We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality but at a price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suku at Conrad Bali

Suku at Conrad Bali
Jalan Pratama 168 | Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
+62361778788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 101 restaurants in Nusa Dua
Price range: $5 - $45
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Balinese cuisine, Asian flavours SUKU offers inspirational cuisine using Balinese, Indonesian and Asian flavours. Located in a semi al fresco setting in the heart of the resort with sweeping panoramic views of the Indian Ocean. Nightly themed entertainment offers a distinctive combination of modern beats and traditional Balinese dance performances. Open daily 6.00am to 11pm.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good quality but at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Quality of food is high, but the cost is a bit to much compared to what's is available elsewhere.

The bali buffet was good, and more reasonable in terms of variety and price

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradBaliManager, Director of Food & Beverage and Culinary Operations at Suku at Conrad Bali, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Michael D,

We appreciate you letting us know your thoughts about your dining experience at Suku restaurant. Our culinary team keeps on implementing new menus and ingredients to enhance our offering in the resort and consequently reflect the most competitive prices. Thank you for dining with us and looking forward to welcoming you back for another culinary journey at Conrad Bali.

Kind Regards,
David Laval
Director of Food & Beverage and Culinary Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    10
    10
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Open air dining with good quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Tried the Balinese buffet; had a good spread of babi guling (roast pig), beef redang, curry and lots of local dessert. The food quality is fresh but I must admit that I am not a fan of Balinese cooking. This is a open air dining and with the constant sea breeze, it is actually really pleasant. However, you get a constant stream of insects coming your way! There is also a traditional dance that night that lasted from 1/2 hr from 730pm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradBaliManager, Director of Food & Beverage and Culinary Operations at Suku at Conrad Bali, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Wolfverine,

Thank you for your kind comments about Suku restaurant at Conrad Bali. As you have mentioned well, the resort’s open areas and lush vegetation are one of the most popular features of our property but do, needless to say, leave us exposed to the natural surroundings, including the insects found around the resort. Although very thorough pest control is undertaken to maintain the comfort of all of our guests, it sometimes remains impossible to exhaust every area of the resort over such an expanse of land. We are nevertheless sorry for the inconvenience you encountered. In addition, guests could also request mosquito repellants from our staff for the convenience.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you back for another culinary journey at Conrad Bali.

Kind Regards,
David Laval
Director of Food & Beverage and Culinary Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusa Dua, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice food and clean place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had lunch meeting here and the food is amazing.....Very cozy and relaxing restaurant overlooking the pool. Quite expensive though

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great Indonesian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

this is the first time in bali that i tried indonesian food and was very good. i enjoyed my meal very much. I Recomend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradBaliManager, Director of Food & Beverage and Culinary Operations at Suku at Conrad Bali, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Andy S,

Thank you for sharing your culinary journey with the Tripadvisor community. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the authenticity and quality of food served at Suku. I hope you will dine with us again soon, to experience another culinary journey at Conrad Bali.

Kind Regards,
David Laval
Director of Food & Beverage and Culinary Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Overpriced, no air condition and angry mosquitoes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This restaurant is located in the Conrad hotel building (at Bali, Indonesia) at the same floor as the pool area. There is really nothing wrong with the food at all but what I find disappointing is that the price for the food (and experience) is too high compared to what you get (my motto is: value for money) and the ambience could be better. I mean think about it, Bali where the temperature is more than 32-36 degrees Celsius in the shadow during the day time and maybe arround 31-32 degrees in the evening and you have only two choices: sit under the roof with mosquitoes or sit outside with the mosquitoes. There is really not any difference which I personally think is a big mistake. If the guests have spent the whole day in the sun maybe it would be desirable to have an option with aircondition and where you can keep the angry mosquitoes on the outside. The service is good and the staff is very kind, If we had the same restaurant staff in Sweden that would be fantastic - The Balinese people are hard working, kind, awake, polite...so many thanks to the staff who did their very best.

A recommendation is to choose the Eight Degrees South restaurant or the RIN (which is located in the Conrad Bali hotel building as well).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suku at Conrad Bali also viewed

Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Suku at Conrad Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suku at Conrad Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.