We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit more Bali than the rest of Nusa Dua” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kawasan Pariwisata | Lot North 4, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Dinners & Spa
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A bit more Bali than the rest of Nusa Dua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The entrance says it all ... as you come into the property, the candi bentar (split gates) together with the Balinese architecture make this feel a little more in touch with its location than the other resorts along Nusa Dua.

The rooms are comfortable (premier room may be a touch bigger than deluxe), pools are excellent (esp. the lap pool which was great for laps as well as relaxing - very few people), spa treatments beautiful. Breakfast buffet was impressive in its diversity.

Restaurants were a little bit of a letdown in that everything was just average. The bar was nice and particularly having drinks out on the outdoor terrace was very relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    532
    147
    36
    19
See reviews for
439
814
54
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I believe this hotel was the first hotel in Nusa Dua, an enclave of exclusive resorts. It has a prime beachfront location and is quite large. We were upgraded on check-in, the room was fantastic with great service throughout our stay. The restaurants within the resort and outside are very expensive with average food. The included breakfast is fantastic with a massive choice of dishes. A very nice getaway for 2 nights, we really enjoyed our stay at this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in hotel for 3 nights after leaving Seminyak. This hotel was a complete surprise. Outstanding service from the time the concierge opened our car door until the time we left. From the concierge to the cleaner, from guest relations to the bar person......we were greeted by all staff where ever we walked or were served by. We booked a Deluxe Room for Four (2 Adults and 2 Teenage Children) directly through the hotel itself and was perfect. This type of room configuration we found was not on other websites. We had privacy and so did our children, but kept our door between rooms most of the time. There was no construction we found going on. The rooms are balinese style and a little musty but goes. The hotel ambience makes you feel that you are in Bali. Room service and the cleanliness of our room was excellent. Okay so a little more expensive with regards to food and drinks compared to Seminyak/Kuta but you are staying at a hotel in a luxury area of Nusa Dua. We loved the pools and swimming up to the bar for our drinks. There were around 4 restaruants and enjoyed the seafood and Kacek dance on our last night. Recommend the pizza and wedges (Chess Bar and Sandros). Three nights was enough to unwind in Bali before leaving for home. Again the staff were amazing and we would recommend this hotel for family. It does rain more than Seminyak, but we didnt care. We swam in the pool in the rain because it was still hot. So much to do when it does anyway. There is the games room for kids and the spa for adults. I had two amazing massages . Better than Australia and cheaper.
Recommend that you dont overthink everything. You are in Bali off course. Enjoy. Forgot to mention amazing buffet breakfast. Recommend to get it included in your accommodation cost.

Room Tip: Contact hotel directly too. Discuss with them your needs. We did this via email. Not all rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Went in Feb 2013 with a party of 2 adults and 2 young children. Chose this hotel based on the good reviews on TA and also because they had a suitable room configuration for us. I just wanted to give a balanced review so that people do not think that all is peachy about this hotel.

As advised by some reviewers we requested for a quiet room not facing the construction site nearby as it can get noisy. The peace was especially important to us given that our 2 childen went to bed quite early in the evening. We arrived at about 3 pm and were told that our room was not yet ready, and that we had to wait for half an hour, which was not that big a deal. However, after that we were then told that the room would not be ready till 6 pm! We were offered another room, and we were assured it was not going to be noisy. Of course, when we went to this room, we realised it was facing the aformentioned construction site. We asked for another room and they then gave us a replacement room which was not the one we booked for. By this time, we were so tired and the kids were getting cranky so we just accepted the room.

The room had problems - first the air conditioner thermostat was busted, so one part of the room was super cold and the other was warm. We reported the problem and it took them 2 days to address the issue.

The coffee machine wasn't working.

After all our efforts to get a quiet room, we could still hear the construction site. On one night the workers were at it till 2am!

The rest of the hotel was more encouraging. The building perhaps was a little bit old, but it was well maintained and clean. The architecture retained a distinctive Balinese feel to it. The pools were big, the beach private, and because it was off-peak season, there were lots of space for everyone. Breakfast, although had a wide variety, was pretty much they same fare everyday so you started to get bored of it after a while.

The staff were friendly and eager to help, however they were let down by one major issue - communication. Finding an English-speaking staff member was an issue and we were often trying to guess what the staff were telling us. I think that our problems mentioned above would have been solved much more smoothly if the staff could or would just tell us what was happening. Even when we were booking the hotel, it tooks us numeorous emails and phone calls to achieve that. We requested an evening check out as we had a night flight, and, even after we specifically told reception in the morning, our key cards were blocked and we were locked out of our rooms on that afternoon.

All in all, the stay was bittersweet. Although the potential was there for a great hotel, it just didn't deliver in some areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We really liked this hotel, the staff were friendly and the service was excellent. There were three pools, one that had volleyball and beach feel for kids, and another with a swim up bar and the third in the spa area which was a quiet area with no kids. We do not travel with kids and enjoyed the fact that we could enjoy somewhere quiet and very relaxing. The Spa was excellent and pricing reasonable. There were several restaurants of different cuisine but the cheers bar had a eating area right on the beach which was a beautiful place to eat as the sun went down, with a walk along the beach after dinner. The bar was open until 2am and when we arrived at 1am we could unwind with a drink and were not made to feel like they wanted to close for the night. The hotel was recently renovated and the ambiance of the hotel and rooms was lovely. It was close to the Nusa Dua market and the Bali Collection Shopping area and we did not need to venture far from the hotel for anything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Vast courtyards, massive entrances, sprawling gardens, private beach, sumptuous breakfast buffet and lovely cocktails.......... you have it all. The gardens are lovely with fountains and every room has a balcony overlooking acres of garden. Highlight is the private beach where you can catch the sunrise. We had a lovely time lazing around the beach, soaking up the beautiful ambience, and relishing the yummy fare. I didn't feel like stepping out of the hotel at all!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a 4 night stay in this resort in summer 2012. Just got around to writing about it now, but the memories have stayed with me and will do so for some time I think.

The Nusa Dua Beach Hotel is one of the original resorts built in the Nusa Dua part of Bali. This also means it is one of the oldest and a few years back may have become a bit dated and in need of a freshening up.......well, mission pretty much accomplished. The owners of the resort are some middle eastern investment arms of an oil rich state in the middle east, and they have recently injected funds to re-do the resort. It was almost completed when we stayed there last year, so perhaps should be completed by now.

Peter S, the GM of the hotel was a very gracious host and went out of his way to make me and my family (wife + 3 kids) feel completely at home. We were upgraded to a nice one bedroom suite on the ground level and provided access to the club facilities which meant nice breakfasts, high tea snack, and happy hour drinks gratis. The facility itself boasts a few different restaurants, two swimming pools, morning yoga sessions, gym, kids playgroups, function rooms etc etc.

Rooms are large, clean, well thought out, with all the usual amenities of a 5 star resort. Bathrooms also good sized and seems like new fixtures have been added, which is always a nice touch. LCD TV's with DVD players, good linen, nice firm but not stiff mattresses, soft pillows, new towels, and many other aspects which is plainly obvious to have been recently put in place all make for a good value and a pampering type of atmosphere for people staying there.

The beach is a 1-3 minute walk from the hotel depending on which part of hotel you are staying at. Mall/resto area a 10minute walk away from hotel on main road of Nusa Dua.

Nusa Dua is located about 15minutes drive from the main Kuta strip area where alot of the action tends to happen, but we were happy to be in a place where we could just hang around all day and be content. About a 20 minute drive to/from airport depending on traffic. With traffic these days in bali, it's useful not having to go into some of the other parts of the island. whole family was in love with the resort and we did not want to leave...actually inquired about extending the stay but our airline tickets would have charged a big penalty for the change, so we decided to forgo.

All in all....not a single negative thing to say about the place. Would definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Depending what you plan to do at the resort, you can choose one closer or farther away from the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Kawasan Pariwisata | Lot North 4, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, AsiaRooms, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nusa Dua Beach Hotel And Spa
Nusa Dua Beach Hotel Nusa Dua
Nusa Dua Beach Resort
Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.