We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer for Less
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

My wife & I stayed at the Laguna Resort & Spa in Nusa Dua, Bali from October 19-24th and had a great experience. The room was spacious and immaculate. The bathrooms were in marble with soaking tubs. Most impressive were the grounds. I lost count of the swimming pools there were so many. And of course, right on the beach where swimming in the morning at high tide was comfortably cooling. The breakfast buffet had an extraordinary selection. We found all the staff to be friendly and eager to help. I would highly recommend this property for a relaxing visit to Bali. The only negatives might be its distance from Ubud and other historic sights on the rest of the island and the fact that an offshore coral reef eliminates most of the wave action. This also means that to snorkle, one must hire a boat to get out beyond the reef. This is an east coast beach so guests will not see the sun set over the water from here, but Jimbaran Beach on the west coast is only a 15 minute, 42,000 IDR ($4.60) taxi ride away.

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds, top notch service
  • Disliked — A bit far from craft & art villages and temples elsewhere on the island
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    435
    143
    50
    33
See reviews for
401
1,090
65
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

We stayed in the Laguna for our honeymoon and had the time of our lives. I was very pleasantly suprised as I had read some of the reviews and small moans re price, service etc which we found to be unfounded less you try and penny pinch on holiday. The grounds were beautiful and staff could not have been more friendly or attentive. It was very quiet which was perfect for us considering it was our honeymoon so I certainly would not recommend to people looking to party, but if it is relaxing and quality food, accommodation and service you want then look no further. If you want to see Bali hire a driver ( if he is anything like ours) he was hilarious company with excellent english and geographical and cultural knowledge circa 11$ p/h. All in all fantastic trip, would recommend the hotel very highly and if you go to bali whatever you do see the monkeys!!

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

Stayed at the Laguna in September and had a wonderful week.
Firstly as a Starwoods Preferred Quest we were upgraded to a Junior Suite on arrival and had our breakfasts included. The room was one of the best we had stayed in, which although isn't the reason for staying there, it was nice to come back to each day.
The staff are very attentive and always had time to talk to the guests.
They all gave a big beaming smile if greeted. The grounds were always kept in a very clean a tidy condition. The food was very good, especially the breakfast buffet. The prices for dinner were comparable to normal hotel prices, but there was alternate places to eat at The Bali Collection, just a short walk away or outside the Nusa Dua Complex, to suite all budgets.
Having thought a long time about our stay, I cannot think of anything bad to say about this property orl if there were any improvements I would make. So it just goes to say a big thank you the the Laguna for a perfect week.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
212 hotel reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
443 helpful votes 443 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

First of all, it's the standard Nusa Dua hotel. Amazing gardens, beautiful beach, good rooms, polite staff and lots of food. And - as always in this part of the island - tides, tides and tides. You can swim only two or three times a day when the water comes up. Then it goes away and you can walk like a Jesus through the waves.
Then, I really dislike this feeling of being surrounded by security. They are everywhere - under every tree, under every palm and in places you really could not imagine. If you're a honeymooner - this really gets you pissed off, cause you can't find a place to be alone with your lover.
So. it's a good place to stay for 2-3 nights on your Bali trip, but I strongly recommend you to book another 2-3 nights in Jimbaran & Candidasa - then you will see all the best of Bali.

  • Liked — staff, food, grounds
  • Disliked — security
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

Positives:
1. Clean Rooms
2. Very polite staff
3. Good beach
4. Good food
5. Lots of security
6. Option to use your starpoints for everything
7. Good drinks

Negatives:
1. The flight (for us was 20 hours from the states)
2. People there were a bit to themselves for what we prefer
3. So much security made us feel a bit uneasy (all the time)
4. Really expensive food by our standards
5. Their adapters fried both my hair dryer and iron
6. Horrible exchange rate for starpoints
7. Didn't feel like anyone was ever ordering drinks - like ever (which is what we like to do on vacation)-seemed strange.
8. Didn't feel safe to venture out.
9. Denpasar Airport customs is terrible - A young gentleman passed out in front of us while waiting for 2 1/2 hours due to the heat.

All in all, it was a great experience but would not go back - we have a no repeat policy - AND I am not sure I would if we didn't have our policy.

If you are looking for nothing but laying on a beach or next to a pool, this is the place for you. Although, as I said, I felt like there was such a sense of concern for security. Just used to a different feel for a resort I guess.

Feel free to contact me. I will be honest. We are actually not that picky of people but thought what we paid for flight, room and food was quite high considering our 'negatives'.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

Hi everyone! Just doing another review on Laguna. We had an even better time this time! We were upgraded to a Lagoon Access Studio Room which is the best. The service was the best and we were remembered by the Staff and given the Royal Treatment! It was so relaxing to go to a place just to relax and know all the in's and out's. The staff are taken to other places and they look at how others work and if they see someone doing it better they adopt the same - very impressive. We are off to Dubai in Feb for our next trip but we will be back to the Laguna as well next year for the best relaxation and chill out! Have new photos of the room (I like the candid traveller shots to see what the hotels are really like) which I will post soon.
Bye for now!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

We booked a deluxe room and as a Starwood preferred member our room was “upgraded” to the Starwood floor. This upgrade just seemed to comprise of chocolates on arrival and a bath full of petals, as the room size was no different. Our room was clean and had plenty of space (and the wardrobe was the first I’ve ever had that had enough hangers!) – Although the balcony was tiny. The landscaping is definitely the key to the Laguna’s charm, the pools and gardening that wander through the whole complex are really delightful and there are at least three “snack bars” dotted amongst them. Equally the staff were extremely warm, kind and always helpful - from the bar guys to the cleaning staff. We had particularly good service from the Concierge (Gusti), the driver (Putu) and the Musicians at the Sand Bar.

There was a complimentary afternoon tea and also a shuttle to the “mall” nearby. The spa though was really exceptional, it might have cost more than others on offer outside the hotel but the treatments were top notch and the facilities superb. The staff were knowledgeable and each treatment was fantastic – we had one every other day! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

The Laguna has a bit of a personality crisis – its set with all the other big hotels (Westin, Melia etc) in Nusa Dua but is smaller and lacks buzz in the common spaces. This is great when you want to just chill out and laze by the pool or beach but it means that the restaurants are often deserted, apart from at breakfast where it can be a bun fight – we opted for room service thereafter. There seemed to be lots of people passing through on “tours” and only staying 2-3 days maybe that’s why the breakfast room was so busy.

The places to eat within walking distance of the hotel are adequate but are also in hotels, unless you go to the mall – where we didn’t think the restaurants looked great. We asked the concierge about eating and thereafter we discovered some “life” and wonderful food – everyone should eat at Bumbu Bali if they are staying in Nusa Dua and also go to Jimbaran Bay to eat in a Warang.

We had a fantastic time at the Laguna and loved the beach it was just a bit too quiet in the evenings and if we had just stayed in the hotel we wouldn’t have know how amazing Bali really is. We also stayed in Ubud which was very worthwhile and highly recommended.

Top tips – don’t spend all your time in Nusa Dua. If you want to really understand and see Bali, make sure you get out of Nusa Dua and try to stay in Ubud or somewhere away from the south of the Island. Don’t eat in the hotel restaurants get out to Tanjung Benoa and eat

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.