We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Garden Cafe

Green Garden Cafe
Jl. Wana Segara (also known as Jalan Jenggala) | in front of Holiday Inn Baruna, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 761023
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 466 Restaurants in Kuta
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, Family Fare, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in Aston Kuta for a few days n had tried some dinner from different places around and this in the best restaurant that provide lovely meals and very cheap. The service was quick and the waiter was very friendly. Definitely will come back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    55
    17
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Satay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in the Holiday Inn, across the road, but decided to dine here one night after reading the reviews on here. The restaurant is located on the 1st floor and has a lovely ambience due to the lighting and the "wooden tree house feel".
We arrived early (around 6ish) as we had hungry kids with us and ordered 6 chicken satays (there were 7 of us in our group). This seemed to cause problems for the kitchen as only 4 out of the 6 came out at the same time with the last 2 only coming out after we had finished our meals. The satay was delicious and came out on a little charcoal burner (very cute).
There was a table of about 8 who ordered just after us who were told they were out of satay and to order something else. I'm not sure if this was a one off or whether you need to arrive early in order to get the satay (for which a lot of people seem to go for).
It was good value but we were disappointed that food came out at different times.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Really nice cafe style restaurant like a tree house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

On first floor and resembles being in a tree house. Great service and good food. Sometimes neck and head massage if lucky. Good breakfasts. Price average. Little out of the way but very nice. Nothing amazing but we liked it and went a number of times. Even offered us free baggage storage on our last day even though we didn't stay there. Satay brilliant on sizzling holder. Nice fresh juices. Overlooking pool with waterfall. Good spa.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been here many, many times - we love the satay and the atmosphere but tonight whilst the satay was still good the atmosphere was really poor (this place is normally heaving with people) and there were NO spirits on sale - what the???? The regular girls offering the quick neck and shoulder massage were also nowhere to be found Not sure we'll be going back

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenbali, General Manager at Green Garden Cafe, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Ceri

Thanks for your numerous visits to the Green Garden Cafe. Your response detailing your dining experience on the 13th was also noted with many thanks.

Indeed, it was such unfortunate that we ran out of Scotch from late afternoon that day and our supplier was only able to deliver new stock in the following morning. I wonder if you asked your waiter for other spirit selections because they were abundantly available (both local and imported brands), e.g. Gins, Vodkas, Bourbons, Bacardi, rums, Bayley's, etc.

The spa girls were apparently unavailable to stand by at the restaurant for free massage sampling that evening because the spa was busy with group bookings during your dinner visit on the 13th.

On your earlier visits when you found spa girls standing by at the restaurant, they must not have taken any clients at the time. To help the girls to get new clients, the restaurant allows them to "hunt" by providing free sampling to restaurant patrons while they are waiting for their orders to come. Hence, the spa girls are not always available for free sampling at all times.

On behalf of the restaurant and spa teams, I hope you will still visit Green Garden Resort for dining and spa relaxation on your future holidays in Bali.

With this opportunity, I'd like to announce that the resort will undergo a major renovation as from October 2013 and will have a new branding with fresh & stylish design by mid 2015. Hence we will be closed for 1 1/2 years for the renovation.

Hoping to serve you & your husband again in 2015.

Kindest regards,

Paulus & all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Satay at great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I dropped by Green Garden (next door to our hotel) for dinner and had a nice meal at a good price.

We started with some non-alcoholic drinks (my wife had iced coffee which was with milk and blended and she thought was great, I had pineapple juice which was freshly squeezed/blended and foamy on top. It was very nice as well.

We started with an order of spring rolls which were hot, fresh and tasty (with a sweet thai style dipping sauce.

For main course we both had satay. I had chicken and my wife had mixed grill. Both were excellent. The came delivered on a small charcoal grill to keep them hot and came with delicious peanut sauce and a sauce of soy sauce, shallots and spice chillis that was also very tasty. There were 10 or 11 decent sized sticks of Satay for about $6 USD. It also came with rice and some veggies. The veggies were a bit luke warm, but otherwise, the meal was great and very filling. We were too stuffed for dessert. My wife did have a Balinese coffee which was a pot of coffee with about 2.5 cups in it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Garden Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Green Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Garden Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.