We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Nice Place, NICE PEOPLE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 50%
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Nice Place, NICE PEOPLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was in The Laguna Resort from 5th september till 12th... Nice hotel, fantastic pools and very good kitchen. I would like to thank all the staff of the hotel and especially Mr. Purna for their help and hospitality. Also remember room employees. Always helpful. Thank you very much to all! Mr. Garcia. room 223

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Mr. Garcia,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are glad to read your favorable review regarding our Resort, cuisine, and the team. Your positive feedback is in line with the surrounding reviews and we are really proud that we have contributed in some small way to making your experience with us a flawless one.

We will surely extend your kind gratitude to the whole team especially Mr. Purna to live up their spirit in always maintaining the standard we have so far.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Sincerely yours,


Mark Van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    403
    133
    46
    27
See reviews for
377
1,011
59
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

i love the breakfast table set outside with a beautiful beach view and some squirels around..
It was a great vacation time,nice breakfast food at banyu biru and the arwana, nice hotel crew plus a cozy bar at kulkul: ).Thanks for all the conviences.. Tremendously fabulous

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Rieska84,

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our cuisines. Emblazoned by a beautiful ocean background, our restaurants offer rich selection of the best international and local cuisines as well as best entertainment on the island. For our valued guests’ convenience, all of our restaurants are complimented with free Wifi..

Thank you for your nice comment regarding our staff. We will surely share your positive feedback especially with our team at Kulkul Bar as our appreciation for their good work.

Once again, thank you for your nice review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future

Sincerely yours,


Mark Van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful rooms , garden and pool and really excellent beach and seaside ! Very kind , smiley and polite staff. The reception is very helpfull to help you choose right city tours and all the adventures in Bali . Dining in the hotel is a little expensive but there is a shopping & restaurant comlex close by that you can find all kind of food and beverages there.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Nedsep,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are glad that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our Resort and really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our resort, grounds, and hospitality service.

Further, we are also pleased to learn that everything we offered you along your stay has met your expectation. It is always pleasing to hear positive comments regarding our staff which is in line with the surrounding reviews on Tripadvisor.

We do hope that your nice impression of our Resort will bring you back to The Laguna in the near future

Sincerely yours,

Mark Van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel surely has a few points in favour: location, beach, space. It has all the potential to be a top quality hotel.
Rooms are good, though this may vary dependent on where you room is located.
The bathroom is OK, but could do well with an upgrade in terms of size and lay-out.
Spa facilities and team are very nice.

Where it goes wrong however is service.
The hotel comes across as rather "stingy": coffee and tea are not properly replenished in the room, it was not possible to get a simple cookie with coffee, used tea cups & glasses in the room were not replaced every day, dirty coffee maker did not get cleaned, hotel does not offer their won shuttle. All things you'd expect from a hotel that wants to call itself a luxury resort & spa.

What probably irrirates most is that hotel management denied our comments: upon return we completed a hotel survey in which we indicated shortcomings related to dirty cups and glasses. We appreciated very much to receive an email reponse but were shocked to read to contents of the email: "...based on our record it shows that our Butler did refresh the glasses and coffee making facilities during your stay...". I can make and update my own records too: this is a cheap and disrespectful reply, suggesting that I would be lying.

Overall the hotel - through their staff - leaves the image of being impersonal and indifferent.
This is also re-inforced by the fact that you never see anyone from the management team, also not when you complain about service issues with the front desk.

The hotel offers two main locations for breakfast and dinner. In both restaurants catering is good but not great: the food is presented nicely but variety and flavour are not following this same standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Joris_R,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our Resort, grounds, and room. In this opportunity, we would like to sincerely apologize if some aspects of your stay has not lived up to your expectation and makes your stay with us less than perfect.

To comment on the used glasses and cups that were not replaced as well as coffee making facility, we understand that this incident is not acceptable and did not reflect the standard we try so hard to maintain. Please be rest assured that we have raised this with our Executive Housekeeper for immediate follow up and rectification and we sincerely apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced.

It concerned me that our cuisine quality and variety was not up to your satisfaction and this is surely not in line with other reviews we normally receive. We have personally discussed this with our F&B team for our improvement hence our valued guests’ expectation is fulfilled.

Please be assured that we will be working very hard with the team to rectify the issues you have highlighted.

Thank you and we do hope that your less than perfect experience will not prevent you form returning to our Resort in the future.

Sincerely Yours

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have been coming to this hotel yearly since about 2003, and I still cannot fault it.

The food is amazing, YAB you do an amazing job catering or everyone. The staff here are second to none. They are all so happy and vibrant, and nothing phases them. Thy cater wonderfully for children. The rooms are great. We have 5 kids and get the suite with an interconnecting room and we all fit fine (although two are still in cots which helps).

We love coming here and cannot thank you all enough for your hospitality. High tea in the afternoon, a trip to the beautiful spa, walks along the gorgeous beepach and a wonderful choice of food makes the laguna one of the best.

We will see you again next year for sure and highly recommend .

Room Tip: If you have a large family, get a suite with the interconnecting room, the overlook the gorgeous poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Ainsley007

Greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for spending your precious time to write on our trip advisor page. We are really happy to learn that everything we offered has met your expectation and successfully made your trip a most memorable one. We are also pleased to receive such compliment for our cuisines and staff. We will share this message to our team especially Mr. Yab for their acknowledgement and motivation.

We would like to thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Mark Van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Beautiful 5* hotel situated right off the beach. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. The staff were friendly and most greeted guests with a Namaste, a customary Indian salutation involving a slight bow and the hands pressed together.
The pools and lagunas that surround the hotel were very nice although they were not all connected into a giant lazy river like he had imagined.
Restaurants: had great food but the prices were expensive for Bali standards; although, they were not outrageous. Typical 5* hotel prices, about $20-30 U.S. per plate. Both restaurants were great and the room service was excellent too. The breakfast buffet had a wide selection of foods in a sort of east meets west fashion.
Location: Being in Nusa Dua, we felt completely safe. They have security everywhere to help the tourists feel better, I guess. The Bali Collection, a shopping complex, is a 10min walk from the hotel. They have tons of shops, restaurants and convenience stores. We ate at a couple of the restaurants. Some places would offer free welcoming drinks or a free appetizer to eat there so I guess you can barter a little. The restaurant prices were a fraction of the hotel restaurant prices. I would also pick up booze from the convenience stores as they were much cheaper than at the hotel. A giant Heineken was about $3.50 U.S. The handicrafts at the shops can be found all over the island so check your prices as Nusa Dua can be more expensive than other places and always try to barter or you can get ripped off.
Spa and Gym: The gym look decent although I didn't use it. They seemed to have a pretty good selection of equipment. The spa was amazing but pricey, once again for Bali standards. A 90min full body shiatsu was $75U.S. I thought it was worth it. Have you ever had your eye sockets massaged? My God!
Tour Desk: The only problem with this hotel. They had a nice selection of excursions but cost $20/hr. You'll get an english speaking guide and a driver in an air conditioned vehicle. BUT for $40 we hired a guy, Antone, who took us around Bali for 9 hours taking us to where ever we wanted to go. Make your own excursion for a fraction of the price, a much better deal.
Overall: 5 out of 5. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Rob W

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking the time to share your memorable experience on our trip advisor page.

We are glad that you had an enriching and distinctive stay at our Resort and we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding the resort grounds, cuisine, and hospitality service. Further, we are pleased to learn that everything we offered you along your stay has exceeded your expectation.

Once again thank you for residing with us and we hope your unforgettable experience will bring you back to us in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,


Mark Van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here in June 2009 and this resort is very nice and luxury. The rooms are beautiful and we booked pool access rooms. Friendly staff and very good food. We enjoyed our stay very much and would come back for sure. Great place to relax.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Papijulo

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We really appreciate your time to write a review on our trip advisor page and are delighted to find out that you enjoyed your vacation with us.

Nothing is more rewarding than to receiving such compliment of our facilities and staff. We have extended this message to our team to keep them motivated and ensure the best quality of service for our valued guests.

We would like to thank you for residing with us and hope that you will come back to The Laguna Resort & Spa, where you can find luxury at its finest.


Best regards,

Mark Van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#4 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.