We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad At All” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added J Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
J Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 175 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not Bad At All”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights. Room was cosy & clean. No cleanliness issues on the room we've stayed. It's near to the airport and are walking distance to the beach. The staffs are super friendly. We don't mind staying there again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Haniwi A,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on our TripAdvisor page. We are very pleased to share your feedback to our team. I'm sure I see great smile on their face to hear your comment. It's glad to know that you appreciate the cleanliness and the friendliness of all of staffs. This, We believe our core of service beyond the facilities itself.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again!

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    108
    73
    25
    9
See reviews for
38
112
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 1 night when we arrived in Bali at 1130 pm. It is close to the airport. Rooms are clean, staff friendly, breakfast fine. Would recommend for for short stay. Will stay again if the need arises.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience when staying with us. Appreciate it much of your positive review. We have shared your comment to our operational staffs.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The pictures of the hotel will have you fooled into believing that it is a 5 Star Resort..... Not even close. I get the concept they are aiming at but they missed it. The rooms are dirty, very dusty, there was a black spot near my bed from the previous users, I cringe thinking about it. The bathroom had brown spots on the wall, I DO NOT even want to know what that was. The A/C is sooo noisy that we slept with it off.

The breakfast free is EXCELLENT and the location is great but that is all I could say about the hotel.

The shuttle to the airport is only free if you book the room on the hotel's website.
We stayed only two nights as we were too tired the first night and the second night was the last in Bali. Do not stay there unless they up the cleaning. Very dirty hotel.
Leanne, Canada

Room Tip: Do not stay there unless you see the rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Leanne P,

We received your comment through this TripAdvisor page. We value the feedback you have shared. We sincerely apologize for the uncomfortable stay due the cleanliness issue in our hotel. We immediately have discussion in our hotel for the cleanliness improvement and once again we will ask the details of our key supervisors to check thoroughly prior to our guests' stay.

We will make sure the similar incident may not occur once again. We would be happy to invite you again for the next visit, just to make sure we have a proper improvement on our service and facility.

In regards to the Airport Transfer, it is correct that we provide the service only for direct booking with us though both online of offline call reservation. We appreciate your note on the excellent breakfast choices and location of our hotel. We understood that without a balance combination of service these value will be meaningless.

We once again, thank you for your feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to J Boutique Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The lobby is very good, feels like you'll stay at 4 stars hotel, but the 3rd floor room corridor is very standard. Its like student's dorm and feels so spooky. When I walked alone in the corridor at 3am, i can heard someone walk behind follow me. I can hear the shoes step, but when i look back, no one there. The receptionist's always empty, in the morning and night..also when we got back after midnight, there's no one standby, hotel staff or security. It made us not feel safe at all. it would be better if you can do the improvement to the ambience , the bathroom, corridor, pool and the staff also. The room was okay. The jacuzzi didnt work.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sipiagun,

Thank you for your recent feedback via TripAdvisor page. We have immediately checked on our 24 hour CCTV recording as you mentioned earlier on this comment. There's only one staff on standby during night time and apparently the staff was assisting other clients at other hotel's room around 2.45a.m. on . We have shift schedule replacement by 7a.m. everyday with 2 persons in charge in the morning at Reception until late noon. However we have taken your comment for service improvement, indeed and our Rooms Division Team has internal discussion for the improvement.

Unfortunately in regards to the ambiance of the hotel, this is the design concept of the hotel. The Hotel is designed with Black and White and a bit mix of grayish color. It's would be overstepping the concept if we have to change to more lively ambiance with full color decor. Some of our guests, appreciate the simplicity of the theme, some may not and unfortunately we may not able to accommodate both.

We have security staff patrol the hotel premises including guest room corridors.Our security staff patrols two times per shift to check on hotel surrounding and the whole premises of hotel's area. Our staff will be on call served basis, should you need a companion to walk you to the room on night time if need be. This service can be delivered in most hotels, we presumed.

In regards to the Jacuzzi, the service has no longer been extended. The area of Jacuzzi is plan for renovation to be function for F&B outdoor dining outlet. We're very sorry for this inconvenience.

We hope in overall you enjoy your stay with us and we would be happy to see you again to experience another service improvement from us.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The lobby will make you think you are in a 5 star hotel but just take the elevator to the second floor. You'll feel like you are in some student dormitory. Very outdated with peeling paint and rusted shower doors. Smell of chlorine and little kids running all night long.

It is very close to the airport and walking distance to Kuta main street.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Kilativ Stamford,

Thank you for your recent comment on our TripAdvisor page. We appreciate your feedback for improvement.

We will strive to make daily improvements on peeling paints as you specifically indicated. Humidity and weather play major parts on keeping us on timely managing the improvement. However this is already on our list of working progress. Sorry to hear that you may feel like staying in student dorm, this is simply of the design themed of the hotel, whereby the Black & White and grayish color is the main color choose by the owner of the hotel.

We hope that we can excel our improvement in time, so then you and our future guests may experience more positive review.

Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good location, and staff are nice and friendly, breakfast was also fine
room is clean but has some problem with the water heater, its still ok to me due to the hot weather

Could do some improvement to refurbish cos it looks a bit old and the stuffy smell in the room is overwhelming, and lighting too

Generally it was an ok stay for me

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Dot O,

Thank you for your valuable feedback in our TripAdvisor page. We take note on your positive comments here and some points for improvement.

We have in progress setting 55% of our rooms inventory as non-smoking rooms while keeping the room with window open as smoking rooms. We also regularly check on the hot water quality daily which we hope to enable boosting the improvement of room quality as you mentioned here.

We certainly look forward to have you here again as our special guest and enjoy our improvement of quality.

Your sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I found this place very pleasant to stay. The rooms are quite small, but comfortable. They have used the available space as well as they can. You don't come to Bali to spend all day in your room. The roof top pool is excellent. Their are quite a few construction sites, just like any other major city. the breakfasts available are limited, but what they have, is done very well. I ordered food on the roof, along with Icy cold beers, and im glad I did, it was very nice. Some of the employees English can be slightly broken, they try and understand and speak English as much as they can, which I really appreciate,as I came to Bali speaking no indonisian.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay, and hopefully I do return in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Lucas Custis,

We're extremely happy to learn that you have a very pleasant stay with us. On behalf of all our staffs and the management we appreciate your positive review on our TripAdvisor's feedback page. It is indeed brings great smiles to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#47 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a simple minimalist and a lifestyle 3 star boutique hotel. Experience a modern & retro designed hotel in Black and White ambiance located just 10 minutes walk to Segara beach, Kuta beach and right next to Lippo Mall Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.