We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids' paradise, parents mostly happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Resort Nusa Dua

Save Saved
You added The Westin Resort Nusa Dua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua | BTDC Lot N-3, Nusa Dua, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 50%!
Ranked #10 of 43 hotels in Nusa Dua
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Kids' paradise, parents mostly happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed 7 nights in July 2014. After we paid for the visa at the airport ($35 now), we took a 15-minute taxi ride to the hotel (ordered at airport taxi desk, we paid IDR 150.000 = US$12).

Pleasant welcome by Balinese dancers and with welcome drink. Efficient check-in. Overall look and feel of hotel is wonderful and clean. Nice room with very comfy beds, large mini-bar, large flat-screen TV, big bathroom and small balcony. Room was cleaned very well. Four free mineral water bottles were supplied to the room each day.

Kids' facilities for young kids are among the best anywhere: a kids' buffet (fast food and healthy choices), kids club with indoor movies, activities etc. and playground outside and at least 4 women entertaining the kids at all time, swimming pool with grand slide and sports activities, and of course the beach.

Food overall was very good with few exceptions (mediocre lunch menu and the Gazpacho was terrible). The Indonesian dinner buffet with performance (on Tuesday nights, at IDR 425.000 p.p.) was really worth it. Ikan restaurant is the best with excellent Indonesian food and mostly good service (except for one night).

Now for the issues:

1) KIDS FOOD. Confusing kids' pass policy. The kids pass at US$10 per day was sold as an all-inclusive for food and drinks from all the child's menus. However, our first lunch was not included as it was at a bar and dinner in the Japanese restaurant is also not included. More confusingly, kids always have to eat at the same time as the parents or it's not included. Westin, can you make this policy simple?

PS. I argued about it and they were very stubborn with this policy. During our stay I also experienced two other parents arguing with staff about the same.

2) SERVICE AT MAIN RESTAURANT. Mostly terrible service; many don't know what they're doing. Breakfast especially is a complete chaos. Don't expect drink refills either.

3) SMOKING. Not a good place for non-smokers, as people are smoking everywhere, including in the lobby, at the pool and in restaurants. Any existing non-smoking policies not enforced.

4) WIFI. Only free in the lobby area, everywhere else (including room and pool) expensive.

5) FOOD. Expensive for Bali, e.g. breakfast buffet IDR 185.000 p.p. and we spent about the same or more for a lunch at the pool and regular dinner. Dinner buffets were even more at around IDR 400.000 p.p.

6) DRINKS. Cocktails were expensive at IDR 150.000 ($12) and more at the pool bar (IDR 210.000 ! although you get a huge cocktail there). Cocktails didn't taste that good though.

7) POOL BEDS. Not enough pool beds and the good ones are taken early and also a ridiculous extra charge for some canopy beds.

8) MOSQUITOES. I obviously don't blame the hotel for this, but the large pond in the hotel does provide a great breeding ground for mosquitoes (spraying 3 times a week helps only so much) - avoid certain areas close to it or you will be eaten alive (I was twice and had to move quickly).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    109
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
137
88
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On the plus side, our 2 (interconnecting) rooms overlooking the pool were very comfortable for our family of 2 adults and 2 daughters. Check in experience was very slick. The pool and beach areas are nicely landscaped and well maintained. The breakfast buffet selection was the best we've seen in any hotel. As mentioned by other reviewers a big negative is no free wifi in rooms and the high (non-Bali) prices for food and drink. Also, cocktails at the pool bar were very poorly made. Teenager's club seemed to be completely inactive when we were there despite activities being scheduled.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for a week in July with wife and kids aged 6 & 5 and we couldn't have asked for anything better for our first of 3 weeks in Bali.
The hotel is set on a pretty nice beach along Nusa Dua, an area kept very well by the Bali tourism authority, with hotels side by side along the coastline and with a fantastic pedestrian pathway all the way along the beach fronts going through several bays in front of the several hotels. Great idea. We used to rent bikes from the hotel and take long rides every afternoon, making several stops along the way for swimming, getting a drink at a warung (local shop), etc.
The hotel itself has great facilities and for us the Kids Club made a huge difference as the kids spent a couple of hours most mornings making friends amd enjoying their activities. The staff at the kids club however seemed a little stiff and not as friendly as you would expect, but overal the kids enjoyed it and it gave myself and my wife time to go for a walk on the beach, get a massage and, well, have a break...
There are a good variety of restaurants at the restaurant, including a good Japanese with tepanyaki and a good yet informal Italian with great pizzas.
The evenings on the beach are great, with chillout music and a cold drink sitting on a large bean-bag.
I would suggest taking a cab and visiting the real Bali outside the resorts area. A trip to Seminyak is worth it and Ubud is a must...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed there recently for 2 nights. We had a great and warm welcome. The children got their special little packs when they got there and this kept them entertained while the adults do the check in etc. Our room was not ready when we got there however they did upgrade us to a beautiful sea view room. The room was clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was great and I had no complaints at all about the room.

They had various restaurants which means that you do not have to go far to get something to eat. The pool and the kids club really entertained my 2 children. Staff were friendly and I had no issue in getting what we wanted.

Only feedback I would like to give the hotel is to ensure that there are no smoking signs around especially around the kids pool. I saw few people were smoking just around the kids pool and when I asked a staff member they said they were allowed to smoke anywhere outside. I was disappointed to see that people were smoking around the pool area. The staff at checkout said that they did not provide ash tray outside to discourage people from smoking. I think they need to go further by providing an area where people can smoke away from everyone and to put a non-smoking sign around the place especially near the kids pool. And before anyone starts with "it is my right to smoke" I think it is their right not to harm kids especially those who are asthmatic.

Other than that I would definitely return to this beautiful resort as I have this time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights in July 2014 whilst attending a conference and it was simply the best hotel that we have ever stayed in.

Right from when you step out of your cab at the front door, what strikes you most, even more-so than the opulence of the hotel, is the pleasant, welcoming and yet humble nature of all the staff that you deal with. They were all willing to be of assistance to you every step of the way of the 6 days that we stayed here. Whether it is the Balinese people themselves, the Westin's training regime or a combination of both, we did not come across anyone who was anything but happy and helpful during our stay.

Our Premium Room was very spacious and modern (2 double beds, walk in robe, small balcony) and the bathroom put our's at home to shame with its massive shower & beautiful soaker bath.

The resort is beachfront - so your choice of a number of swimming pools, or the ocean just a few steps from the resort bar, for cooling down on a humid July day is many and varied. In the evening, the lounge and day bed facilities on the beach are there to be enjoyed as you watch the moon rise and listen to the waves roll in.

The conference facilities are within the Westin itself, so it meant that it was all close by when I ducked out in between sessions to see what my wife was up to - which was usually relaxing by the pool with a cool drink and a good book on the iPad.

If you want to feel the real Bali, perhaps you're not going to experience it here at the Westin Resort Nusa Dua. For us, we're OK with that as we loved the fact that we were staying in a 5 star resort and were being pampered the whole time we were there. However, next time we return, we'll speak with the Hotel about arranging some day trips to other parts of Bali, to experience some of the Balinese culture. From two people who've never had any desire to go to Bali, we've had a complete about face thanks to the magnificent hospitality of the Westin Resort Nusa Dua. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Get up early just once to see the fabulous sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a great overall stay at the Westin, and would recommend this property for any families.

We stayed in a premium room the new premium wing which seem quieter and more spacious, just be careful if you are on the first floor as your balcony might be over the restaurant downstairs. The room was spacious and clean, with a large bathroom and good size balcony. The room was clean and the bed was amazing, very comfortable.

One of the great things was the room service came on a fold out table in which they set up, so the family can sit around and eat.

There is a smaller pool near this new wing, which is a lot quieter especially for smaller kids. Much less crowded than the main pool, which we found that the sun loungers were all taken by around 9am with people leaving their items and towels out, so beware if you are looking for space after 9am.

Breakfast was amazing, with great choice and good quality.

A couple of minor things which you need to be aware of. Ensure you join the SPG program which is free and it gives you 10 or 15% off the dining at some of the restaurants. Also if not dining for kids is not included, ask about the Kids passes, which for $10 lets the kids eat for free with an adult. The check-in forgot to offer that to us, so we ended up paying full price for the whole stay.

Secondly, if you use the spa, you should ask them what time to arrive. I turned up on time, and was made to wait, and then ended up with only a 60 min massage when I paid for 90 min. My wife went much earlier (due to my experience) to use the other facilities that are part of the spa packages, such as the steam room, sauna etc, but again was made to wait in reception, so ended up with no time to use them.

The staff are great and the overall resort is well set up for families and relaxation.

Room Tip: Rooms i the new premium wing away towards the spa end (away from restaurant) will be quieter if sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Very clean and well maintained. Excellent food. Very friendly and polite staff. Staff people will do anything to make the stay as much comfortable as possible. Probably best hotel in Bali.

Room Tip: At the time of booking mention the bed that you want eg: One king size or two queen size. If not men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Resort Nusa Dua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort Nusa Dua

Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua | BTDC Lot N-3, Nusa Dua, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#3 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Resort Nusa Dua 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort features 433 sleek and sophisticated rooms and suites with a tropical edge. Guest rooms have the new generation of Heavenly® Bed, spacious 1.37 metre beds in the double-double rooms, I-pod connectivity, a bedside master switch board, and Audio Visual Entertainment port as well as ergonomically designed furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Westin Resort Nusa Dua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Westin Nusa Dua
Westin Bali
Nusa Dua Westin
Westin Resort Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.