We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Melia - Pool access suite a must” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Bali Indonesia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Bali Indonesia to your Saves list
Melia Bali Indonesia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kawasan Wisata BTDC Lot N1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IDR700.000/day gift!
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Nusa Dua
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Melia - Pool access suite a must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

If you are going to stay in Nusa Dua, be prepared for tourist prices, even in supermarkets and the few local eating places you can find. In saying that, it's beautiful and it's where we started our two week holiday in Bali. if you are thinking about staying at The Melia Bali, I'd certainly recommend the pool access suit - it's worth the extra money. Your room opens out to a semi-private pool only to be shared with other guests staying on the bottom level of that area. Ours was on a corner so we really only shared with one other room which was empty most of the time we were there. Room is nice, although we expected a door to connect the bedroom and lounge area, but there is not one. It was a bit annoying as this was one of the main reasons for upgrading to this room type, so we could put our daughter to sleep, close the door and have some privacy. Wasn't a huge deal though in the end.
Bathroom is a bit old school and shower head needs an upgrade.
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and main pool is great. Can't say enough for the staff at the kids club they have been the most sincere and nicest out of all hotels we've stayed at on this trip. The facilities are enough for what our 18 month old daughter could have wanted: playground equipment, colouring in material, outdoor play toys and lots of friendly staff to dote over her!
Breakfast was all we could have wanted, we ate at the pool once 2-4-1 pizza was a fair deal at happy hour along with 2-4-1 drinks!
All in all if I was going to stay in Nusa Dua again I would probably stay here, but only in the pool access suite.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear jess2007,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that all of you had a wonderful stay at our Lagoon Access Suite with the service and facilities provided. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali holiday trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    742
    299
    122
    80
See reviews for
669
1,051
52
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have stayed here 4 times now and the hotel is delightful and the setting is wonderful. You start every day with a sumptious breakfast in beautiful surroundings and the freshly cooked omelettes are amazing. The rooms are brilliant and the gardens are breathtaking and the sand drawings add that extra touch of uniqueness.
I cannot wait until I can go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea side are very quiet, the view is not as good as there are trees in the way but for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sa H,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that all of you had a wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali holiday trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is almost perfect, it just has a few things that need to improve to be 5 star. It could be amazing!

The actual hotel lobby is breathtaking, its all open and surrounded by beautiful plants and flowers. The ceiling is all painted in traditional Balinese style and there are ornaments, statues and fountains everywhere. It is so peaceful and tranquil, you get a great feel for the Bali way of thinking. Everywhere you look is beautiful. As you head out of the lobby you are greeted to the tranquil gardens that lead to the pool and beach. The gardens, lobby, pool and beach area are kept really nice and clean. Staff are constantly working all day on maintaining the hotel and gardens. The only problem with the lobby being open to the elements is that there is no hiding from the humidity and soaring heat. No air-con makes for very sweaty guests.

On arrival our bags were taken to our room for us, we were greeted with a gong on entry and a non-alcoholic cocktail. We felt very well looked after. At this point we were knackered from travelling, we had been from the UK to Hong Kong and then over to Bali.

The first let down, after such a grand entrance, was our room. It was small! Not only was it small but it was damp, the bed felt wet. We thought it might be the air conditioning and tried to turn it down to dry out our room. The second shocker was the ants! There were ants everywhere, on the dressing table, on the floor... everywhere. In fact when we packed to leave I had an ant infestation in my hand luggage bag! Cue screaming running around trying to empty them on the balcony. For the whole holiday I felt damp and itchy because of this. In hindsight we should of complained, but we were so exhausted and confused from the travelling that we didn't. We just tried to spend as much time out of the room as possible. As I got more used the Bali lifestyle I got the sense that they were quite at one with nature and took it on as a sort of camping experience. I must say after we got used to it, it didn't ruin our holiday at all.

The second thing that needed improving was the breakfast. On several days we couldn't even face going to breakfast (even though we had paid for it). The choice of breakfast foods was limited to Indonesian or Japanese it seemed. There was a lot of greasy noodles, smelly fish and fruit. On the first day I walked around the buffet with my plate and came back with it empty. Not only was there nothing I liked, but the smell of the greasy Japanese food was making me sick. Looking around most of the Western people had empty plates. We resorted to having toast and churro's (like a long doughnut thing) every morning as it was all we could stomach. I think they need to have a re-look at their attempt at a Western breakfast. Incorporate some cereal maybe? Proper sausage instead of chicken sausage? Beans? And none watery eggs. I also think they need to work on extracting the bad smells out.

The pool was amazing, absolutely gorgeous! Spent most of our time here when we weren't out exploring. The beach is a 2 minute walk and the sea is lovely and warm. Its also very shallow and calm, good for little ones.

We ate most nights in Sateria - their beach restaurant. This seems to be where the main entertainment happens. They had some really good singers on and loved the Balinese dancing. The food here was GOOD! I recommend the spaghetti bolognese and the chicken tikka scewers with rice. Lovely! The pizzas are good too for the fussier eater. They also have a range of Japanese and Indonesian foods to try.

Bali collection is a shopping centre just up the road from Melia Bali, it's well worth a visit for a change of scene. Lot's of shops, restaurants and bars. The shops are not cheap here. Things are about the same price as at home and more. Restaurants are not too badly priced, a lot cheaper than in the hotel. The only thing is that the walk from the hotel to Bali collection can be very intimidating and scary, especially at night. Lot's of locals wait by the hotel gate trying to get tourists to use their cabs/cars as taxi's or tour guides, they can be quite persistent. A firm 'No thank you' and don't make eye contact or get into conversation with them seems to work. We were advised not to get any taxi unless it was light blue, these are the metered ones and perfectly safe to use. We got one to Kuta and back to go to Waterbom park with no problems.

Whilst we were there we used Asian Trails for all of our excursions. They were Kuoni's selected reps and we couldn't fault them! We did a tour of Bali with a private guide, they went above and beyond to show us all the key sights of Bali. We felt very looked after and safe. We also went to the Elephant Safari park. Would highly recommend this, such a great day out. If you go, you must ride an elephant! The ticket is slightly more expensive but an absolute must!! Something the kids will love too.

Nusa Dua is an odd place, it keeps the rest of Bali out with a big security gate. It almost makes you feel like it isn't safe to go out. It gives a very separated feel to the Bali experience. On one hand it's lovely to feel safe behind two security gates in a luxury hotel... but on the other hand it would be nice to have a genuine Bali experience.

Overall the hotel is lovely. It really chilled us out and gave us a wonderful time. Around the pool and on the beach is paradise. Only the rooms and breakfast spoil it. It could be amazing if these things were fixed!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lagoon room or villa - regular garden view rooms are small and damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Warmest greetings from Meliã Bali!

Dear fairysam,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali to accommodate your holiday in Bali and taking the time to write your review of our property on TripAdvisor. As a senior contributor on tripadvisor, we believe that you have written the most objective reviews.

Regret to know that you were not completely satisfied staying with us, please accept our sincere apology for any inconveniences caused. However, we have noted all the points you mentioned on your review and shared them in our daily briefing for our improvement.

Many guests think that the hotel food is always expensive, our Food and Beverage team had created many ways to make having lunch and dinner at the hotel is affordable, value for price. started with half-board or full board meal plan, huge discount, special 3 courses set menu starts with IDR 165k net per person.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more detail information about our hotel products.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great service and lovely resort. Recommended to both couples and families. Staff are friendly, rooms are clean and the service was great. Loved the squirrels visiting us every morning for breakfast. New mattresses could be a suggestion, found ours a little uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear valeriet15,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that all of you had a wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali holiday trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My sister and I returned this year to the Melia Bali for our fourth year in a row. This year we decided to upgrade to a Villa and we were not disappointed. Beautifully appointed inside whilst outside the Villa has a private pool, lawn area, plus two outdoor cabanas which were perfect to relax in after dinner. Also loved having a second shower outdoors.
Would thoroughly recommend having "The Level" package which includes use of a private pool within the hotel complex, buffet breakfast in the Sorrento Room, afternoon tea by the private pool and cocktails from 5pm-8pm.
The staff in the Sorrento Room and The Level Lounge as always were courteous, attentive and welcoming, and went out of their way to look after us.
Tip: beware of money changers in Seminyak who offer a higher exchange rate. They somehow palm money after counting it out so that you get less than you should even though we watched them - very clever and not sure how they did it. Make sure you count it out before you walk away but beware, they will pick up the money after you have counted it so best to hold it rather than put it back down on the counter as again you wind up with less. When confronted they became very rude and then refused to exchange money. A very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Ann B,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that all of you had a wonderful stay at our Garden Villa with the service and facilities provided. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali holiday trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Was in Bali for a conference, every hotel in Nusa Dua was full..this was the only one available, one of the worst breakfasts at a so called 5 star, really terrible overall. Having said that lovely staff, very comfortable bed...very dated and old rooms..do not go for the duplex suites..still can't get over that terrible oily smell at breakfast..very tacky...tip to first time travellers to Bali...DO NOT STAY IN NUSA DUA! This is not Bali...it's Eastern Singapore or Bintan Lagoon...save your money and staff at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lobby and not the terrible duplex suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Warmest greetings from Meliã Bali!

Dear imrannasr,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali to accommodate your holiday in Bali and taking the time to write your review of our property on TripAdvisor. As a senior contributor on tripadvisor, we believe that you have written the most objective reviews.

Regret to know that you were not completely satisfied staying with us, please accept our sincere apology for any inconveniences caused. However, we have noted all the points you mentioned on your review and shared them in our daily briefing for our improvement.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more detail information about our hotel products.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Melia is a huge hotel set in a beautiful landscaped garden. Four four-story blocks house most of the accomodation, except for a couple of villa's. The hotel has several dining options of which I only tried one, the tapas bar, which was rather dissapointing. Breakfast was crowded with strong smells of hot food and very bad coffee. The garden is beautifully manicured and it has a swimmingpool which will appeal to families and children. If you want to swim however, this will be a dissapointment unless you book the garden villa's which have their own swimmingpool which is the only place where you can swim in a straight line. The beach in front of the hotel is equally well maintained but still the water of the ocean is full of plastic. If you venture to walk a little further were there is no(t yet) a resort, the beach is litterally littered with garbage, a real sad sight. One that unfortunately will only get worse in the near future, as still there is no sorting or recycling to speak of in place in Indonesia. The reason for booking this hotel was the attendance of a conference in Bali Nusa Dua Conference centre which is conveniently located within walking distance.
The room I was assigned was extremely humid, and even lying on the bed one had the impression of lying on a wet towel, the smell was one of humidity. Another shortcoming was the lack of electricity plugs in the room. There was only one fitted with a 3 way plug which was already occupied by a lamp, a modem and a dehumidifier. Otherwise the decoration was pleasant and the bathroom clean and functional.
Overall, the comon area's were well maintained but the room lacked in lustre. On the other hand, the price was rather reasonable but it is unlikely I would return to this hotel except for the convenience of the location to the Bali Nusa Dua Convention Centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Warmest greetings from Meliã Bali!

Dear stylishnomad,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali to accommodate your holiday in Bali and taking the time to write your review of our property on TripAdvisor. As a senior reviewer on tripadvisor, we believe that you have written the most objective reviews.

Regret to know that you were not completely satisfied staying with us, please accept our sincere apology for any inconveniences caused. However, we have noted all the points you mentioned on your review and shared them in our daily briefing for our improvement.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more detail information about our hotel products.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Bali Indonesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bali Indonesia

Address: Kawasan Wisata BTDC Lot N1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#17 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Bali Indonesia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in a tropical garden, right on Nusa Dua beach. Close to a magnificent golf course and the Nusa Dua shopping & leisure district. Nearby point of interest are the capital, Denpasar, 35 km distance from the hotel, and Kuta, just 10 km away. The International Airport is 20 min. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Travelocity, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Melia Bali Indonesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bali Indonesia Hotel Nusa Dua
Melia Nusa Dua
Melia Bali Hotel
Melia Bali Indonesia Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Bali Indonesia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.