We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Nikko Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Nikko Bali to your Saves list
Grand Nikko Bali
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Nikko Bali Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Dubai
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Very relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was recommended by one of our friends who was raving about this hotel. It had a very nice view. Checking-in was bit slow, but hey, the staff were friendly though and very accommodating.
We stayed in a room overlooking the pool and sea. The room was of good size. The view was breathtaking. It was so relaxing to just sit on the beach, swim and read. We also used the pool, where you can play volleyball and basketball. There was even a slide and was pretty amusing. They provide a game area as well. There were a number of restaurants that you can try, but we were not impressed with the quality of the food viz the price. The Shore one was nice as we had lunch and of course had cocktails same time. There was a barbecue night, but we were disappointed with the options. The meat was not as tender as expected. We felt it was not worth what we paid for. So for most of our week's stay, we either went to Bali Collection or went to restaurants outside the hotel.
Tried the spa once...hey we always like to go for spa and nice massage. It was not something memorable, but it was okay.
But over-all, our stay in this hotel was a very relaxing experience!

Room Tip: room on the tower with view to pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Grand Nikko Bali, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sam24112013,

Thank you for choosing Grnd NIkko Bali for your stay in Bali and taking the time to share your feedback with TripAdvisor readers.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay overall and had a relaxing time as well as enjoyed the facilities we offer.

We are sorry to read that your experience in our restaurants was not up to your expectations and we continue work on providing various alternatives for diners, hopefully, next time you will find something that matches your value-for-money expectations.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again for your next trip to Bali.

Best regards,

J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    153
    36
    16
    7
See reviews for
166
214
7
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place is very disapointing. Its so far from the bali collection. Its very windy and not pleasant as the hotel is on a cliff. The rooms are average standard and the shower is dirty. The hallways to the rooms are average and not clean and the meals are expensive so we won't be back. Not very good compared to the beautiful Villa we came from elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Grand Nikko Bali, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear aussiewilbur,

Thank you for choosing Gand Nikko Bali for your stay in Bali and taking the time to share your thoughts about it with TripAdvisor readers.

We are sorry to read that we did not live up to your expectations and hope you will take the time to either drop us a line or answer our detailed on-line survey to help us understand better what went wrong.

We feel that the mark you gave is quite tough compared to the usual feedback we receive and that is the reason why we would like to investigate further if you give us the opportunity to do so.

We hope you can give us a chance to try again and that will change your perception.

Sincerely,

J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We couldn't have asked for more, the Nikko Bali is a beautiful 5 star hotel, with the staff to match. We stayed in a tower room overlooking the pools and ocean, the room was well maintained, clean and plenty of space. We also received access to the Nikko Club where a separate pool and lounges provided a peaceful and relaxing area to spend the day. Breakfast and afternoon cocktails were also served here. The Nikko Club staff were absolutely outstanding! My birthday was spent during our holiday, and the staff made it a special occasion. The spa was amazing with a variety of different massages and treatments available. The gym well equipped, and 5 different restaurants with theme nights, so plenty of different food available. I wanted a holiday where I could totally relax - this was the best holiday I've had in years, and it was hard to go home. Can't wait to go back again! Well done to all the staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Grand Nikko Bali, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear 395HeidiT,

Thank for choosing Grand Nikko Bali for your holiday and taking the time to share your positive experience with TripAdvisor readers.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the room (the location is Cliff tower and it probably was a Nikko Club room) and the special benefits offered to our Nikko Club guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing holiday!

Best regards,

J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at the Nikko due to friends getting married there. I had a Deluxe Beachfront Room which had a spectacular view! The room was lovely and clean and the beds are huge! It is an all encompassing resort which really provides no reason to leave if you don't want to. Great expansive pools with volleyball, basketball and a slide which provide amusement for young and old alike. The restaurants are all fab especially the Shore because lets face it, eating lunch and drinking cocktails practically on the beach is pretty special. The staff are so lovely and super friendly and helpful.
The wedding we attended at the resort was spectacular and so well organised by the Nikko wedding team.

I really had the most fabulous time staying here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the resort to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Grand Nikko Bali, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear CourtzC,

Thank for staying in Grand Nikko Bali and taking the time to share your positive experience with TripAdvisor readers.

We are glad to read you enjoyed the spectacular view from your room, as well as all the facilities in the resort, and last but not least the lovely, friendly and helpful staff. Your comments will be forwarded to them.

We are also thankful for your comments related with wedding as our team works effortlessly to offer our wedding couples a one of a kind experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Until then, best regards,

J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We did not stay in Grand Nikko but brought our 17 months daughter for the Camel Safari. It was a great experience. The camels were very tamed and the ride was fun along the senic beach. Pictures were all very well taken just like pro by the guide. It’s a must do in Bali.

As for the hotel, did not check out the room but the view was just breath taking. It is as beautiful as compare to Uluwatu but without those irritating monkeys that will snatch spectacles or slipper to exchange for food. Although the property were old but it was very well maintained. The pool area was also beautiful plus it has a much nicer beach as compare with the lower stretch of Nusa Dua where Westin, Hyatt, Melia were located.
Will definitely consider staying in this hotel for our next visit to Bali.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Grand Nikko Bali, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear DECAHA,

Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor and compliments about the well maintained property (only 16 years, old, still a teenagere ;-)), the pool and the nice beach.

I would personally add the stunning Ocean view that you can not find in the other hotels you mentioned.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the Camel Safari activity is NOT part of Grand Nikko Bali but you can access it through our resort. We are nevertheless glad to read that you enjoyed the ride.

Looking forward to welcoming you in Grand Nikko Bali as a guest.

Best regards,

J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Beautifully located on a cliff this fantastic venue offers both relaxing places either around the pool areas or by the beach or a fun time playing volleyball in one of the pools. Food is excellent combined with great service. I had a room with a semi-private pool and a sun deck which was very nice for privacy. Can be highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room with direct access to the pool area (semi-private pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Grand Nikko Bali, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Anders E,

Thank you for choosing Grand Nikko Bali and taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor readers.

We are delighted to read that you had a good time with us and enjoyed the facilities, the activities, the food and the service - and that you remember us more than 10 months after your stay.

The room you stayed in is called “Pool Access Room” for those who would like to book one.

Thank you again for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is about half hour south of the airport in Nusa Dua. It is right on the beach, and the water is very clean compared to other parts of Bali. We stayed in a club room, and it is definitely worth it as you get all day drinks and some snacks. Private pool and cabana is also only for club room members. The resort lagoon style pool is awesome and the food at the hotel is tasty. I would rate this hotel 8.5/10

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Grand Nikko Bali, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Mohtrix,

Thank you for choosing Grand Nikko Bali for your stay in Bali and sharing your positive experience with TripAdvisor readers.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed everything, including the special services and benefits one can enjoy in rooms having Club access.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
With best regards,

J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Nikko Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Nikko Bali

Address: Jl Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Nikko Bali Resort & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Nikko Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a world of personal hospitality at the Grand Nikko Bali. This 5-star resort hotel offers stunning views of the Indian Ocean from its position atop a 40-metre cliff. Traditional Balinese warmth combined with attentive and refined service makes it an ideal choice for a serene getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Nikko Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Nikko Bali Resort And Spa
Grand Nikko Bali Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Nikko Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.