We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious villas for couples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa to your Saves list
Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JL.Melasti II No 88, Kutuh Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Luxurious villas for couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I recently stayed at Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa villas with a friend I haven't caught up with for a while. The villas were magnificent, at least as good as all the photos and the inclusions topped off the holiday. Although the property is a short drive to the main Nusa Dua area, the free shuttle was convenient, and in fact I think the remote location made the holiday more enjoyable.

There were a few hickups with the booking, but the staff managed to sort it out with minimal fuss.

The villas are really set up for couples and honeymooners and are very private. The pool and upstairs sun deck area are to die for. You wouldn't even know anyone else was staying there until you stepped out of the front door. If you are after luxury and privacy, this is the place to stay. If you want to party, stay in Kuta!!! Spa is fantastic and also setup for couples. Restaurant had nice food, but limited menu and minimal alcohol, so ate out a lot of the time.

Bali definately exceeded my expectations in almost every way.

Will be back with my husband.....

Marg (Queensland Tourist)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    10
    1
    13
See reviews for
4
50
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My girlfriend and I just spent fours days at the resort. Really can't knock the accommodation it was great value for money as we got a 4 night package through spreets for $570.
The spa treatment was first class and great service but other then that the rest was pretty ordinary especially when it came to room service and service at the restaurant. They really had no idea on how to provide quality service for example:
* would not provide salt and pepper with meals
* served cold tea without milk
* food that should have been hot was served cold
* wouldn't return to the villa to collect breakfast dishes till late in the afternoon
* had to ask daily for our villa to be cleaned
* the villa has cooking facilities but no cooking utensils
* there was an earth quake during our stay which sent shockwaves through the whole resort no one called or came to our villa to check if we were alright
* very hard to communicate with the staff 99% of them had little or no english
* the resort is 15 to 20 min drive to Nusa Dua there is a shuttle service but the timetable is not user friendly
* the menu is very limited we had dinner every night down at Bali connection which meant we had to either take the 4:00pm or the 7:00pm shuttle!
I could go on but I'm sure you have the jif by now, if you are looking for a very private and sucluded holiday just lying by the pool in the middle of nowhere then this it the place for you but I would be going on package deal and not paying their standard price of $350 a night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Located on a hill far from the bustling towns, this villa was really about exclusivity.

The service provided is warm, friendly and highly dedicated. They will see to your requests whatever it is, without judgement or condescension. The staff are always wearing a broad smile throughout.

Villa was of course beautiful, with the private pool being a personal favourite. Took a quick dip whenever (and however) I wanted. Every room was spacious, with a big-screen TV located in all of them. Bed was very comfortable, providing excellent sleep everyday.

Location is secluded, so quiet was a privilege enjoyed everyday. A private charter is provided to tour surrounding areas, but travelling time is pretty long, considering that we're located almost nowhere.

Massage in the spa was excellent. Fell asleep and even snored during part of the session. Ended it with a couple shower and soak in a tub.

Overall, great experience.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for anything. Really...don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with my trip completely arranged by Villas Indonesia at this hotel. Definitely recommend this for any couples who wish to have a very sweet and romantic time together - virtually everything in the villa is conceptualized with couples in mind! The service level provided by the staff was awesome and definitely made our stay better - they always placed you first and would do everything possible to accommodate to your needs and make your stay a better one. For example, we went for a Spa and ordered room service for after the session. When it ended, the staff offered to arrange for the food to be delivered immediately instead of having to wait till the time that we had originally specified.

The one bedroom villa we stayed in is very spacious, luxurious, quiet and peaceful. It is about 20-25 minutes from the airport and isn't very close to the city (20-25 minutes). Upon checkin, the staff had buggies to ferry guests between the main receiption and the villas. These buggies can be called upon anytime to ferry you between your villa to the reception/spa/restaurant. The staff will also be more than happy to arrange for a trip to Bali Connection (30 minutes drive) and the nearby Beach for free - as well as pick you up at your desired timing.

Breakfast selection was made upon checkin and you have the choice of having it at the restaurant or the villa (at a fee). Breakfast was great and very nice for the two days we stayed there. There were five or six selections available (American, continenal, asian, etc) for breakfast as well as tea and fruit juice.

When we entered the villa, the staff went through every single facility available in the hotel with us. There's a 42" LCD TV and a DVD player in the living room. DVDs can be borrowed from the receiptionist if you want (though we didn't ask for the selection). A honeymoon cake prepared in the fridge (very creamy) and fruits are available FOC.

The kitchen was equipped with all cooking facilities, toasters - so you could do your own cooking there if you wish to. There is also wine cooler for us to use.

The bedroom was fitted with a king-sized bed and another 42" LCD TV/DVD Player. Two wardrobes (with safes) and a make-up desk were provided. There is a bag provided in the wardrobe by the villa for beach usage. The bed and pillows provided are comfortable. On my first day, they had placed flower petals on the bed forming the words "I (heart) You".

Bathroom is really huge and nicely decorated. The shower is extremely oversized (see pictures). Bathtub was sized large enough for a couple to fit in. Common bathroom amenities were all provided too. Amazingly, there's a LCD TV provided in the bathroom!

The roof is equipped with a BBQ grill, bed and two seats - though the latter two were pretty damp so it wasn't exactly comfortable to rest on. The pool is pretty deep. We are about 1.65m tall and needed to tiptoe to keep our heads above the water.

Channel selection on the TV is pretty good. WiFi is provided FOC in the villas too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here for the first two nights of our honeymoon. Villa was fantastic, own pool and massive sun terrace. A real touch of luxury complete with afternnon tea served in the villa and a complimentary head and shoulder massage. aArived quite late , just in time to get something to eat. Food was good as was breakfast although so few people staying there was not much atmosphere.All the staff were very friendly. It is in the middle of nowhere but the reception staff were more than willing to arrange taxi for an evening out. Lovely for a few days but isolation might get to you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Simply the Nusa Dua Retreat is quite out some way from the city its about a 25-30minute drive from the airport but this was what was special you get to experience and see the Balinese villages and people outside of the city.

Just 5 minutes away you find a stunning little hidden gem of a beach very empty unlike the other beaches in Bali (this wont be for long if word gets out) they are currently putting in statues in the cliff and as a guest of Nusa Dua Retreat you have easy access as the driver will take you to Kutuh beach and take you back at your desired timing. Food & Beer by the beach is very cheap with very friendly staff.

The one bedroom villa was very spacious and had a four post bed with custom king sized bed facing your own private pool, bathroom has marble bathtub enough for a couple, along with his and hers basins, rainmaker shower inside and outside a rainmaker shower for the pool area along with the usual flatscreen LCDs both in living room and bedroom.

The staff was possibly one of the reasons we loved our stay that much more, they always greeted you with a smile and ever helpful with any issues you may encounter.

Can't wait for the 3 bedroom villas to be completed, expected around 1-2months time, would recommend highly and we hope to take advantage of the deluxe villa with 2 floors next time round.

Highly recommended! Oh yes free Wi-fi for those who can't be without their internet ;)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011 via mobile

Great service and attention. The rooms were spotless and made frequently. We were not thrilled with the beach which is a two minute drive from the resort, via free shuttle, it was not a tourist beach. Nusa dua retreat is 15 minites away from nusa dua, and uluwatu. We enjoyed the isolation, and there is also a free shuttle to nusa dua and pick up upon request. ("shuttle bus" was a nice new people mover.) the rooms were spacious, well kept and had every creature comfort necessary, the room had a roof top day bed and pool, which was quite large, and were fantastic. 
Service was highly attentive. We asked questions regarding tourist spots etc, they were a big help.
The hotel was still under construction, and other then Noice which you could only hear from the roof top, did not concern us. 
A few more positives- this area is quiet, which was a great relaxing way for my partner and I to start our holiday. Especially given that we were soon traveling to seminyak. There was no traffic on the way to nusa dua or ulu's
-there was a nice surf spot only a few minutes away at Bali cliff(wet season break) which was a right. A break at kutuh beach on the east side which was a left, and Of course nusa dua which is a right. All wet season breaks.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa

Address: JL.Melasti II No 88, Kutuh Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#29 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nusa Dua Retreat Boutique Villa resort and Spa offers one-bedroom pool villas, extra large one-bedroom deluxe pool villas and a three-bedroom deluxe pool villa. Each villa has a living room, kitchen, roomy air-conditioned en suite bathroom and a large private pool. The pool villas also offer a rooftop sundeck ideal for soaking in Bali's tropical sunshine. A restaurant, private beach club, resort center pool and spa round up the retreat's complete range of facilities. Located in the charming hillside country of the Bukit Peninsula above the world class resort destination of Nusa Dua, the Nusa Dua Retreat affords views over the Indian Ocean ad features its own private beach club on the nearby secluded Kutuh Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nusa Dua Retreat Hotel Nusa Dua
Nusa Dua Retreat And Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.