We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Stay in an excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Bali to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Bali
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kawasan Wisata Nusa Dua | P.O. Box 53, Nusa Dua, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 Credit for Kriya Spa
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Melbourne, Victoria
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“A Memorable Stay in an excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We got off to a bad start when our room on the first night had a number of problems. The manager on the front desk next morning was most professional and showed the goodwill of the hotel so that the rest of our stay at the Grand Hyatt was memorable, in a lovely room in which the airconditioning and all the other features worked seamlessly. When things go wrong, it's the staff training and philosophy of the establishment that comes to the fore, and it shone through positively in the case of the Hyatt.

We enjoyed walking along the beach front to the other top hotels strung out along the bay, and then heading inland and strolling along the heavily shaded footpath to the shopping complex, where we could have a coffee or icecream. We also caught the hotel shuttle over to Sanur to visit the Bali Hyatt, an older hotel than the Grand Hyatt, but still extremely popular. We'd stayed here three years before and adored the mature gardens and Balinese architecture. The Grand Hyatt is a much bigger hotel with less of a Balinese feel, but I'd definitely recommend it for a wind-down and quiet luxury.

An earlier reviewer was worried about the small number of dogs walking along the beach. I was worried for a different reason - in the past there have been many well behaved dogs idling along the beaches and I'm very concerned that the Indonesian government did not utilise the overseas funding available to deal with the rabies outbreak humanely.

Still, this was nothing to do with the hotel, and I thank them for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    553
    216
    89
    46
See reviews for
557
618
57
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

The beach, unlike so many others, is very quiet -- people respect others' space, both physically and in terms of not letting their voices carry. The exception is that three local senior citizens walk by all day, every day, about every 10 minutes (I wish I were exaggerating) trying to sell things. It's their country and once or twice a day would be all right, but they start to seem more like flies than people by the end of a week.

The hotel grounds are charming, with outdoors hallways and restaurants. Ask for a room above the ground floor so you won't have strangers walking by your balcony.

The main (Indonesian) restaurant is very good. The Japanese one is also good, if you can deal with smokers hanging around. It's worth taking a day trip to Ubud to see the rice fields and the village; we ate at a splendid restaurant called Mozaic.

This part of the Indian Ocean is, alas, too shallow for swimming. But good luck finding a pool among the Hyatt's 7 pools that is truly swimmable. Also, the staff does not insist that people use the showers by the pools, and some hotel guests plunge in with sweaty or perfumed bodies.

As often in some parts of the world, the staff knows the word "Sir" but does not know the word "Madam"/"Miss."

Finally, stray dogs sometimes wander through the premises. Prima facie no problem, but what if they could be rabid...?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

I just got back from a 6 night stay at the GH Bali. I gladly post my experience report on here so that some of you can take this into consideration if you like to try the property.

Size of property and grounds - The GH is a huge hotel and there are many walkways going through the areal. You need a little time to navigate.

Rooms - There are Oceanfront Bungalows in front of a lake. I had an Oceanview Suite in Complex 3 which was fine. Standard Rooms are a bit smaller but still spacious and nicely appointed and decorated. Also there are Villas available for about 2500$ a night and that money is well worth it. However if you would want to spend that amount of money it might be better invested in a small hideaway to gain a bit more privacy.

Diamond Member amenities/Club lounge -
Club Lounge is ok however I found it way too frequented and it was open air -> very humid which is not contributing to the quality of cheese etc during buffet time. The recognition for Status Members is great and you really get some benefits. Though I would prefer the breakfast at the Garden Restaurant over the Regency Club.

Pool - It was very busy. The Hotel was full and many (too many) families were hanging out at the pool. I excaped by using the gym pool ('The Club').

Beach -The beach is very nice and well kept when it comes to the sand. However from the waterline on many stones are laying out. Not sure how other parts of Bali are like though.

Staff - I found all staff very accomodating, courteous & have no complaints whatsoever. Especially the Regency Club Staff was wonderful !

Occupancy - Early April it happened to be full - annoyingly full. As I said it is a huge property. If thats not your thing better choose something different as there are a wide range of choices in Bali.

Restaurants - I found the GH Restaurants overpriced and somewhat lacking in quality (except the Tepanyaki Restaurant which was excellent). Many guests must be easting out as the restaurants were somewhat empty in the evening. Though I saw many room service trays outside of the doors so this seems to be very well used, especially if people travel with family. There are also many reasonable priced Restaurants next door at the Bali Collection. Nothing Gourmet though.

Spa-The Kriya Spa was very good. Went there 3 Times. Prices reasonable in general comparison, however I dont know what the average prices in Bali are. They have many offers right now.

Business - The Hotel has a business center and also Wireless Internet. The WLAN was ridiculous, if you depend on a smooth connection DO NOT rely on it.

Shopping: Next to the Hotel is "The Bali Collection" which is a shopping complex of some size. Furt more you would maybe take a taxi to Kuta or the like !

Hope it helps and some of you will enjoy this lovely appointed place !

Cheers
S.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

If you are happy to stay in a hotel where you are merely a number, where the surrounds are beautiful but could be anywhere in the world, and the service is non existent, then Grand Hyatt Bali is for you!

If everything goes fine during your stay, you will probably say it was fine but beware - if you have any difficulties, it will take a long time to resolve and you will speak to at least 5 people to get anything done.

We stayed at The Laguna, a few properties away, and it was still in Nusa Dua but you really felt like you were experiencing Bali. It was also staffed by efficient, professional staff who knew your name. You did not need to walk 10 minutes in the heat to get to the pool as you need to at the Grand Hyatt.

Unfortunately I had a stressful time at the Grand Hyatt as every time we needed something done, it was a drama. The phone consistently rang out when calling room service or the front desk. SHAME ON THE GRAND HYATT.

Stay at The Laguna and relax!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Stayed at the Hyatt for 10 nights was a last min decision as was originally ment to go Thailand but couldnt go due to the trouble out there...really pleased that we decided to go Bali. I would defos go back to Bali and i think we chose right staying at the Hyatt.

From moment we walked in loved it...all very open spaced lots of pretty lagoons, gardens and great views of the wide stretched beach. Breakfast everyday was lovely couldnt fault it.....we used to have lunch everyday in the Salsa poolside restaurant was always so friendly and food was always spot on. We ate in the hotel for dinner 2 nights one night in the garden cafe which was also a fantastic meal and then the other night ate in the japenese which was again fantastic have your own little chef who cooks in front of you...only thing is prices are quite high to eat in the hotel but you have the option to eat over at the Bali Collection which is a great idea as literally 2 min walk from hotel and has about 20 different restaurants to choose from and shops there...so its nice to have a walk and get out of hotel and have a wander. We also went into Seminyak 2 nights which is a half hour taxi ride from Nusa Dua if you want to go for a realy nice meal defos recomment Ku De Ta..was a real cool and trendy place once you have eaten dinner can go sit on the huge beds over looking the sunset and chill and watch the waves..was a really nice night here and its better to get a taxi outside of the hotel as it alot more through the hotel..taxis are always waiting outside security of hotel and there fine and safe to get in....Seminyak also has alot of lovely clothes shop more so for women so defos take some cash as bound to see some lovely little bits...

We didnt do any trips but there is alot to choose from we were just happy to chill on the beautiful beach everyday then go out of a night for dinner. I just loved how friendly everyone is in hotel who works there always want to help you and make you feel comfortable would defos go back to Nusa Dua as think is the best place to stay in Bali after driving through the over towns.

Enjoy !!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

If you want to stay, at a five star plus resort, this is the one. Very safe, staff is there when you need them, the food, and service is awesome. Very helpfull in booking out side adventures, such as where to go, for river rafting, surfing, and resturants. Would stay again, and again.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Although, the grounds are spellbounding, security and convenience SERVICE Shocking!
After late arrival (prepaid driver not able to collect us from the airport) we were walked through the wonderfull walkways to our allocated room that we all found not acceptable. We checked 4 rooms and resigned ourselves to conclusion that we will not find what we would expect in the 5 * resort...


Offending smell of dump in all window coverings, bed and day bed had to be ignored on everyday basis. Profoundly selected kindness and politness from management down.

Absolutely best quality food through-out whole resort.
Fabulous fascilities: water, sport, business (excessively expensive).

If this was not enough!? I was totally lost and shocked when my Credit Card statement arrived with triple charge!!!! Every time they presented us a new room on arrival our details were registered with that room which resulted in multiple charge. It took a lengthy discussion ($) with their office to get some money back.
Shame on you Hyatt. No consolation for a costly negligence.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Bali

Address: Kawasan Wisata Nusa Dua | P.O. Box 53, Nusa Dua, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#14 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Bali 4.5*
Number of rooms: 636
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the lush tropical gardens of the 41-acre beachfront property, the Kriya Spa will, in essence, be a wellness sanctuary, offering the discerning traveler an authentic Balinese healing experience with 24 luxurious spa villas for treatments and for full day spa programs. Reflecting its name Kriya – meaning ‘ritual’ in Sanskrit – this unique Spa will celebrate authentic Balinese healing forms with treatments based on ‘wellness rituals’ to promote positive health and anti-aging through the use of natural herbs, roots and essences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Grand Hyatt Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Grand Hyatt Nusa Dua
Hyatt Nusa Dua
Bali Grand Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Hotel Bali
Nusa Dua Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Bali Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.