We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely for our 4 day break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Bali Indonesia

Save Saved
You added Melia Bali Indonesia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Bali Indonesia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kawasan Wisata BTDC Lot N1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Early Bird Offer
Ranked #23 of 43 hotels in Nusa Dua
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely for our 4 day break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Melia is a large hotel in Nusa Dua, security is tight on entry into it, cars/taxis searched. The Hotel lobby and reception is large and opened and is typically Indonesian in style which was lovely. Staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was a problem to sort out.
The grounds have beautiful gardens and a lovely large pool with a children s pool, and a lovely beach front.
We had a family room which was perfect for our stay, we had our 22yr daughter with us. The only negatives which isn't surprising really due to the size of the hotel is that breakfast is busy and noisy (noise mainly from little children and that's what they do best) and finding your room was a problem to begin with,the lifts are painfully slow so we always used the stair case, and the spa lovely but very expensive, myself and my daughter did use it and enjoyed it.
We ate in a couple of the restaurants at the Melia, the food and service was good, happy hour at the beach bar was fun every afternoon. The room service was good, bottled drinking water and bathroom products were plentiful and the room always nicely made up when we returned to it in the afternoon. We would use again for a short break.

Room Tip: Taxi's are very reasonable if you want to go into Seminyak for shopping/ spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Warmest greetings from Meliã Bali!

Dear Lisa M,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali to accommodate your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our property. Once again thank you and as Bali is just few hours away from Singapore, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in the near future. Regards to the breakfast, we have advised the traffic hours in our Journal distributed upon check-in.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more information about the hotel.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    968
    638
    252
    105
    73
See reviews for
552
905
47
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Melia
We stayed in a club lagoon access suite. This gives you entry to a private club for non alcoholic drinks all day and cocktails from 5pm until 8pm. This offers great value when you work on the price of wine and champagne in Bali. The room is well laid out and spacious and the real treat is direct access to the 1.2 metre deep lagoon pool that surrounds the rooms. Because the hotel was quiet at the time it felt that we had the whole pool area to our selves. This room rate was expensive by Bali standards ($270 US) but with what it offered in luxury we felt it was worth the extra.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Pool access rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear PJ-Scuba,

Warmest greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali to accommodate your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our brand new The Level Lagoon Access Suites, this category really provides you a luxury facilities and exclusive services. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Bali where we stayed at the Melia Bali in Garden Villa 6. The villa was perfect and it was so luxurious it made it hard to leave the room. The interior and exterior were beautiful and we particularly enjoyed all the private outdoor space and our lovely koi carp. The rooms were made up each day by a fabulous team and the turn down service in the evenings was just as good.
The designated garden villa areas of the hotel were perfect, i.e. the Level Lounge, the private area on the beach and the pool. The service definitely matched up to the surroundings. We were particularly impressed by the helpful and friendly service provided by Parwati, KT Kartika, and Memet at breakfast, and by Wijana who took care of all our needs in the Level Lounge each day. The guys by the Villa pool and beach were also exceptional. This is not to say that the other staff were not great, more that these guys really stood for us.
We also spent time in the main bar and a couple of the restaurants. The bar is great and often has singers in the evenings. They also went out of their way to find a football match on the television for my husband one evening which really made his day. The other areas of the hotel were beautiful but we found that the level of service in the Sateria did not match up to the standards of the rest of the hotel. I expect that is because it was busy during the lunch time we spent there, and the one evening we dined there the food was very poor and dry. It was a buffet type evening which we felt was over-priced. The Sorrento was very good however and we really enjoyed our meal there. The hotel restaurants were rarely busy and this is less likely to be related to quality, rather the pricing policy. The luxury hotels were all similarly priced for evening meals in Nusa Dua and this is similar to what you would pay in an average restaurant in the UK. However, it is not the UK, it is Bali and if you wander further down the beach or take a walk to the Collection Mall you can find excellent food at a third of the cost. For two courses and two drinks each we paid less than £20 in these restaurants. We particularly liked Mai Mai in the Mall, and Nusa Dua Cafe which is a little further away but provides a free taxi service when you book a table. Kendi Kuning which is a 10 minute walk up the beach is also very good and is situated on the beach. They also collect guests from the hotel. If the hotel did reduce their prices slightly I am sure the restaurants would be much busier due to the convenience and the pleasant surroundings.
I think all of the employees at the hotel are a credit to the company but I did find it a little strange that a couple of the hotel managers often take breakfast in the Sorrento and this seemed to create an awkward environment for staff which we also felt as guests.
We did find that the little touches and attention to detail really made the holiday special. This included the free wine and fruit on arrival and the daily treats left in our room which were lovely. We also enjoyed the General Manager's cocktail evening where we were pleasantly surprised by the lovely food the managers had cooked and the delicious cocktails provided.
All in all it was a wonderful holiday and a good hotel. I would say our experience was made better because we booked the villa and I can highly recommend them for a luxury holiday. The only reason I have not rated the hotel a 5 is because there were one or two things as mentioned above which could be improved but they did not prevent us from having a wonderful stay at the hotel. My criticisms are minor and are intended to provide constructive feedback for the hotel and to assist future guests.
*Tip: For any keen divers we did find it difficult initially to find a reputable company to take us out and we found one or two who claimed to be PADI centres and were not so please be careful. We eventually found Jet Set who are superb. They were a tad more expensive but all their trips are arranged privately for you with a dedicated guide and all transport, refreshments, equipment etc are included. They were great and very flexible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Warmest greetings from Meliã Bali!

Dear Singys,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali and taking the time to write your review of your stay on TripAdvisor.

It's a great pleasure to read your reviews on our facilities and services we delivered and prepared for our Garden Villas guests. The Balinese people are well known for their sincerity and smile. Please accept our apology for the unsatisfactory dining experience in one of our outlets.

Regret to know that you were not completely satisfied staying with us . However we have noted all the points you mentioned on your review for our feedback and improvement.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more information about the hotel.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The whole place is in a huge gated area , so security is well assured. An open concept hotel whereby lobby is airy , however at night --> the walk to the rooms can be very secluded and dark at night. Buffet breakfast is good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Warmest greetings from Meliá Bali!

Dear joantym,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali to accommodate your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our property. Once again thank you and as Bali is just few hours away from Singapore, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in the near future.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

From my Parents to my children and grandchildren we have all stayed at the Melia Bali since the opening in 1985. My wife and I have stayed at hotels all over the world and this one keeps coming up tops for us. The Hotel is situated in a beautiful part of the Island right on the beach. There are plenty of excellent shops, markets and restaurants nearby, but the area still retains a tranquil and peaceful feeling. The Melia has wonderful grounds and facilities, 1st class spa and restaurants. The staff, from senior management to pool boy are second to none with their hospitality. They make every guest feel special. As we live in Western Australia we are able to visit the Melia three times a year and every visit is different........we have never been disapointed.
Ray and Ann Richardson

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Warmest greetings from your second home - the Meliá Bali!

Dear PakPat,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for always choosing the Meliá Bali to accommodate your 4 generations holidays and taking the time to write your first review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We really (and always) look forward to welcoming you and all generations back to the warm hospitality of Melia Bali!

Marvelous!


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Well its not very bad. But they dont stick to their word (which is the worst thing hotel can do)

They promised us (honeymoon) they will upgrade us to suite if they have availability. They did not! they said they are full, but when I offered to upgrade with money, suddenly the places appear! although I did this to prove that they just lie to me. The hotel was nothing near full.

Rooms not clean, lots of ants, old, smells very bad, bed not comfortable at all, found cockroaches. its pretty but very old and they dont take proper care of it. Bathrooms are with very poor quality as well, blocked water sink, broken shower horrible toilet.

First we arrived at horrible room full of ant spray and ants walking everywhere, small not clean, used flipflops! they changed us to another which was even worse so we went back to that room!!

Breakfast is okay, beach is not the best, they taking care of it but the spot it self is bad.. The hotel is big and beautiful with lots of nature and tropics.

People there are very friendly and helpful. But hotel service and amenities really sucks!!!

My suggestion that if its family would be ok if you take bigger suite. if honeymooners or couple and will take regular room. I suggest you look for another hotel. You will find plenty better in the same spot

Room Tip: Don't go with deluxe or garden rooms, go for suites. Their rooms are the worst thing on earth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Warmest greetings from Meliã Bali!

Dear ElHelw-O,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali and taking the time to write your review of your stay on TripAdvisor.

Regret to know that you were not satisfied staying with us . However we have noted all the points you mentioned on your review for our feedback and improvement.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more information about the hotel.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have just come back from spending the last 10 days of our honeymoon at Melia Bali. We have had a wonderful break and will not forget our first trip to Bali. And it won't be the last.

The hotel is beautiful, and as you pass the security gate and drive in, the sight of the entrance and reception area takes your breath away. It is stunning. Once checked in we were shown our suite, which was lovely, if a little musty - more on that later.

Days were spent by the pool or walking by the beach. Lunch at the hotel is the right side of reasonable, reckon on about £20 for lunch for 2 with drinks. That included an hours free wifi access - we didn't bother paying for it in the room - why bother when you can have a beer looking out to sea whilst checking email etc? We took breakfast which is incredibly comprehensive. We did not take any evening meals at the hotel but instead ate at the local 'Bali Collection' shopping area - where there is a huge selection of restaurants and other shops. We ate for between £20 and £30 each night.

The pool area and beach were spotless. No evidence of the beach smelling at all - indeed the hotel employs someone to rake the seaweed off the beach?! Fake watches from the beach sellers were satisfyingly awful.

The staff at the hotel were without exception, wonderful. Always smiling and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They are a credit to the hotel.

We had one treatment at the spa, which was lovely, if a little expensive. I felt the prices could have been at least 25% cheaper - £40 for an hours reflexology is a bit much.

We did a sightseeing trip with 'Tour 'East', who are not affiliated to the hotel, but looked after us very well.

So, to the room. A junior suite with an upstairs room and bathroom. It felt light and airy, but was plagued by a persistent musty and damp feel which we could not remove in spite of leaving all AC on continuously. I don't think that the AC dehumidifies which may cause the problem. With the abundance of wood in the room, this needs to be addressed in a renovation in my opinion. It seemed fellow guests feel the same about this. We chose not to raise this with the hotel, maybe we should, maybe we could have ended up with an alternate room with more of a problem.

In summary - highly recommended, with caveats. I would certainly stay at the Melia Bali again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Warmest greetings from sunny Meliã Bali!

Dear GTEastMidland,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali to accommodate your honeymoon and taking the time to write your review of your stay on TripAdvisor.

Regret to know that you were not really satisfied staying with us . However we have noted all the points you mentioned on your review for our feedback and improvement.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more information about the hotel or the in-house promotions. We really look forward to welcoming you back again on your first wedding anniversary.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Bali Indonesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bali Indonesia

Address: Kawasan Wisata BTDC Lot N1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#17 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Bali Indonesia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in a tropical garden, right on Nusa Dua beach. Close to a magnificent golf course and the Nusa Dua shopping & leisure district. Nearby point of interest are the capital, Denpasar, 35 km distance from the hotel, and Kuta, just 10 km away. The International Airport is 20 min. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Bali Indonesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bali Indonesia Hotel Nusa Dua
Melia Nusa Dua
Melia Bali Hotel
Melia Bali Indonesia Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Bali Indonesia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.