We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adi Dharma Hotel

Save Saved
You added Adi Dharma Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Adi Dharma Hotel
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Jl Benesari, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 78 Specialty lodging in Kuta
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My new hubby and I have just come home from 10 days in bali staying a adi dharma we had such a wonderful time can't wait to go back. The one down side is the wifi is not all that great. When you stay make sure to get the adi dharma spa package it's amazing

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    156
    63
    14
    14
See reviews for
94
126
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had a great time at the Adi Dharma!
The staff were so helpful, and accommodating to us! Everyone was just so friendly!
The hotel is located down a quiet laneway, so you don't get the usual hassle when returning to your hotel. Keep in mind, I felt very comfortable walking down the lane, even at night.
It is a very good location, half way between Jalan Legian, and Kuta beach and just a short stroll from Poppies II.
The hotel grounds were beautifully manicured, and the pool was great, with swim-up bar & sectioned off kids-pool.
It's a great hotel for all types of travellers from famillies to couples.
Also... the brekky was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were married in the temple grounds of this hotel which was organised by the Hotel's Wedding planner. We had a simple wedding with no frills, yet we felt like royalty with the hotel providing traditional Balinese constumed escorts with ceremonial umbrellas, and the temple was decorated with flowers from heaven. The ceremony was solemnised by a Christian minister together with the required Indonesian official. Afterwards, we were taken to the beach for professional sunset photos. There were three professional photographes and 75 of the best pictures were set in an album and presented to us later, along with a disc of every one of the somewhat 800 photos taken.
Returning to our hotel, we entered our room to find the bath filled with red and white rose petals and the floor lined with them in a heart shape in the middle of the floor area. A large flower arrangement addorned the table. We are very happy and exceeded our expectations.

The hotel offers a lovely astmosphere and has that 'Old Bali' feel, with palm trees, gardens, and a pond with fish. The rooms are modern, ultra clean and the air con' is cold cold. As are most balinese, the staff are friendly and sweet ;nothing is too much trouble.

The only negative from our whole experience at this hotel, is the location. It is easy to get out of by car, but very difficult to get into. The streets are narrow and barely wide enough for one car, let alone the host of scooters and other cars trying to pass. However, it is within walking distance of Legian Street.
Despite this drawback, we will certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: My choice - First, 2nd, or 3rd floor - all have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempsey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have just spent 10 days at Adi Dharma with a friend. We found the staff to be very friendly, curteous and extremely helpful. Our room was a deluxe which was very spacious and clean with flatscreen t.v, 2 single king size beds which were very comfortable (having been to Bali on a few occasions, we found the beds were generally hard, but these beds were great). The daily cleaning of the room was thorough and efficient. The restaurant was clean with good food at reasonable prices and great service.Not a huge selection to choose from at breakfast but tasty and filling just the same and staff only too willing to provide you with something extra if possible. The gardens and pool areas are immaculately kept with happy friendly staff pottering around all day. The position of the hotel down a small laneway can at times become difficult to navigate due to motorbikes and passing cars, therefore, walking through the Adi cottages is a much better option when heading to Legian for shopping. The hotel offers a courtesy bus which makes things a little easier, which operates from 8am till 8pm dropping clients at areas around the Kuta to Legian block. We usually took the bus at 10am and went shopping and spent the day out and walked back around 2/3pm. When time came to leave, we were offered a late check out (6pm) at a cost and staff booked us transport to the airport. Overall we found Adi Dharma to be a wonderful, clean, friendly, well priced hotel to stay, and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My teenage grandaughters 14 and 13 and I (grandad) managed to check into this hotel at the last minute for one week from 7th january 2013 when we refused to stay at our previous hotel any longer because of the disgusting state of the facilities and the room we had been assigned to. See my trip advisor report "Nightmare in Kuta." Aromas of Bali Hotel.

We did not expect much, but knew anything would be better than the last place. We were pleasantly surprised, by the courtesy and help we were given by the staff on checking in at short notice. They removed the queen size bed and installed 3 single beds for us. Our room was on the second floor, and it had a lovely decent size balcony overlooking the pool area. It was a bit of a tight fit with the three of us sleeping in the same room, but it was really just a minor inconvenience. Room cleaning service was great and we also used the services of the hotel laundry which I thought was very reasonable. Although Adi Dharma hotel is in the back lots behind the Adi Dharma Cottages, we were shown the short cut through the Cottage grounds to Legian St, which made the walk short and easy. We did not feel threatened at any time walking around the small streets near the hotel including late at night. On a couple of occasions we walked into Kuta square from the hotel. There were also a couple of small 7/11 mini market shops near the hotel where we could pick up any supplies we needed. The room had a small bar fridge in it with hotel stocked drinks etc. But we just bought our own and stocked up the fridge There was also tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The pool was moderate in size compared to some of the larger resorts, but it was spotlessly clean and there was an attached childs wading pool, and a pleasant relaxing area, complete with swim up bar. They also had a free library near the pool area containing books in various languages that previous guests had left behind. I borrowed one book to read during our stay, and left behind an extra one that I had finished reading. The breakfast was quite good with a choice of western or asian type foods available, fruit juices, toast and jam and omelettes made to order if desired. We also ate a couple of times in the evening at the restaurant, which I thought was reasonably priced compared to Australlian restaurant prices. The drink prices in the hotel and the pool area are a bit pricey, compared to what you can buy them for in the mini markets.

On the morning of our checkout 14th January, my grandaughters and I were asked to come down to the restaurant. When we got there the staff brought out a surprise birthday cake complete with candles for me. It was completely unexpected and I had no idea they even knew it was my 65 th birthday, (they had obtained the information on our check in details). A very nice way to end a holiday that had started out as a potential disaster.

Overall we were very satisfied with our stay at the Adi Dharma. No, it is not a mega resort complete with exhorbitant costs, but it is certainly well worth the money if you are looking for value for money accomodation and facilities. There is some construction going on of a new hotel next door, but the noise was minimal and did not really bother us. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Carry one of the Hotel Business Cards to show taxi drivers where you are staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Adi Dharma hotel in Kuta provided excellent, friendly service, reasonable food, quaint pool and garden area and clean, if a little tired rooms.
The main bugbear of the hotel was its location in the middle of a maze of tiny, poorly surfaced, poorly lit and downright dangerous alleyways sided by small shop, bar & spa lots, small hotels, demolition sites and abandoned lots that sit in the area between the North bound, Kuta Beach front road and the South bound "happening" roads back to Kuta Beach that are full of shops, bars, restaurants and discos.
The first impression of this "urban jungle" area might be of high risk to personal security. However, the real risk is from mostly 2 way traffic on badly surfaced and potholed alleyways that are often barely wider than the wing mirrors of a small taxi and blind 90 degree corners round buildings, added to the determination of swarms of motorbike and scooter riders - some with lethal surfboard brackets hanging off one side, to force their way through any tiny gap or over any obstacle at high speed.
This makes walking to and from the hotel long and dangerous in the heat. Alternatively, taxi trips are costly as they are so slow and bone crunching as taxis crash through potholes.
The spa facilities at the hotel are excellent once you get there.
As with much of Bali currently, major construction is going on at a huge lot all down the last block of the maze of alleys to the hotel and also down one side of the hotel lot which can be noisy, causing gridlock when construction trucks try to squeeze down the tiny alleyways. Construction along the side of the hotel lot towers above the walkway to the pool-side rooms from reception and so, needs the netting erected to stop materials raining down on guests walking to their rooms.
Either the water to the bathrooms is very hard or the provided toiletries are of questionable quality or both, as it is very difficult to get a lather from them.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms back onto major building works so beware. Ground floor rooms have a small terrace o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We paid a small premium to upgrade to a delux room which was very spacious and located a reasonable distance from the pool. This is a very nice hotel and well located down a quiet laneway off the Jn Benesari in Legian. A short walk to the beach, Poppies Lane 2 and the Jn Legian. Good restaurants are close by - Totemo and Stakz both recommended. Staff at the hotel are friendly and extremely helpful. Try the Spa - I had two massages and my partner had four - they were that good. A full hour for about A$19.00. Food at the hotel was good, without being spectacular. I thought the breakfast provided good choices with a Balinese flavour. Overall, it was a good experience for an excellent price.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back, away from the pool - it can get very noisy, especially "Happy hour&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adi Dharma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adi Dharma Hotel

Address: Jl Benesari, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 78 Specialty lodging in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adi Dharma Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet enclave at the heart of Kuta in a relax atmosphere amidst well maintain tropical garden and free form of swimming pool. Shopping, dinning, entertainment and famous Kuta Beach are near. Adi Dharma Hotel is in Balinese architecture which bring you close to the magnificent culture and tradition of Bali. Rooms and other service and facilities have been renovated recently. Staffs are friendly and helpful to make your stay feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Adi Dharma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Adi Dharma
Adi Dharma Kuta
Adi Dharma Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adi Dharma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.