We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Bali and unsure of where to stay?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kawasan Pariwisata | Lot North 4, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Dinners & Spas
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First time to Bali and unsure of where to stay?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We went to Bali for our first wedding anniversary. With pampering, romatic dinners and lounging by the pool in mind, our choice fell on the Nusa Dua area.

Nusa Dua is a newly developed tourist area of Bali. Originally mainly farmland and mangroves, it has in the last two decades become the hotspot for many 5 star luxury resorts.

We stayed at the Nusa Dua Beach Hotel and Spa, and as far as quality and comfort goes, the stay was immaculate. The grounds were stunning (with small squirrels visiting our balcony every morning), pools were crystal clean and the spa facilities tranquil and not too crowded. The breakfast buffet was also out of this world. For a romantic break, it was the perfect location.

The downside however, is that Nusa Dua is made first and foremost for tourists. We first noticed in the taxi from the airport, where we had to drive through a security checkpoint at the entrance of the Nusa Dua resort area(a result of the Bali bombings.) The guards were very polite and obviously had our safety in mind, but none the less, one got the feeling that we were being isolated somewhat from the rest of the island.

We also soon discovered that prices in Nusa Dua, whether it be spa facilities, restaurants or even drinks, were generally higher than elsewhere on the island. Furthermore, we were always encouraged to take taxis everywhere, (spas and restaurants offered free transport there and back), which meant that we didn't really get any clear impressions of what local life was like.

The epitomy of Nusa Dua as a tourist trap was however the Bali Collection - a walled complex of restaurants and shops, equipped with its own security guards, shuttle transport back and forth from the hotel and information desks. Prices here reflected Nusa Dua in general, although we did discover that we could bargain at restaurants for free salad bars, welcome drinks or desserts. It seemed they were willing to offer a lot of freebees to have us as guests.

After two days of tourist Bali (we'd also been lured into a very touristy beach restaurant in Jimbaran one evening), we met a taxi driver who seemed eager to give us tips on Bali's more interesting areas during our 10 day stay. For 30 USD a day, we rented him as a guide and driver for 10-12 hrs, and he introduced us to amongst other things, the Bali Café in Seminyak (a 45 min drive away), scuba diving around a shipwreck at Tulamben on the north of the island, a coffee & tobbacco plantation as well as the very charming Cafe Wayan in Ubud.

We also climbed Mount Batur, the island's 2nd highest volcano, albeit not at sunrise, as seems to be the norm. This was actually very pleasant, as we were pretty much the only two tourists on the mountain. A tip though - get a guide. (A group of mountain guides have an office at the bottom of the mountain.) Although experienced hikers, we wouldn't have had half the fun without one.

Based in Nusa Dua, we got the best of two worlds. We enjoyed days of basking on quiet beaches and having longdrinks served poolside, but only experienced the real Bali by travelling away from this tourist-friendly area. A good job then, that distances on the island are small.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    643
    170
    40
    20
See reviews for
543
991
61
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

i stayed here from the 1st to the 11th of october and i can confidently say if ther are any reviews saying anything other than its fantastic i would be baffled ?

we did look at some of the brand new hotels on the strip but they could have been anywhere in the world the NDBH is a lovley little piece of bali . the rooms in palace club were loveley and the palace club blimey you could get away with not spending a penny if you wanted there is so much food !!

it got to a piont where we didnt have the afternoon tea most days as there was so much lovley food to eat !!

the pool area is fantastic and yes there can some geman-itus in respect to the towels but its a holiday worst things happen in the world.

the restuaraunts at the hotel are all fantastic and by western standards very good value but once you have been out of the hotels and see waht you pay blimey!!! bali can be very cheep!

we would recomend at least 3 resturaunts

1- bumbu bali - evryone talks about it and with good reason its brill local style food well feed with a couple of beers and cocktails for the wife for 420,000 (about £30) ask reception to get you table there they will pick you up for free,

2- uno in the bali collection very nice itallian , and you can get sea food or a steak ther again only about £25-30 for two nice hous wine too!!

3 - Kendi Kunning fliiping delicious!!! come out of the hotel to the beach turn left towards Tajun Benoa and keep walking up the beach its right on the beach front we had a massive and totally delicious meal of mahi mahi fish with all the dips and bits and rice and salad with about 5 large beers coktails /wine ladies drinks and after drinks for 280,00 thats about £20 quid and this was our favourite place right on the beach and very quiet but lots of great sea food and asian food .

if you stay at the hotel the resturaunts are all lovley chess is the one on the beachfront with the amazing buffet .

the spa is great and i would recomned a visit as you get so well looked after compared to uk standards i have exerianced.

all in all we will go back to bali and we will stay here even though we drank and visited a lot of the more modern hotels the NDBH is like bieng in a palace in the days of the raj .if you have chosen or are thinking about this place for your honeymoon as we did you will not be disapionted.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Having read the many reviews on Tripadviser regarding this hotel, I was confident that this would be a great hotel. However, some of the recently posted reviews started to give me doubts - there was no need to worry.

Yes this is the oldest hotel on the stretch, but with that comes character that represents the island of Bali; we took the opportunity to nose at some of the other hotels as we ventured around. Don't get me wrong, they were great and new but in my opinion sterile.

You are greeted by a huge loby and reception area with numerous Koy Carp ponds; the greeting from the staff was warm and friendly and check in was vety swift. With in no time we were shown are room (delux) which was decorated well, clean and large; the firts thing I did was check the bed sheets for dampness - dry, crisp and changed regulary. In the room there was a large walk in shower, bath and seperate WC and a walk in wardrobe. As it was a 1st floor corner suite the balcony was massive and over looked the well maintained and beautiful gardens.

There are amany restuarants in the hotel which we used early on in our holiday until we got our bearing and wondered down to the Bali Collection ( aka Bali Centre - 15 minute walk along the beach path) where there are many restuarants about half the price of the hotel; although I didn't think the hotel was that expensive compared top others we have stayed in. If you venture in to the village outside of the gates, it's cheaper again.

The pool gets busy very early, with loungers that must have been reserved in the middle of the night. We had to depart at 6.30 am for an excursion and many loungers had towells on at this time!! Any way our prefernce is for the beach, where the smiley and attentive staff are happy to bring you drink and food while you have a good chat with the beach sellers. Don't worry about these, they ask each day but a polite "no", they smile say good-by and move on. You will notice the difference when you leave the resort.

This is just our opinion, but compared to other hotels in the Far East and Indian Ocean it compares very favourably with those in the same price bracket. If it's good enough for U2 & Ronald Reagan (allegedly) it's good enough for most of us.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

The staff and people in general are all very open and friendly. The hotel has a large lobby area which leads through to the centre which is all pools and restaurants and surrounded by the rooms either side. It’s all very pleasant and relaxed. The pools are good but the beach is better with towels provided.

There is also a good selection of bars and restaurants all of which are expensive compared to what’s outside the gates, just ask the hotel for a taxi and ask for the south gate where there are some good restaurants, we like Mai Mai (I think that’s the name) Returning to the hotel though. The food is a good quality with no problems. Do go to the Balinese restaurant by the pool, it was amazing in every way. The lobby bar is what it is but does serve a mean cocktail. The pizza place is also worth a visit. The downside. Both the chess bar and restaurant serve good food and drink but service is slow and not just for us. The chess restaurant is where they serve their buffet dinner option outside and is very nice, included is a bottle of local wine (not bad) and unlimited water if you can get their attention. I ordered a beer which was not included and for some reason this posed a problem even though I knew this was extra and was happy to pay. They were very good at clearing tables and friendly enough but the minute you want something you’ve had it especially the bill or more water. The food was very good though. Don’t let this put you of the hotel though as it does have a lot to offer.

One of the best bits for us was the spa. As we were on honeymoon they do a romance package with a bottle of bubbly which my wife finally talked me into as I thought it a bit girly, glad she did. There’s private villas for this and you are both together in very fetching paper undies (bottoms only ladies), you can wear your own but they will get covered in all sorts of oils and scrubs. Thankfully it turned out to be a couple of women in the spa as the alternative would make me feel uncomfortable. In short we were massaged, body scrubbed and massaged some more, there’s a Clarins? face treatment too which again sounds girly but they massage this stuff in repeatedly which is pure heaven. Then afterwards it’s back down the stairs of your villa where there’s a huge bath, bubbly and flower petals. Also a steam room, plunge pool, day bed and complete privacy. This is also where the two staff make their exit and say they’ll return in 45 minutes and show you how to lock the one and only door. If that’s not a green light then nothing is. The public spa areas include a very nice lap pool which is quiet and in the separate changing rooms are a plunge pool, Sauna, Steam Room, Jacuzzi and showers along with more towels than a laundry. Really recommend the spa.

You can also wander along to all the other hotels and we used their bars and restaurants and they are much better for the evening. Also, walk to the beach turn right keep going, go round the security fence onto the beach and rejoin the path, there are local stalls here but not a problem, you’ll see a car park through the trees after a while and this leads to the Bali collection, which is good for eating and has a supermarket for water.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Hidden gem, best ever hotel with incredeble luxeury

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I stayed at the Nusa Dua Beach Hotel with my Boyfirend whilst holidaying in Bali. This was fantastic hotel and the staff could not have been more helpful. The only problem we had is that we were originally located a room in the hotel which appeared to have not been occupied for while - as a result of this the linen was dirty and the room lacked the luxury feel you got from the rest of the hotel. After discussing this with the manager we were upgraded as an apology for free - this was well worth it as we were moved to a better located room and had no compliants.
Bali itself is fantastic I would recommend going out and seeing the island and a local restaurant called CASA BELLA is fantastic - ask the reception to call them and they pick you up and take you back to the hotel for free!!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Staff were friendly and courteous. Grounds and pools were excellent and well maintained. Room was clean an comfortable. Turn down service of beds, and when this was down a quick clean and tidy of Bathroom with replacement towels etc.
Breakfast selection was excellent. Would definitely recommend this Resort to all who were looking to stay in the Nusa Dua area. Security was also excellent.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Kawasan Pariwisata | Lot North 4, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, AsiaRooms, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nusa Dua Beach Hotel And Spa
Nusa Dua Beach Hotel Nusa Dua
Nusa Dua Beach Resort
Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.