like your description of our outdoor showers as waterfalls, because they really are and the amount of water that comes down is substantial and gives you a very special feeling.

I also appreciate your comments on the Bale family, without which it would be impossible to deliver such high levels of relaxed, professional and personalized service; all the credit goes to them!

I also have to agree with the quality of our breakfast which makes me want to come to work every morning to enjoy one of our signature treats.

Regarding the mosquitoes, please accept my most humble apologies; although we put in place tons of different systems and treatments to fight them they are quite resilient at this point of the year with the scattered rains and occasional sunshine. We have planned during the low season when we will be renovating the resort entirely to watch for possible open interstices in the rooms where the mosquitoes could be entering.

Thank you again for your nice comments and please do not hesitate to let us know when you are coming back!

Ciao,

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Overall our stay at the Bale was excellent.

The staff were warm and friendly, greeting us with a smile and hello every time we saw them - it felt like they were genuinely happy to be working at the Bale and this translated into how they treated us.

The pavilion (#32) was superb - super light and airy, lots and lots of space (many times larger than our own apartment back home), high ceilings, nice furnishings with lots of nooks to sit and relax in, both inside and outside. The bathroom was sooo big - love the double washbasins, the bathtub was big enough for both of us, and we even had a choice of both inside and outside shower. There is also lots of room outside - grassy lawn, big queen size daybed, big pool.

The location is ok for Nusa Dua - I mistakenly thought it was on the beach, but with the car service to drive you anywhere in Nusa Dua, Tangong benoa or Jimbaran Bay that you want, it was just as good as being on the beach.

If you want a big resort this is not for you - The Bale was a small cosy resort, with only 27 pavilions, so you barely run into anyone. On our first day there, we kept asking where the other people were - we seriously only saw another 8 guests during the entire day!!! The team ask that guests are over 16yo, so this means no annoying youngsters running around during your honeymoon - perfect!

There are some downsides of course, it is true that there is light coming into the room behind the bed (we ended up covering this up with our spare pillows and cushions from the room which made it fine to sleep). Also, there are a lot of mosquitos in Bali, and some do manage to get around the tough measures that The Bale puts in place (we ended up double spraying our room with the insect repellant/killer, and this killed most, but not all). And yes, if you're in a pavilion by the road, you can hear some cars in the distance and sometimes some faint tapping from the construction site. And yes, the resort does have a very "library lawn" looking staircase leading up to the main restaurant and pool, not much evidence of any traditional balinese stone carving entrances around the place.

BUT, these are all overshadowed by the fantastic hospitality of the staff, their willingness to do anything and everything in their power to make your stay perfect and unique for you; and their openness in welcoming you into their family.

The two things that really blew us away were...
1/ Our experience with Michele & staff - I don't know how he does it - he managed to come have a chat with us everyday of our stay and made us feel very welcome, even managing to say hello on Xmas Eve when he was obviously celebrating with family. Thankyou Michele, you're obviously doing a great job building a top team.
2/ The villa size & the pool in the villa - this is a serious sized pool. Not a dipping pool. You can swim from one end to the other, and play and have fun - we didn't even go to the public pool in the resort.

We would definitely recommend The Bale to friends, and we're looking forward to trying other Bale's as they open around SE Asia.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear nattiwong

Thank you very much for such a nice review. it was a true pleasure to have both of you here for such an important occasion.

first of all thank you very much for your positive comments, we really appreciate them as The Bale family really works hard to achieve this result.

For the downsides, let me explain:

- As we are closing for renovations we will work on the road noise by adding water features to cover the noise

- I am aware of the light coming through the back of the bed and we have planned to fix it during the renovation.

- Our staircase is one of our main design features and we are actually very proud of it and believe it is unique in Bali. During closure, January 11th-May 1, 2012 it will be completely renovated. But it will remain in our unique minimalistic style.

Thank you again and Happy New Year,

Ciao!

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

My husband and stayed at the Bale in Novemer 2011 for our honeymoon. We did not have a set budget and just wanted to have the best for our stay in Bali. I did alot of research on the internet beforehand and found the Bale. My expectations were set really high as it is rated 1 on tripadvisor. Before the Bale we stayed in Ubud at the Chedi Club that migh have changed our perception on the Bale.

The restaurant had good food and the breakfast served in our own Villa was great. We had a cooking lesson which added a special touch to our stay. The service was excellent, and the room were spacious. The private pool was great and so was the outside shower.

However the place lacked character. It had a very cold feel with all the concrete around us. The butler service was unpersonal. There were alot of mosquitos in our room and we havent been able to get a good night sleep unfortunately. The second day I told the management, and they sprayed the room but it did not help and sleeping in a net was not an option for me. The rooms felt humid as A/C did not work properly and we had to get it fixed once - apparently the A/C does not work below 21C.

Overall, it was an average experience and in my opinion it is not worth for the kind of money you pay and the number 1 rating it has on tripadvisor. If we visit Bali ever again, we will definitely return to Ubud and stay at the Chedi Club.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade if there is one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Jasmeet K

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate your comments on the food and service at the hotel. I am also glad you liked the design of your villa.

Regarding the lack of character it is actually what gives our hotel the minimalistic uniqueness and what the large majority of our guests appreciate and like, we are not the average hotel in the same old Balinese style like most of the hotels around the island, but a modern approach to design which I am sorry to read you did not like.

I am sorry for the fact that the mosquitoes were an issue for you although as you mentioned we did offer you some solutions that you did not want to implement such as the mosquito net. We have a spraying program that includes the entirety of the grounds of the resort every second day, and the rooms are sprayed on a daily basis. During your stay the first rains had arrived and it is a very difficult moment for the mosquitoes, which luckily for everyone now is better.

Regarding the AC I am sorry that it was not cold enough for you. During your stay the temperatures were really high and our AC units did not manage to cool down the room properly. We have made a plan to upgrade our AC units during the low season so that everyone can enjoy cool rooms during the hot season.

Again please accept my apologies for the inconveniences.

I take this occasion to send you all my best wishes for this festive season.

Ciao!

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

Best hotel that we visit. Different than big branded hotels, highly recommended...

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Finished off our 10 day honeymoon at The Bale'. Was the perfect setting to relax and just enjoy one another's company. The rooms or should I say villas are wonderful. Very clean, modern and private. In fact we almost felt as if we were the only one's staying in the resort. I have read the 3 negative reviews and to put it simply those guests don't know what they are talking about. Overall I highly recommend this small, exclusive and excellent resort!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Dear Neshav N

Thank you for your time in writing this kind review. It was a pleasure meeting both of you!

I am really proud that you enjoyed your time with us. We do in fact try to make everyone feel at home and as they were our only personal guests and I am glad you picked it up.

Let me know whenever you are back in the area! Enjoy the beautiful South African summer!

Ciao!

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bale

Address: Jalan Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#16 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bale 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bale is a rare gem, a retreat dedicated to revitalizing your soul. With just 29 blissful pavilions, each with their own private swimming pool and modern, fashionable interiors, The Balé offers you the chance to relax and revitalize in style.Stroll through peaceful white − walled courtyards and past refreshing water pools, indulge in the unique collection of holistic spa treatments and well-being programs and dine on the freshest organic produce.Enjoy the friendliest and most refined service − what we call out "hospitality from the heart". The Balé is all this and more. Come and experience its magic.You deserve it ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bale Hotel Nusa Dua
Bale Nusa Dua
Bale Hotel Nusa Dua
The Bale Bali/Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.