We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 25%
Ranked #9 of 44 hotels in Nusa Dua
geelong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at the Laguna in august. We have travelled a lot and stayed in the worlds best hotels and i have to say that NOTHING compared to the Laguna. The staff were so friendly and they knew exactly who we were. they were very helpful as we have 4 small children and it made our stay so much more enjoyable. The cabanas were a wonderful experience and we found it so relaxing as it was peaceful and quiet. The rooms were a great size and the cleaning staff were fantastic and even told me where i could get the cheapest shopping. The Bali collection was a 5 minute walk to the hotel and the hotel had a shuttle and it was great as they had many different resaurants that were amazingly cheap. The pools were great for both adults and the kids as there was something for everyone regardless of age. The breakfast was fantastic as there was a very large selection of all types of food including an asian breakfast. My daughter hada bithday there and they hotel baked her a special cake for free. All i can say is, "Wow, what an experience". I recommend this hotel to anyone travelling. it is not the cheapest but you get what you pay for. It has class and character. I hope to go back in December this year.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, Hotel Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear naleni m

Greetings from The Laguna!

It is pleasing to learn that your recent experience with us was a most memorable one and that our team looked after you and family very well.

On behalf of The Laguna family, we look forward to welcoming you all back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in December.


Best wishes

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,186
    371
    128
    45
    26
See reviews for
356
934
55
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Hotel is great, with many pools and nice rooms. Staff was really nice. The only thing that we didn't like was not the hotel itself but the fact that Nusa Dua is isolated from "real" Bali, with high prices at Bali Collection and no one around after 11pm.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, Hotel Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear melanie c

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Laguna on TripAdvisor.

It is pleasing to learn that you were satisfied with the Resort and accommodation in general.

We look forward to your return to Bali in the not too distant future.


Warmest regards

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I'll keep it simple
Location - brilliant
Weather - perfect
Room - superb, cleaned to a very good standard, excellent A/C, very spacious. Would recommend a swim up suite despite the extra cost
Food - Very good, plenty of choices in the Buffet, the a la carte menu is excellent in Arwana as is the view of the ocean. Can get very busy at breakfast but the choice is outstanding.
Pools - too many to swim in! Big enough to give you privacy, plus they are open 24/7 and good temp.
Spa - best massage I have ever had
Beach - very clean and amazing sand, but only directly at the hotel. Further up it isn't as clean.
Staff - very friendly and always smiling. Slightly pushy at the bars however
Cost - the only real downside. Cocktails cost £16 (although they are amazing). It is impossible to get a bottle of wine or champagne without taking out a loan, which is a shame for such an intimate venue that couples and honeymooners frequent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, Hotel Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear 123Andrew321

Greetings from The Laguna!

It is pleasing to learn that your recent experience with us was a most enjoyable one. Your feedback is much appreciated in order for us to maintain our standards at all time.

On behalf of The Laguna family, we look forward to your return to our Resort in the not too distant future.


Best wishes

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Service is great. Friendly staff. They help you to get around in Bali without any personal benefit or expectation. Food was delayed a bit in the restaurant. They apologized for this and gave me discount in the bill. Overall enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, Hotel Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Naveenrajkumar

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at The Laguna on tripAdvisor.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our team looked after you very well.

On behalf of The Laguna family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.


Warmest regards

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

Have never been so disrespected in a 5 star hotel. They act more like a low class outfit trying to push you into ordering in the restaurants. We had booked the buffet and Bali dance, that was already expensive. We then found out that no drinks were included and were an extra charge. So a coke was going to cost USD10.00, a bear USD15.00 and they had bottles of wine selling for USD4.000.00. Ok, so you don,t have to order the drinks right or so I thought. Because my waiter would not hear from me that we would just have ice water for our 6 children and would keep informing my wife and I that our children wanted soft drinks and juice and better we order such for the kids and got very moody when we declined. We then found our service standards drop through the floor.

The hotel is surly pushing staff to hard sell guests, but this is not the norm for a 5 star hotel and really made us wish we had gone somewhere else, like the Westin right next door, that offers much better value and great staff services. They are very much a service hotel at the Westin and a much better hotel for families and very relaxed holiday.

The Laguna hotel has a big renovation, development going on right now, so the Westin next door makes a much better place to stay, as well and save some money. Rooms in The Laguna are old and worn. The westin has updated all rooms just a few months back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, Hotel Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Balitour2011

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Laguna on TripAdvisor.

It concerns me greatly that you left our Resort with such a negative perception of what we have to offer.

We are sure that you have carefully presented the experience including the data, however I can not see your valid points in incorrectly commenting on our prices. Throughout the Resort, we do not sell a beer at USD15, a coke is certainly not priced USD10 and we also do not sell wine at USD4000.

We also would like to clarify that we do not have a big renovation going on at The Laguna.

Your constructive feedback in regards to the service at our restaurant is much appreciated and we will address this in our ongoing refresher training to improve the standard.

I regret that we fail to meet your expectations this time however we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the future to witness the improvement from your valuable feedback.


Warmest regards from Bali

Mark van Leeuwen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here towards the end of August 2011 during our honeymoon, following fantastic stays at loveley hotels in Abud (Allila) and Lombok (Oberoi) and were unfortunately fairly dissapointed with the Laguna following such lovely sorroundings and atmosphere at our previous hotels.

Our welcome at the Laguna was great - we were whisked out of our transfer taxi into reception where we were met with cold refreshing flannels and a complmentary iced tea drink and were well briefed on the hotels amenities and sorrounding area.

We stayed in a deluxe lagoon access room which was fantastic - having access to the pool directly from the room via a small ladder as the description suggests - although the balcny was fairly small but this didn't detract from the experience.

Our main gripe was regarding the prices and general commercialism at the hotel - the restaurants are extortiately expensive - for example, a buffet meal for two on our first night was in excess of £100, which is way out there for bali prices! We visited a lovely restataurant at the Lomobok Lodge during our stay at the Oberoi in Lombok, and that cost us £110 for an excellent 5 course meal, and balinese wine (note - wine is v.expensive in Bali due to taxes - at no fault to the hotels or restaurants).

The Nusa Dua complex is lovely, but obvuously built for tourists - a bit like a disneyland in the middle of Bali. Hotel fronted beaches are one next to the other and dominated by hotel to hotel. It was such a shame for us to visit the market 15 minutes down the beach (away from the bali collection and just outside the gates) where they were really struggling for business but selling all of the usual tourist trinkets as found in the larger stores - we made a point of visiting twice just to buy our souvenirs!).

There are gates before you enter and leave which do make you feel safe and contained, however it also unfortunately detracts from the feeling of being in Bali (you could be anywhere - and admittedly, we knew about this before we arrived having quickly looked at other reviews on the web).

The laguna resort itself is well presented but you do feel like 'one of a number' when you are staying there, particularly with the the apartment block style rooms overlooking the pools all around the resort.

As a note - the 'devdan' show at the Bali Collection is fantastic!!! The production, special effects and performers were amaxzing, very proffesional and comparable to a west end show (at half the price). Well worth a visit, but very poorly publicised (it's in the Bali collection theatre, about 10 mins walk from most hotels).

We had a great time in Bali - the people are amazing (what an understatement!!!) and we are sure that we will return, however probably not to Nusa Dua.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed here with my young family and my sister's young family back in October 2009. The trip was for a special family occasion - several - and David and his team, ensured everything went perfectly. From the arrival at the hotel, the room (lagoon access - out of this world), the location, the food, the unbelievable pool and lovely beach front - absolutely everything was fantastic. The lagoon access rooms are well worth the extra cost - being able to swim straight off your room balcony is a great little added feature!

David introduced himself during the stay to us all and such a nice personal touch. The staff all very quickly remember who you are and all - without exception - ask you how you are when they greet you.

The red butler button on the phones - to order free coffee or tea - is nothing short of a stroke of genius. Such a clever idea and done so well.

We could not recommend this place enough and we do plan on going back.

Do you yourself a favour and go to visit. You'll come back relaxed, chilled out and thoroughly looked after.

Room Tip: Say hello to David and staff via e-mail before you travel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#6 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.