We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Nikko Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Nikko Bali to your Saves list
Grand Nikko Bali
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Nikko Bali Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Absolutely loved this hotel! We stayed in one of the Nikko Club pool access rooms and it was wonderful. The club facilities are well worth the extra money and the pool access room was great being able to swim out from your balcony. They have a large slide at the pool which my kids loved and my youngest son really enjoyed the awesome jungle kids club and the lovely friendly staff there. Cocktails and afternoon tea in the club room each afternoon was delicious as was the breakfast. The staff were all super friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Cant wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Club pool access rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    162
    41
    17
    8
See reviews for
185
225
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jahrom, Iran
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is one of the most beautiful hotels in Bali , small monkeys traffic at certain hours , red fish,numerous pools , delicious food , the wonderful memories I had of this hotel .
The hotel is away from downtown , but the daily shuttle bus to the shopping center there Dasht.aqamt at this hotel for a one-time experience.

Room Tip: higher floors have good view point
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were booked into the Grand Nikko for 6 nights in January 2015. We decided to leave after 3 nights and we moved to the Amarterra Villas in Nusa Dua. Everything associated with the Grand Nikko made all of us feel like they were trying to save money on everything they could. Definitely not a 5 star hotel.

The hotel is big and does have a nice pool area. We booked two ocean view rooms but when we got there we were put into the building that is set back far from the cliff/ beach as opposed to the building that has direct access to the pool area. We asked for two rooms next to each other but even though the room numbers were consecutive the rooms were on the same 6th floor but not near each other. Our air conditioning did not work at all and after a request we were moved to the fifth floor whilst our children stayed on the 6th floor.
The rooms were adequate and the decor was modern. Our view from the balcony was very average but our children's view was really good.The free internet did not work well at all and constantly dropped out or fluctuated from zero to 3 bars. You also had to log in every hour which was painful. Our room was a very long way from the pool area and you had to walk via the reception and there was no direct access. The food was good at the pool restaurant but it was very expensive. The spa was also incredibly expensive so we didn't bother getting any treatments. There are 10 dollar massages next to the pool area by some local ladies, so forget the spa.
The breakfast buffet was crowded and there were very long waits to get pancakes or crepes as there was only one staff member cooking, the food in the servers was pre cooked and not fresh. My son took a small yogurt and was planning to eat it back in his room but the restaurant staff refused to let him leave with it. We have travelled a lot and this is the first time this has ever happened, we were not impressed and this made us leave.

The grand nikko is a long way from anything and the only way to get around is to get on the Bali collection bus which runs every hour or book a taxi.

Overall I think there are many better options of hotels in the Nusa Dua area which have better service and better value for money. When we moved to the Amarterra it was similarly priced and the move was well worth it. The Amarterra breakfast was had more variety, was cheaper, fresher and they encouraged you to take away any food you hadn't eaten.

Room Tip: if you book a ocean view room make sure that it is in the rooms with the direct pool area access and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Grand Nikko for 13 nights and could have easily stayed longer.The hotel is located at a superb location with panoramic views,the staff is very friendly and facilities of the hotel are a pleasure, especially the outdoor pool with water slide was a daily highlight. In front of the hotel are some nice surf spots. The kids club "jungle camp" has great facilities, however we would have wished that the staff would have shown more enthusiasm and run the daily program as advertised. Drinks at the hotel are very expensive (exceeding typical prices in Australia) and be aware of the fact, all prices are exclusive GST, so don't be surprised when you final bill is (21%) higher than expected. Also, the tickets for the New Years eve party were overpriced, despite the impressive buffet which Grand Nikko provided.A special thanks to the head chef Atilla and director for food and beverage Thomas for their special attention and friendliness during our entire stay.

Room Tip: Due to the big construction side right next to the Grand Nikko (new Kempinski), I would ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Grand Nikko Bali, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Oliver R,
Thank you for choosing Grand Nikko Bali for your long vacations and taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor readers.
We are delighted to know that you and family had a good time and enjoyed the friendliness of our associates.
Jungle camp activities are mentioned to give a guideline of what is available throughout the day but we obviously have to adjust to the attendance of the children and adapt to them (age, gender, preferences). We usually get very good comments about the activities and a lot of families come back only to let their children have a good time at the Jungle Camp.
The “tax and service” surchage is unfortunately general in every hotel (and now almost every restaurant) over Indonesia and is in no way hidden.
Drink prices (especially the ones with alcohol) take into account the local legalities re. taxes that also unfortunately bring up the entire prices up - nevertheless, with the various promotions and happy hours available we hope to alleviate the burden. We also conduct regular benchmarking with other hotels in the area and can confirm that our prices are very in-line with what is in offer.
Finally, thank you for your comments about New Year’s Eve dinner and your compliments to our two associates will passed unto them.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Until then, best regards,
J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good Property but to be in the market needs to be renovated big time. Overall not up to a 5* rating I feel. More of 4 *. Good,hospitality very good, decor good. Overall good experience . Good for 2 night stay

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Grand Nikko Bali, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear bittuulal,
Thank you for choosing Grand Nikko Bali and taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor readers.
We are sorry to read that our property did not live up to your expectations.
As a side note for our readers, last addition to Grand Nikko Bali was in July 2013 with 19 brand new villas, a new open-air wedding chapel and a n additional meeting room.
We look forward to welcoming you again and try one of our new product.
Best regards,
J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in a family suite in January to 8 nights, with three children. The family suite rooms were perfect for us and had an amazing pool front view. The kids loved the pools and the water slide. Kids club was pretty awesome but my girls never really wanted to use it. I guess because it's a quiter time of year and there weren't often other kids in there.

Buffet breakfast was outstanding. I'd read reviews saying it wasn't so good, so I was worried. But it had everything and was plentiful. Waffles, pancakes, crepes, all the hot food you'd expect and an amazing choice of tropical fruits. Staff were very attentive.

The daily housekeeping service was efficient and the turn down service was also excellent. Never a shortage of clean towels or fresh water.

The only staff I had an issue with was poolside. We spent a lot of time at the pool and it seemed whenever we wanted to order a drink or food we had to go searching for staff and sometimes it would take forever for a simple cocktail.

Room service was good and fast. Though a few extra food choices would of been good.

The prices of food were a little over the top. Cocktails were around $15. More expensive than any other hotel we've stayed in.

The day spa was also pricier than other hotels we've stayed in (in Sanur), but it was well worth it. Five star treatment.

Lastly, there is no where you can walk to. So dining choices are at the hotel or in a $3 taxi. The Bali Collectiin offers a free shuttle service. We however found it a waste of time, over prices food. We just caught a taxi into to the Main Street of Nusa Dua (before Bali Collection) where there are plenty of restaurants with beautiful traditional food.

We would definitely return to The Grand Nikko.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Such a fantastic idea to share your beautiful facilities with outside guests, we enjoyed the day pass to its full extent, the boys loved the waterslide, beach access, hot spa and Jungle Camp. I enjoyed relaxing poolside and a beautiful massage at Mandara Spa. An awesome option for families. Thank you Grand Nikko!

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Grand Nikko Bali, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Lillykit,
Thank you for visiting Grand Nikko Bali and taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor readers.
Great to know that you enjoyed your day with us - we now look forward to welcoming you for a full stay!
Best regards,
Jean-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Nikko Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Nikko Bali

Address: Jl Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Nikko Bali Resort & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Nikko Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a world of personal hospitality at the Grand Nikko Bali. This 5-star resort hotel offers stunning views of the Indian Ocean from its position atop a 40-metre cliff. Traditional Balinese warmth combined with attentive and refined service makes it an ideal choice for a serene getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Nikko Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Nikko Bali Resort And Spa
Grand Nikko Bali Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Nikko Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.