We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aman, you will be a difficult habit to break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanusa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amanusa to your Saves list
Amanusa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Venice, CA
1 review
“Aman, you will be a difficult habit to break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

She said...

Coming off of a family trip in Taipei and finally heading to Bali for our much awaited honeymoon, my brand spanking new husband and I jetted off to Amanusa for the first of our two anticipated Aman experiences.

Arriving at Depansar airport, we were greeted right away by Aman representatives who cleared us through customs, bypassed lines and got our visas in a jiffy, handing us off to another Aman representative who assisted us with getting us to the Amanusa driver there to pick us up. Putu, our driver, was great. Cool, cold towels to refresh us from our travels along with offerings of beverages in a cooler kept at the seat of the front passenger's seat. We got caught in a bit of construction traffic so we got to chatting with Putu who was really wonderful in providing some history and background into Balinese/Hindu culture. Upon arriving at Amanusa, greeters were literally waiting outside as we pulled up through the spacious driveway. The warmth of our greeting was noted in my mind as a wow. Some may find the experience to be slightly intrusive depending on what your personal preferences are. Seemingly everyone on staff at Amanusa knew we were there for our honeymoon and knew us by our surname, always with a proper Babak and Ibu greeting. Aman resorts pride themselves on creating an experience centered around "home"...as if you were visiting a friend's luxurious home where everything was made available to you at the hint of a request. On top of that, it's all in the details. Fresh juice upon arrival & the check in process was quick and easy. None of that typical check in at the counter stuff...our passports were requested and while we sat there chatting with the GM who knew of our personal interests and hobbies, another staff had checked us in already -- no typical hotel process here. We were automatically upgraded to an ocean view suite as we were there for our honeymoon with a white ceremonious "flag" (I'm unsure of what you would call it) outside our door AND offered free couples honeymoon massages for our stay which became a staple at each of the Aman resorts we stayed at. Upon entering, there were fresh fruit awaiting, an amazing room and outdoor balcony/patio for us to potz around in, complete with a sunken bathtub filled with plumeria's & an outdoor shower. The indoor shower got semi-used once, but the drain was defunct and I had to finish off the second half of the shower outdoors. No complaints there though, although I should have made a mention of it before we left so the staff and attend to it for the next guest(s).

The property itself was beautiful - the pool is grand. First words that I uttered about the property was "opulent" & opulent it was. Fresh fruit & water, sunscreen & towels, all laid out to perfection for you the moment you hint that you are staying for a bit to enjoy the pool. My favorites were the beach club - big bed, sunbathing lounges, showers, the works. Plus it was secluded, with only 9 bales I believe. This was the best beach club of the 3 Aman resorts here in Bali. Well, only 2 of the 3 is by the beach though...

Food was great. Not spectacular as you would expect from a Michelin rated restaurant, but it can cater to all tastebuds. Breakfast was included for us, but unbeknownst to us, we had to have breakfast at one of the two restaurants on property to redeem...unfortunately, we ordered breakfast in our room for most of our stay...which we found out upon closing the bill that it was not included. However, for each guest per stay, you do get to choose from a list of activities that best appeals to you to indulge in. We chose Uluwatu which was a pretty fun experience and watching the Kecak dance was neat too.

Drivers to take you anywhere you want to go. Each Aman has different guidelines, please be sure to check. If it isn't included in the vicinity, they'll probably charge you 30-35 bucks per hour for driver + car. Totally reasonable, & please make sure to tip your driver.

*** They are renovating the golf course and have been for the past year. We were offered to go stay at Amankila in order to avoid the potential noise and disturbance which we accepted after some back and forth and goodness, were we glad we did. That property is spectacular...which you will read about in the next review. Amanusa's service and staff were wonderful, the room was beautiful & the beach club was rockin'. Go if you are a golfer (which we weren't), but make sure that their renovations are completed first. Nusa Dua, while cosmetic and manufactured, is central to many villages and closer to Depansar than Amankila, located on the East end of the island, so makes for an easy trek to Kutu, Seminyak and onward.

Room Tip: We were in room # 28 & loved it! Partial ocean view, sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    17
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
75
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We traveled to Bali at the end of April and narrowed our accommodation choices to Amanusa and St. Regis. We decided on Amanusa because of its reputation for excellence but were initially apprehensive of our choice on two accounts; first, it is an older property and second, it wasn’t beachfront. In the end, we discovered our fears unfounded. The property was very well maintained, reflecting the room rates, and the beach was much more tranquil and exclusive than that of St. Regis’. The Amanusa beach consisted of nine beach bales while the St. Regis beach was lined with three long rows of beach loungers. The privacy and serentity at the Amanusa beach more than made up for the lack of direct beach access. As a side note, we never had to wait for transportation to get to and from the beach and the safari jeeps were fun to ride in.

Amanusa’s excellent service has been mentioned in previous entries so I will not elaborate. However, I would like to mention the VIP immigration service for Amanusa guests. Denpasar airport is infamous for being slow. We passed through immigration in a mere 20 minutes and was escorted to the Amanusa van outside. This made for an excellent start to a restful holiday.

Room Tip: The ocean is quite far away in the Ocean View rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

On a friends recommendation, tried our first Aman experience
- Reception at the airport, got us thro fast track immigration & straight to the waiting car, very very useful when travelling with an infant during peak easter break period at bali airport
- very friendly staff at the hotel, seemed like all the staff were briefed with my son's name, everyone knew his name and was a very personalised service
- liked the concept of not showing you a bill to sign everytime you ordered something at the restaurant, bar or room service - very cool ....makes it hassle free
- the guest services sorted out everything for us from buying diapers, to car service for shopping, sight seeing,,they even organised a hindu blessing ceremony at the hotel temple with a local priest
- pool was amazing with the water temp made it feel like a heated pool
- beach was a 5min ride in a hotel open top 1960's VW jeep, i even used the hotel bike to cycle down to the beach
- food was awesome though the menu felt a bit limited at times ...we had all our meals at the hotel bcos of my son
- overall - a great first aman experience, i will be saving up for my next one!

Room Tip: if you have kids, would recommend the villas with a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

What a beautiful place. Spa was a little disappointing but made up for by everything else. Staff, beach club, pool villa, food, tennis court, views...so relaxing and quiet. Had such an amazing stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I can't say anything bad about this resort/ hotel except for a larger athletic facility and a bigger massage area. The food was very good with lemon grass flavors even breakfast was excellent. Go to bali for the hotels not the beach. Best beach is in Boracay Philippines very affordable !!!

Room Tip: go on a low season from 3rd week of january to may you will have a room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Kedah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Having stayed and visited Amansara, Amandari, Amankila and Amanusa, and more Aman resorts in the planning, I shall say, Amanusa is the least advantage, in term of breathtaking view and surrounding, but the best in term of architecture and servise. Kerry Hill is doing a good job in term of designing Amanusa 20 years ago and it is still looking good and up to date now.

Although Amanusa do not have a beach front advantage, but they have a private beach bale opposite the road, across the golf course, it is quite convenient to reach there by car. The huge swimming pool surrounded by the main building is very relaxing. At night, the traditional Balinese musician will play at the swimming pool elevated platform, while you could swim with the music. That is amazing. The Thai food is so, so only, maybe I am a serious fan of Thai food, but the Indonesian food, especially the Mee Goreng and Nasi Goreng is delicious. Something, a simple dish is what you need when you could have everything you like.

I would suggest those who want to hop around among the 3 amans in Bali should put Amanusa last, since it is very close to the Airport and Bali is getting very very congested now’s a day.

I personally feel that Amandari is a pretty shy lady in Ubud, Amankila is an arrogant youngster in Manggis (I will tell u why in the next review) and Amanusa is a humble gentleman in Nusa Dua. It is not fair to compare among the amans, as each amans have their own character and unique. I have to admit they all are the best in term of servise and everything. For me, going to amans is just like going to a place to treat your soul. I could sit around the bale, laze around the pool deck or even relax in the sofa , doing nothing for the whole days. Time always pass by quickly in Amanusa. Maybe I just have to come back soon.

It is a privilege to be an amanjunkie, even my kids want to be one.

Room Tip: If you have kids who like play in the pool, take a pool suite. It is worth it and the whole family c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

You mostly can't go wrong with the Amans; having stayed at some of their other properties. They know the magic to making your stay as relaxing and as stress free as possible. It is not the OTT glam vacation. The property is pristine and the pool is fantastic. The beach club is 10 mins away and is worth the inconvenience. Having said that we had a coupe of unscripted incidents that marred our stay. We found mold in our breakfast and the staff really didn't know how to react. Which was frustrating we ended up cancelling the order but was charged upon check out. Not classy at all. Throughout this no manager came to discuss this with us at all. The food and massage us okay. Unless you a regular Aman junkie. You may be better off at the many other lux resorts.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nusa Dua
0.6 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.8 mi away
Amarterra Villas Bali Nusa Dua - MGallery Collection
1.4 mi away
Kayumanis Nusa Dua Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#15 of 46 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 stars 1,864 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanusa

Address: Jl Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#17 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanusa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Amanusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanusa Nusa Dua
Amanusa Hotel Nusa Dua
Amanusa Bali/Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanusa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.