We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It got better but started off rocky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Resort Nusa Dua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Resort Nusa Dua to your Saves list
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua | BTDC Lot N-3, Nusa Dua, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 50%
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta/Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It got better but started off rocky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked our hotel for 118 a night through booking.com. After leaving the chillness of Ubud we were looking to close out our trip at the beach. We were greeted with a cold towel and a tefreshing glass of water. However, Checking into the hotel early was a problem as we arrived at 1 and wanted to go into our rooms earlier than 3. This was not possible.Nonetheless we waited with a sea full of people in the lobby. I think this overwhelmed the receptionist thus the reason for her not making an exception.The room was old and humid and had a smell of mildew. Chalking it up to just the general scent of the Westin, we went with the flow. The next morning i decided that i should take off my grumpy hat and ask about changing rooms.
Since it was Saturday and not as maddening as our friday check in, the receptionist was even more accommodating. I explained that the room was humid and had an old smell to it. She asked if we would like to be upgraded for free and i gleefully said yes. Then we signed up to become SPG members and got a discount on our breakfast ( down from 350k to 250k). Overall keeping everything in perspective-- its nusa dua and it cant help its humidity nor heat. However the Westin went from piss poor to giving it a good try. The pools are great, its on the beach and the food is wonderful. Balinese people and their hospitality made staying at the Westin worth it. The upgrade was nice and i attribute this to catching workers on a good day.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    258
    49
    10
    10
See reviews for
328
239
23
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We had a lovely room on the ground floor in the renovated part of the hotel only a few steps to the pool the room had s nice bath tub and the service was great
The large main pool is over 6 foot deep so no one can stand up in it but on the edge Thry have other pools and in the new wing a nice pool
Over the week we were staying they had a large Indian wedding which went on for three days and guests would go back to there rooms about 3 am in the morning talk very loud in the hall ways and woke us up
They also gave the wedding the beach dining area to have breakfast so it meant all other guests had to walk for ages to the back of the large complex to get breakfast
We had room service dinner a couple of nights which was better value than going to eat at the sea front
I should had known this was a place that caters for families when my travel agent gave me the coupon and it listed all the free stuff for families
We stayed in low season had kids tying to get into out room wrong door .woke up to kids yelling and crying out side and kids yelling around the pool etc I would hate to have stayed in high season
If you don't have kids or don't want to stay in a hotel that caters for large conferences and Indian weddings don't stay here

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent 3 nights at The Westin Nusa Dua - well honed hotel operation with confident and friendly staff, especially in the restaurants and the spa. Good breakfast options as well. Being on the main Nusa Dua strip, other resorts and shopping we easy to get to.

Would return again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBali, Hotel Management at The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Karan K,

Thank you for sharing your valuable experience on Tripadvisor and for your kind words of appreciation for our associates and their service delivery. We are really happy to note that you had a relaxing time at our resort especially enjoying our restaurants, our SuperfoodsRX selections for breakfast and had a great time enjoying our surrounding areas. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Bipan Kapur
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thai Mueang, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you are looking for an easy family stay hotel, then the Westin fits the bill. Only about 20 minutes from the airport, great if Bali is a stop over. Its a largish hotel but feels quite spacious in its grounds. We were in an SPG preferred guest room which are located at the back of the hotel. The rooms were great, big, fab wardrobe storage area, big bathroom, comfy beds and pillows, clean. Small balcony and the view not very good, so don't choose if your looking for a lovely beach/sea view.

Really big pool. Loads of sun loungers round the pool and beach. Never a problem to find an empty one. Great slide for the kids into a smaller pool and it was manned by a member of staff all day to avoid kids going down when kids still at the bottom. The one thing i did dislike is that the hotel has these great beds on the beach with canopy's above them but they are roped off and you can only use them if you reserve them and pay extra. No body uses them because there are plenty of other sun beds to use! They should be available to all guests!

Kids club was well maintained and staffed, kids under 12 get free soft drinks throughout their stay if they use the free water bottle given, a nice touch. Table tennis and badminton near the pool to keep the older kids amused, bikes for hire. All well maintained.

Staff at the beach bar could be a bit more attentive, sometimes took a while to get anyones attention or order a drink. On the whole the staff were very pleasent. Beach is relatively unspoilt, beach vendors could get a bit annoying at times, some of them loiter for ages when you've said no thanks.

If your looking for tranquility this is not the place, but if your a family then the westin served good food, has pleasant surroundings and things to do for your kids so you can put your feet up on a sun lounger for a few hours!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBali, Hotel Management at The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear BirdieBangkok,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We appreciate your loyalty as a Starwood Preferred Guest, and happy to note that you enjoyed all the benefits we offer. We are really happy to note that you and your family had a great experience at the resort, enjoyed with the the room, swimming pool as well as our Westin Kids Club®. It is our aim to ensure both kids and parents have a family-friendly travel experience so they can leave us energized, enriched and renewed. We really apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at and beach bar. We will continue inspire our associates to take the necessary actions to ensure that all of our policies are adhered. Your valuable feedback in regard to the beach vendor is really appreciated. We have taken your feedback into account as we continuously strive to bring a better value of our service delivery. Also kindly to share, in our continuous efforts to provide an upscale resort experience, our Dream Bed comes with butler service and F&B beverage inclusions to ensure that our guests are pampered and have a renewing day at the beach. We understand your feedback about the daily charge for the Dream Bed but as you would agree these Dream Beds are very popular amongst guests and are reserved most of the days and in doing so we are able to keep usage orderly amongst all of our guests. We sincerely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again at the resort for another memorable and relaxing experience.

Bipan Kapur
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After spending a few days in Ubud to get a sense of the Balinese culture, my stay at the Westin in Nusa Dua was planned for pure relaxation and the plan worked! The resort was clean and the rooms were very nice! I enjoyed the daily "treats" that were left in my room each afternoon. The pool was very pretty, but very deep. There were ledges around the perimeter that you could stand on, but other than that you needed to tread water or float. I highly recommend reserving a "dream bed" for outdoor lounging with an ocean view! and breeze. Resort staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBali, Hotel Management at The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Barb D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you had such a relaxing experience at our resort enjoying the room with its daily treats as well as the beach with its Dream Beds. We sincerely hope to see you again for another relaxing stay in Bali.

Bipan Kapur
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Westin for 4 nights in Aug '14 and absolutely loved it. It is fairly well located in nusa dua with restaurants a few minutes away by taxi and a good base to explore attractions in south bali.

We stayed in a deluxe room literally five steps off the beach. Breakfast quality and variety was fantastic and the many different restaurants offer excellent variety. The italian restaurant in particular was our favourite and we kept going back for more.

Service was superb with professional and friendly staff - since my wife and i both had our birthdays in the week we stayed here, they even organised birthday celebrations for both of us as surprises.

Overall an excellent stay and will definitely come back here again!

Room Tip: Pick a room closer to the beach so you do not need to walk much around the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBali, Hotel Management at The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear sushilsriram,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are really happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and to know that you and your wife were pleased with the birthday surprise arrangement that our team prepared for you. It also gives us a great pleasure to hear that you had such a memorable experience at our resort enjoying the room, breakfast, Prego our Fun Italian Family restaurant as well as the surrounding areas. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again at the resort for another memorable and relaxing experience

Bipan Kapur
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location is a little remote, in the prime and exclusive Nusa Dua area. Traveling out is easily countered by hiring private driver approximately USD$40 for 10 hrs.

Rooms are clean and generally exude the Balinese rustic sense, but well appointed and has everything that is required.

Property is huge! And just next to other SPG PROPERTIES like The Laguna and St Regis. Breakfast area also next to the beach which is scenic and breathtaking! Kites bar serves a decent drink and everything is decently priced considering its prime location and status as a Westin.

The biggest strength that Westin possess is their excellent staff, from check-in to the housekeepers, which never fails to make eye contact and provide acknowledgements.

Staff are customer focused and extremely warm and friendly, without any lapses or flaws whatsoever. Pool is beautiful and facilities are also well kept and extremely well thought (provision of New Balance gym gear) at a minimal fee.

Room Tip: Gold members get a free drink and platinum free breakfast should you decide to choose them as welcom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBali, Hotel Management at The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Derekang1960,

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation for our associates and their service delivery. There is nothing more satisfying than knowing that you were pleased with the attentiveness and friendliness of our associates and enjoyed our room, pool, breakfast area as well as the surrounding areas. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again at The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali.

Bipan Kapur,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Resort Nusa Dua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort Nusa Dua

Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua | BTDC Lot N-3, Nusa Dua, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#4 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Resort Nusa Dua 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort features 433 sleek and sophisticated rooms and suites with a tropical edge. Guest rooms have the new generation of Heavenly® Bed, spacious 1.37 metre beds in the double-double rooms, I-pod connectivity, a bedside master switch board, and Audio Visual Entertainment port as well as ergonomically designed furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Resort Nusa Dua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Westin Nusa Dua
Westin Bali
Nusa Dua Westin
Westin Resort Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.