We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Luxurious Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa to your Saves list
Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JL.Melasti II No 88, Kutuh Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Luxurious Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa is absolutely fantastic.The service is top class. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Eating in is very reasonably priced. The location was great with free shuttles to and from the beach. There is a shuttle to and from Kuta and the Retreat is an ideal place to retreat to away from the noise and chaos of Kuta. We were picked up from the airport and also taken back. I would highly recommend the Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa and plan on going back again next year. It was truly a magical experience.
Colleen - Perth Western Australia

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    10
    1
    13
See reviews for
4
50
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I bought a deal on Groupon. I bought a separate flight. I tried to confirm and reconfirm with the hotel staff my reservation, and i left to Bali. During the stopover in Seoul i received an email that reservation was cancelled due to missing payment from tour operator. I spoke with staff at the hotel and they told me that I could have paid again the stay. And no other words.
I felt really uncomfortable and tried to speak with the manager. But they were strict on it. If i wanted to stay, i had to pay again.
I know it was a fault of the tour operator, but i called them several times, and at least i sent emails and what'sup messenger messages in order to confirm and reconfirm and reconfirm several times that everything was right.
Sorry, you could have told me before that there were such problems.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

For those who want to relax, chill and do no shopping, drinking or surfing.. This is a perfect getaway for you. We got the villa from the groupon deal. I must admit that the experience with Villa Indonesia is crap. They are totally not professional, slow in their reply, each and every staffs promise different things to you when they cannot even be sure they can deliver that. But I am glad, everything turn out well & we manage to get the date we wanted for the vacation. The villa is an hour drive from Kuta, no restaurant nearby. But there is a bus shuttle provided to the nearest shopping mall at fixed timing everyday.

The staff is very helpful at the reception to arrange for our driver for the 1-day tour, especially when the person-in-charge (Villa Indonesia personnel) is not contactable at all. Buggy is provided to send us to our villa. Villa wise, we got the one without the sun roof. There are 3 types of villa, FYI. The villa is huge. Pool is rather clean and there is a water dispenser in the villa itself. There is nothing to fault about the villa. Rental of DVDs is available at the reception.

We arranged for our dinner & breakfast to be served in our villa. The staff arrived on the dot at the timing we arranged earlier at the reception. This is unlike the other villas we visited when we need to call at least twice before our food arrived.

All-in-all, it has been a pleasant stay at the Villa.

Room Tip: I prefer the villa without a sunroof, looks cosier and the water in the pool looks cleaner as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we were really expecting the worst for our stay here. Upon arrival though we were pleasantly suprised with the property. While we were disappointed that we didn't get an upstairs pool area, the villas were huge, and generally well maintained. Our villa was clean however in need of some general maintenance, and the pool while not spotless as you would expect for a 5 star resort, was clean enough to swim in. We didn't put our heads under though. The breakfast was ok, but again not what you would expect for a 5 star resort, and by the 5th day you are well and truly over the selection on offer. The included dinner was also average, and the one day tour was again not what we expected. We got a driver who didn't speak english and so a tour guide accompanied us. It wasn't the day we had planned but more of a tour of the island, taking us to the typical touristy areas, and places where they received commission. They were also running over half an hour late and we were told we needed to be back by 6pm despite starting at 10. The shuttle buses were good however the bus into Kuta could be improved as there are only 2, one at 9.30am and another at 2pm with no pick-up. There is also a limit to the number of people that can fit in the shuttle (7) so if it fills up, you'll have to find your own way as they don't offer a second shuttle. Cabs were however easy to get and once we had learned our way back it was easy to explain to the cab drivers, as well as showing them the map on the back of the business card. The beach down the road is also nothing to write home about.
The 2 hour spa package was AMAZING, one of the best massages we have ever had. The beds in the room were also super comfy!

If you are after a quiet place to stay, then this place is ok, but very far from everything, and not the 5 star resort it claims to be. I would say more of a 3.5 star.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland. Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

After having read some of the mixed reviews, I must say that I checked in fully prepared to leave and go the Courtyard by Marriott in Nusa Dua if some of the reviews proved to materialise - but I must say that we were very pleasantly surprised. We stayed 24th March for 4 nights. The Retreat is located about 15 minutes from Nusa Dua, literally in the middle of nowhere, but hey...I'm sure that's what a RETREAT is all about. They have a free shuttle service to Nusa Dua and Kuta if the times suit you, but cabs are but a phone call away and a taxi is only about $4 on the meter into Nusa Dua anytime you like. Just allow 15 minutes for them to arrive.
We were using a 4 night 'Spreets' deal from the net and the check in was reasonable quick & easy and we were duly whisked away to our Villa (No. 115) in a golf buggy. Our first impression of the Villa was ...............WOW! We had a full Kitchen and were told we could cook our own meals if we liked (yeah right...I'm on holidays!), a dining table, living room with big screen TV and DVD, a beautiful bedroom with a King bed and it was decorated with a love heart marked out in petals on the bedspread. The bedroom of course had a big screen TV as well. The Ensuite was huge, complete with a rainhead shower and big tiled bath. Over the bath was another big TV making 3 in total. Marble floors throughout looked beautiful. The Villa is designed around your own private pool, and I mean pool....not just a small plunge type. Upstairs we had our own rooftop deck - huge, with day bed, outdoor setting, sunlounges and a BBQ. The staff were wonderful, the spa was great and the restuarant was more than acceptable although breakfast was a little unusual in that you have to fill out a form with the supplied pencil and tick off what you wanted to order - bit like filling in the meal form on an airline. You had the impression that you had the place all to your self, as we probably only saw half a dozen other guests during our stay. We had breakfast on our own a couple of times in the restuarant and whilst we only had dinner there one night, there was only one other couple in the restuarant. I don't know what their occupancy rate was? The bar above Reception was deserted each time I went by.
OK, sounds great so far, so where is the poor execution you ask?
The complex has an unusal paving system laid around it which consisted of hollow concrete pavers filled with soil and grass grown on top. Many of these are not filled properly and walking around the place was difficult for someone with smaller feet (like the wife) and she was constantly scared of spraining an ankle as she slipped into the holes. Our Villas construction could only be descibed as poor - the front glass panel next to the front door had a huge crack in it, the ceilings had numerous water stains obviously from the deck above leaking, the Kitchen we were to cook in, had no pots / pans / utensils whatsoever - in fact there was no gas connection to the cooktop at all - the hose was just laying in the cupboard. There is water penetration in the walls of the Kitchen with bubbling in the wall, the Kitchen cupboard doors don't line up (not even close), there is an electrical cable tacked along the skirting in the kitchen and it goes under the drawers with no conduit protection at all - only a matter of time before someone gets electrocuted. The kitchen sink is not clipped in - it just sits in the hole, held in place by the tap. The vanity unit in the bathroom was so low, that I brushed my teeth whilst on my knees. The pool has three little waterfall features, one of which had fallen off and the other two didn't work. The pool filter ran 24/7 and was sucking air and blowing it into the pool making a noise. The rooftop deck has loose and cracked tiles all over the place. The resort is promoted as new, staff say maybe 2 years, but the overall impression you get looking at the exterior, is that it is 10 years old, and that it is in need of repainting. If you touch an external wall with your hand, the white paint comes off on your hand - bit like leaning on a blackboard with chalk all over it. The breakfast ordering system is unusual, the gym doesn't open till 9am and a Bintang beer costs an astounding 50,000Rp - double the cost of any restuarant in Nusa Dua or any other bar / resort that I have stayed in in Bali - and I've been in a few!
So they are the facts.
Would I stay there again? Well, if I had a Spreets deal again...............absolutely, it was great value for the money - but if I had to stay there at full rate, I seriouly doubt it. The Westin or Marriott to my way of thinking would represent far better value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Seems that I'm not the only couple who have encountered the voucher/offer problem. Villas Indonesia is currently out-of-business and a warning to whoever that had booked accomodation with them through a 3rd party agent/company, please confirm with Nusa Dua whether your stay has been confirmed and sort out with your 3rd party owner.

Arrived at the Villa late evening and I gotta say that the Villa wasn't in the heart of shopping areas as the location was outskirt of Nusa Dua; it was our plan to stay in a quiet and comfortable lodging in the first place and we've gotten what we want. Part of my package comes with a chauffeur that drives us around for 1 day; what else can we ask for?

Being first time in Bali, was feeling quite assured (you heard so much about terrorist acitivities) that they have a 24 hours security team (control centre is at the gate) guarding the Villa, and screening through our cars when we arrived.

Clean, elegant lobby with the receptionist greeted us warmly and we were check-in to the Villa in no-time. Was ferried to our Villa on a golf cart by a friendly staff and he walked us round our Villa.

Was quite amazed by the size and cleaniness of the Villa. It was huge and it comes with a well-lighted pool which sets up the atmosphere of the Villa. The sun deck was lovely as it provides a wonderful night view of the sky with us lying comfortably on the sun-tan benches & mini-pavilion bed.

Overall stay was really good and it's seriously a good retreat for us. We are glad that Mr Henry and his team were really friendly and helpful. It would have been perfect if the Internet is up and running.

Final tip to potential Bali travelers: Google Nyepi aka Silent Day before confirming your stay. We were confined within our Villa for 1 whole day due to this event. Disappointed - Yes, but it's a life-time experience to see ogoh-ogoh across the whole of Bali.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We had some troubles with another booking agent but nonetheless the staff was very accommodating and made our travels that much more enjoyable. The location is further off the busy streets. If you don't like the bustling of cars honking and bikes zooming pass, you would enjoy this place. Its near Pandewa beach and a real welcoming retreat. The villas are beautiful. Its really big and spacious and has a nice private pool and sun deck to enjoy. Its like staying in a big house/ a holiday home. Food is nice and staff are ready to help. Me and my wife welcome the greens around. The spa was also really relaxing and a nice treat to a tiring day.

Jimmy really helped us out. Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for any honeymoon package because they have a better rate than getting your own spa and food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDRT, Ecommerce at Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Hi Tien Ming,

Warmest Greetings from Nusa Dua Retreat Boutique Villa Resort and Spa ...

We are very pleased to know that you are happy when you stay at Nusa Dua Retreat.
Thank you for choosing Nusa Dua Retreat as your holiday destination and hope we can serve you better in future.

P.S : Jamie also said thank you for your nice cooperation

Best Regards,
Nusa Dua Retreat Boutique Villa Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa

Address: JL.Melasti II No 88, Kutuh Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#29 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nusa Dua Retreat Boutique Villa resort and Spa offers one-bedroom pool villas, extra large one-bedroom deluxe pool villas and a three-bedroom deluxe pool villa. Each villa has a living room, kitchen, roomy air-conditioned en suite bathroom and a large private pool. The pool villas also offer a rooftop sundeck ideal for soaking in Bali's tropical sunshine. A restaurant, private beach club, resort center pool and spa round up the retreat's complete range of facilities. Located in the charming hillside country of the Bukit Peninsula above the world class resort destination of Nusa Dua, the Nusa Dua Retreat affords views over the Indian Ocean ad features its own private beach club on the nearby secluded Kutuh Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nusa Dua Retreat Hotel Nusa Dua
Nusa Dua Retreat And Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.