We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Indonesian dance entertainment ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devdan Show

Devdan Show
Komplek BTDC | Bali Nusa Dua Theatre, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
+62 623 61770197
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Devdan Show like an insider
$85*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Winner of Indonesia Leading Tourism Show - ITTA 2014/15. Experience Sacred Bali, Exotic Papua, Mystical Borneo and many more. Dazzling mix of dancing, acrobatics, costumes & illusions with Captivating sound, lighting & special effects. Modern and air conditioned theatre, great for families entertainment. Located within shopping and restaurant area, and 5 minutes walking distances from 5 star hotel complex Nusa Dua.
Leiden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“True Indonesian dance entertainment ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We went in a Wednesday night. To our surprise less than 20% of the seats were occupied. The show deserves so much better. It's authentic, original and of very high quality. Most of the dancers are involved in all the sets. This means that they are on stage for almost 90 min straight. Very impressive choreos.


So great show. Worth the $ we paid. All my wife and I could talk about on the way home was that this great show deserved better than the empty theater. Where is this going wrong? Bad marketing? Competition for in-hotel shows? It cannot be too expensive for all the tourist paying top dollar to stay at exclusive resorts at Nusa Dua.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devdan S, Public Relations Manager at Devdan Show, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Kanamori12,

Thank you for such kind words. Our theatre is not always full, you are right.
It's probably the fact that learning about culture is not something hip, especially in Bali.
Of course many of them out there haven't realized yet that Devdan is an educative show presented in a fun-colorful way. We need the support from people like you to spread the word to the world :)

Look forward to seeing you again in the theatre! And once again, thank you.

Regards,
Devdan Show Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    115
    35
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Powerful show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Fantastic colourful, powerful, cultural show that entertains throughout the 90 minutes and still leaves you time to go out afterwards.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devdan S, Public Relations Manager at Devdan Show, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Ken,

Thank you for the compliment! It was a pleasure to have you here.
We'd really appreciate if you could spread the word to your friends, so they get to experience the beauty of Indonesia too! :)

Look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Devdan Show Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great cultural experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Few cultural experiences in Bali, Indonesia can boast delivering their audience around some of Indonesia’s most famous islands in a mere 90 minutes, but Devdan can!

The first class set provides a dynamic backdrop for the show stopping dancers. The set commands a special mention, with intriguing backdrops, a full indoor river, and advanced sound and lighting effects which all combine to transport you around Indonesia. The choreography demonstrates the skill and dedication of all the dancers and is a great way to show off the eclectic nature of Indonesia’s varying cultures throughout the archipelago. All the dancers are refreshing and demonstrate a high level of talent in their abilities to act and dance.

We had a wonderful night and the interaction from the actors with the crowd was a great touch to make every visitor feel a part of the show. Overall, we believe the Devdan show is a definite must-see in Bali as it is a cultural show which keeps you entertained for over 90 minutes and leaves you with a desire to learn more about Indonesia’s vibrant and eclectic culture of dance. We highly recommend the show to all visitors to Bali as this show is a must-see on our list!

For more photos, please check out our travel blog:
http://www.wanderlustchronicles.com.au/#!Devdan-Show-Treasure-of-the-Archipelago/c1ljw/5C673FE0-5B72-49F7-B286-C92B73E9ED2D

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devdan S, Public Relations Manager at Devdan Show, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Wanderlust,

We are delightful to know that you enjoyed the show. You even noticed the details of the stage effects! Really appreciate it.

Moreover, you wrote about us on your blog, it's a very well written one! We can't thank you enough for that. Looking forward to meeting you again in the future.

Regards,
Devdan Show Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
619 reviews 619 reviews
394 attraction reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
458 helpful votes 458 helpful votes
“Dance journey through the islands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We thought this was pretty good. Told a story of the culture and history of Bali and some of the neighbouring countries and islands. Each culture has its own style of dancing and I thought it was done well - especially the costumes with the stage lighting. There were some slow bits but on the whole we thought it was good. We knew very little of the other countries and their culture so we were entertained and learnt something. Worth a visit if you have couple of hours free.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is a pretty nice entertaining show will visiting Bali. They give you a "tour" of Indonesia and demonstrate a variety of dances from the may different micro-cultures of Indonesia. The "story" was a little bit irritating with the children providing a treasure hunt. The dancers were very good and overall the show was good.

There is a combination of dance, acrobatics, and water acrobatics. We sat in the front row and had a great view with a small chance of getting wet.

Location of the show is in a very nice complex within Nusa Dua.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devdan Show also viewed

Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Devdan Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devdan Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.