We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon in the Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Bali Indonesia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Bali Indonesia to your Saves list
Melia Bali Indonesia
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kawasan Wisata BTDC Lot N1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Nusa Dua
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect Honeymoon in the Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We spent our Honeymoon at the hotel and all we can say is it was perfect in every way. When we arrived the greating was very personal and friendly. On checking in they knew us from our stay 3 years beforehand. We upgraded to the private Villas (because its cheaper doing it this way than buying from the travel agent) they instantly asked if we would like to stay in the villa we stayed in 3 years ago and we eagerly accepted. They then pulled out all the stops to get Villa 2 ready with fruit, wine, chocolates and a bed decorated with 2 swans made out of towels in a shape of a heart and thousand of flower petals. The bed decorations took the maid 2 hours to do and was so beautiful.

We had total privacy for the whole 2 weeks and we must admit it took us a week before we ventured out of our villa during the day to see what else was going on. With your own private plung pool, walled gardens and butler service you can understand why. Other benefits was a private pool area for all the Level Guests and a private beach area as well.

The restaurants are lovely with excellent service and with the discount cards given to us, not bad value either. The hotel have realised they were a little expensive in the restaurants in the past so they have tried to remedy this with good success. Being in the villa entitled you to free coffe and tea all day and free cocktails for 2 hours in the evenings.

The hotel is stunning with the best gardens out of all the hotels in the Nasua Dua area. Th spa is out of this world. Staff are exceptional and within 24 hours they all knew us by our name and would great us as Mr & Mrs Frost which was a very personal touch which we loved.

This place is pure luxury

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,336
    913
    343
    142
    88
See reviews for
812
1,256
59
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

I visited Bali for the first time with my wife and after detailed research on Bali decided to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city in Nusa Dua. Melia Bali in Nusa dua was just perfect for our vacation. Nusa Dua has 3 5 star resorts located next to each other i.e. Westin, Laguna and Melia. Almost all are the same in respect to facilities etc. So it finally boils down to which one is offering a better deal to you!

I felt that Melia is more of a family vacation resort, though I must say that their new lagoon access rooms (started in August 2010) are super cool for couples and honeymooners. I just loved the view, the access to the pool and the cleaniness.

Every morning, the sumptuous buffet in their El Patio restaurant gives you so many options to savour and chose from... however, I being a vegetarian found the selection more inclined towards the non-vegetarians. However, the head chef was kind and got Indian Parathas prepared, specially for me. Just one thing you may not like is that due to the huge size of the hotel, this place gets crowded. However, I was in the lagoon access room, I got access to their private breakfast area (Sorrento) and it was pretty peaceful and cultured. So may be you want to check that at the time of booking (especially if you are on a honeymoon).

Throughout the 4 days stay, the room service was very efficient and the rooms were kept clean and almost all required facilities were available at all times...

We took loads of pictures and the best pictures were taken on the beach... the water and sand on the beach are just so clean and clear... and it's a pleasure to walk on the beach...the private shacks on the beach side are fantastic...to lie down, have a beer and read a book... just completely loved it! I must say, its a big highlight of the hotel :)

You can get meter taxis to Kuta, Seminyak etc and you can enjoy shopping in those areas... YHI spa and even the Laguna Spa are fantastic... a must visit while you are in the hotel... relaxing and enjoyable.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay throughly, good food, comfortable stay, easy access to nearby beach and water sports... Awesome and Amazing!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Before booking this hotel, I searched the internet, read reviews and used any source of information I could find. I wanted a relaxing and stress free holiday. I couldn't have selected better. We had a garden view room with a balcony. It was clean, very comfortable and more than adequate given that we only slept in it. The facilities of the hotel were excellent with matching service. Our needs and requests were met by the staff promptly and always with a smile. They were all extremely helpful. The breakfast each morning was "sensational". An absolute feast to say the least. Kept us going all day. Activities at the resort were plentiful if we wanted to participate. The in house spa was luxurious but worth treating yourself just once. Massages were available outside the resort for much less. Local shopping is plentiful and and only a 5 minute walk away.
Restaurants are also plentiful both inside the resort and just outside. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are up for a little luxury, great food and great service. Only one small negative - the beach is not great for swimming but the view is nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

This is a really great value hotel. I had read some reviews before we travelled there which were not 100% positive but i cant say a bad word about it. the staff are AMAZING. They are so polite and always say hello, just beautiful people. the resort itself is great. i had read about people complaining of bad smells in the room - we were in a family room and there was no bad smell, the room was spacious and perfect for our family. The resort is constantly being maintained, there are a few areas that are in need of repair or looking a little tired and you constantly see workers doing things but all in all, great value for money, clean, great service and the most amazing breakfasts you could ever dream of. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Java, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Melia Bali has the perfect Nusa Dua beachfront location and stunning tropical grounds. We stayed in their new pool access suites which offered some exclusivity and an ideal romantic setting.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Melia Bali in Nusa Dua, and having stayed in many hotels around the globe, this has to be the best one to date! On arrival after a 23 hour journey we were greeted with drinks and cold towels to freshen us up whilst checking in.
The staff were so warm and welcoming, which I was soon to realise, was a trait all Balinese people share.

The hotel grounds are absolutely stunning and the attention to detail throughout is something I have never seen, from the sand scriptures lining the hallways, to the fresh flowers maticulously placed on each of the wonderful statues that adorn the hotel.

We were taken to our room was very spacious, huge double bed and beautifully decorated with fantastic aircon (which is very much need in the summer months)

The hotel lagoon pool is not enormous but breath taking none the less, surrounded by an enchanting mixture of lush trees and flowers. The beach that the hotel is situated is of avergae size but never felt cramped as it is private to guests in Nusa Dua,

The service in the hotel, and indeed right throughout Bali is second to none. Every person you meet greets you with the warmest and most genuine smile, and very interested in what you think of their Island.

Location wise, the hotel was perfect, with a taxi into Kuta (NIghtlife.waterparks/shops) costing as little as 65000 RP ( about 6pounds)

The only thing that lets this hotel down, is the cost of food and drink. A small beer will cost about £5 at the lobby or pool bar, compared to a large beer outside costing £2. Should you book this hotel please book bed and breakfast option, as a breakfast for 2 people per day will cost 380000RP which is about £30 including tax and service charge.

Overall this hotel was amazing base to explore a beautiful and proud island. I would recommend evryone to go, and I'm sure I will go to very soon!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

The hotel and resort was very well presented in a traditional bailese style and the facilities are good. The beach is next to the hotel grounds and is beautiful and clean. There is a shopping centre close by with excellent eatries as eating in the hotel every night could be expensive. Meals at the hotel were excellent and extremely well presented in luxurious restaurants.
Hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful.
There was only minor odour, due to the humidity, from the air conditioning , so this was not a problem. The public areas were very attractive. The guest rooms will need refurbishment ion the next few years but meet 4 star standard..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nusa Dua
0.6 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#15 of 46 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 stars 1,772 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bali Nusa Dua Hotel & Residences
2.1 mi away
Grand Nikko Bali
Grand Nikko Bali
#12 of 46 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 46 in Nusa Dua
4.0 of 5 stars 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bali Indonesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bali Indonesia

Address: Kawasan Wisata BTDC Lot N1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#16 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bali Indonesia 5*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in a tropical garden, right on Nusa Dua beach. Close to a magnificent golf course and the Nusa Dua shopping & leisure district. Nearby point of interest are the capital, Denpasar, 35 km distance from the hotel, and Kuta, just 10 km away. The International Airport is 20 min. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Melia Bali Indonesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bali Indonesia Hotel Nusa Dua
Melia Nusa Dua
Melia Bali Hotel
Melia Bali Indonesia Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Bali Indonesia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.