We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, slow service, poorly run kids' club” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Bali Indonesia

Save Saved
You added Melia Bali Indonesia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Bali Indonesia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kawasan Wisata BTDC Lot N1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Early Bird Offer
Ranked #23 of 43 hotels in Nusa Dua
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice room, slow service, poorly run kids' club”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in this enormous resort for a week and were quite happy with it. The children loved the lagoon pools that sit outside various wings of the hotel. And the main pool had plenty of shallow areas for them to splash around in. We ate at all of the restaurants and truly enjoyed the diverse selection (everything from noodles to pancakes with chocolate sauce) of the buffet breakfast at Lotus (the Asian Garden Restaurant). Check the restaurants’ schedules at the start of your trip. We were lucky enough to visit Sakura (the Japanese restaurant) on our first night and enjoyed all you can eat sushi. We frequented Sateria (the beachside venue) for an early dinner or late lunch but avoided its over-priced buffet nights. Sorrento, the Mediterranean Restaurant was also good, especially on their more affordable buffet evening. And they provided a mariachi band for entertainment.
As for accommodation, the family room was perfect for our needs. The kids had the ground floor of the room while we climbed a small set of stairs to a king-sized bed above them. Everything was open, so there was no worry about not hearing them in the night, yet we still had privacy and a separate bathroom.

Cons: It took a day and a half to get someone to fix the broken blind in our room and the resort’s large size can mean crowds at breakfast and at peak times around the main pool. The kids’ club exists, but they don’t always do what they have scheduled and seemed to allow a lot of television watching. We only used it twice for two hours and the kids were begging for us to get them out of boredom.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Warmest greetings from Meliá Bali!

Dear SueB173,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali to accommodate your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

During your one week stay, seemed that you have tried our culinary journey within the resorts, really appreciated. We have brought your comments and feedback related to our kids center programs and maintenance issue.

Once again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you and family back on your next holiday.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,035 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    968
    637
    252
    105
    73
See reviews for
551
905
47
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We only spent 3 nights here after 3 nights in Ubud. The staff are exceptionally pleasant and helpful. We were not impressed with our first room - twin share connecting rooms as we were older sibblings. Because the rooms were twin share they appeared rather small and the balcony was west facing and very hot. Hotel staff immediately gave us connectng rooms with king size beds (no problems sharing as beds were huge) on the ground floor, so this was much more appealing to us. Very helpful staff.

The resort is just beautiful - manicured lawns and gardens and large swimming pool. Unfortunately the pool is quite shallow and rather warm so don't anticipate a refreshing dip. The ocean is cooler, but only really swimmable at high tide as it is in a shallow bay.
However, no problem to walk to the next bay or two for better ocean swimming options, also for $10 beach massages from No. 25 and No. 49 ladies. They have excellent hands - I rate them among the best massages I've had - minus of course all the fine trappings - but hey this is Bali and you can afford to have a massage every day at this price.

The destination lounge is great - we checked out after breakfast and left our luggage at reception, and a small bag in the lockers at the gym while we went sight-seeing. We returned to the hotel about 2pm and were able to have a great shower and freshen up and then relax in the departure lounge with complimentary fruit drinks and wi fi (except that the internet wasn't working at that particular time) until our air port transfers.

The staff also packaged up some flimsy kites we'd bought, so that they would not be damaged on the flight home. Staff go out of their way to help - recommended a great restaurant, rang ahead for reservation and organised free shuttle home, etc. Just ask and you never know what you'll find.

Breakfast here was a culinary delight - sooooo much to chose from and all nationalities catered for, plus the added advantage of a local musician for background ambience.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a garden villa I imagine they would be glorious. However for most on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Warmest greetings from Meliá Bali!

Dear TammyT,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali to accommodate your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you have had a wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. As an international hotel destination, and knowing that many of our guests have a late flight (after check out time) or early (before check in time) schedule, then we built a facility that some of our guests might need: the arrival/ departure lounge to give an opportunity to relax and enjoy a cup of coffee, instead of sitting at the hotel lobby waiting to be picked up.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The perfect place for a quiet get-away from the city.

We decided on a private villa for a short vacation. This comprised of a small private pool, outdoor pavillion, shower with bathtub, seperate shower, and an outdoor shower.The premises were very well maintained despite being 27 years old.

The staff were extremely hospitable and friendly in true Balinese style.

There is a coffee house, Japnese restaurant, Seafood/Tapas restaurant, and Mediterrane restaurant offering something for everybody. Food was of a high standard too.

Although it is possible to spend the entire period of a short vacation on the premises, there is a shopping arcade called "Bali collections" located 10 minutes walk from the compound.

Overall, good value for money in a modern area of Bali.

Although we still have a day left, we are already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Warmest greetings from Meliá Bali!

Dear SingaporeBernard,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali to accommodate your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our Garden Villa with the service and facilities provided. By maintaining the authentic Balinese architecture and design, its landscape, as well as the environmentally friendly concept; we believe that you could really feel that you are having a holiday in Bali.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Melia Bali is an excellent 5 star resort. The grounds are lovely, the room we had was very satisfactory and the service was exceptional. Front desk, bell service, restaurant service were great. Staff was very polite and friendly. Although they said the resort was full it didn't seem crowded at all. The included breakfast buffet had a wide selection of tasty foods for the multi ethnic guests. We spent a lot of time at the beach although at low tide you have to walk a long way out for a swim. Vendors were sometimes aggressive - loud and persistent which isn't great when you are just trying to relax. Maintenance of grounds & facilities seemed to be continuous with gorgeous results. You could spend your whole vacation there but then you would miss everything else that the island of Bali has to offer. There are many tours that will take you to temple sites, plantations, cultural shows, etc or you can go diving or snorkeling. The only disadvantage of being at a resort in Nusa Dua is that you're at one end of the island so travel time to activities is greater. Lunch & dinner were not included and are expensive so we ate off site quite a bit. Melia Bali is next door to a large outdoor mall which includes lots of high end stores and several excellent restaurants which were cheaper than the resort. Just outside the gates,a 10 min walk, though are many other restaurants and shops which have even better prices. The best were the massage places that offered full hour Balinese massages for half their posted prices - $7.50! I also got a pedicure with reflexology for about $8.

Room Tip: We just had a basic room on the ground floor with garden access. It was fine. You can upgrade to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Warmest greetings from Meliá Bali!

Dear CarolynPrinceGeorge,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali to accommodate your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you have had a wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. Should you wish to stay in our Lagoon Access Suite, please ask for building 3 where you will get some shade at your pool deck.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Food was great and location is chilled, in the gardens away from the busy streets. I have to say though, over 21US per day for wireless access for my iPhone is over the top. My wife and I also managed to somehow spend 170us in the Japanese restaurant, probably because the food was great. Your also roped into to pre purchase credit for the food which gives you discounts and this just seemed tacky. These negatives mentioned did bother me for some reason and probably won't go back.

If you need a good gymnasium the Melia Bali has a good one, that was one of the highlight of the stay, the other was the squirrels that visited us daily looking for a feed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Warmest greetings from Meliá Bali!

Dear Pauliepaulie123,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali to accommodate your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had enjoyed the food in our Sakura Japanese Restaurant also wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. In regards to the Wi-Fi access rate; most of the hotels in Bali charge an additional rate for this (considered new) service . Yet, we found out that our Wi-Fi broadband speed is the highest among the hotels in Bali. Currently, we are in the progress to provide a free Wi-Fi access to our in-house guests.

On the food and beverage, we provide some ways to enjoy the culinary at our hotel. One of them is the dine around voucher that will give you a 25% discount, half/full board meal plan for couples or families holidays. In certain hours, our bars also promote the 2 for 1 happy hours. One of our outlet also provide a special 3-set menu that started with IDR 165k net.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Melia Bali Nusa Dua for 5 nights starting November 1st 2012. We stayed in a basic deluxe room. It overlooked nice gardens and had a resident squirrel whose antics amused us on a daily basis. We wanted accommodation on the cheaper side just to wind down before we went to Seminyak and Melia Bali did the trick. If we were staying there longer I would have booked a lagoon room, just for the pool access. The main pool was always teaming with activity and children even late into the afternoons. It also seemed a little dirty. We booked after school holidays thinking there would be few children. I would recommend for families. For couples who want to unwind I would suggest a lagoon room if you want relaxing pool time. Our room was basic but nice; it was always cleaned very well, yet seemed damp all the time. The bedding felt damp for our whole stay. The beach was AMAZING, clear water, clean private beach. I usually don't swim in the ocean however the water was to clear clean and shallow I walked right out. We discovered the best way to get to Bali Collection was via the beach. Turn right down the path, through the gate and turn and walk down the alley past the Opera beach club. It's a short walk and always lovely. Most days we walked down into the water and along the beach to cool off after shopping. The breakfasts were huge, great variety, always nice. I would go back if we were to use Nusa Dua for a few day wind down in the future. Great value for money. Bali Collection is very close and handy for meals, much cheaper than the hotel. Look for menu's that include taxes and surcharges. Mai Mai's was always cheap and nice!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 4. It was a bit of a walk to breakfast every day however it seemed quiet compa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Warmest greetings from Meliá Bali!

Dear JoRelaxo,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali to accommodate your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you have had a wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in one of our Lagoon Access Suites.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely gardens, nice pool area, beautiful landscape gardens, all the staff were very friendly , stayed 8 days,enjoyed all 8 days, big choice breakfast daily.rooms are clean n tidy but some rooms do have a damp smell.no free wi-fi which is a must in todays day and age.overall I do recommend .

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms or villa type
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Warmest greetings from Meliá Bali!

Dear rikypatel,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali to accommodate your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor. As a senior reviewer, we believe that you have written the most objective review.

We are happy to learn that you have had an 8 days wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Bali Indonesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bali Indonesia

Address: Kawasan Wisata BTDC Lot N1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#17 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Bali Indonesia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in a tropical garden, right on Nusa Dua beach. Close to a magnificent golf course and the Nusa Dua shopping & leisure district. Nearby point of interest are the capital, Denpasar, 35 km distance from the hotel, and Kuta, just 10 km away. The International Airport is 20 min. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Bali Indonesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bali Indonesia Hotel Nusa Dua
Melia Nusa Dua
Melia Bali Hotel
Melia Bali Indonesia Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Bali Indonesia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.