We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added J Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
J Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 177 hotels in Kuta
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Hotel is very near the airport. Quite a distance to walk to Kuta beach. Check in is fast & convenient so is check out. The pool area is gorgeous. Staff is approachable & is helpful. Would come back here again the next time I visit Bali.

Room Tip: Choose the superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Ngurah_K, Manajer Kantor Depan at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Google Translation
Dear Sahidabueberry Ms,

Terima kasih atas kesediaan anda telah meluangkan waktu tuk menulis beberapa kesan tentang hotel kami dan kami berharap bisa memberikan pelayanan yang lebih baik untuk kunjungan anda berikutnya.

Kesan dan pesan dari pengunjung sangat kami perlukan untuk dijadikan acuan sebuah perubahan ke arah yang lebih baik.

Management,

Ngurah K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    104
    73
    24
    9
See reviews for
38
109
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tiruchirappalli, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

we,as a group of friends visited Bali and we stayed at this hotel.we are very much happy about the quality of service and food.You will get a nice view of the city from rooftop,where Swimming pool is located.located close to the Airport at Kuta beach

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Periyars,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It's definitely motivate all our staff to read your comments. We will ensure this feedback is shared amongst our team.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bali!

Kind Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant Stay. We were upgrade on arrival even though we had booked the cheapest deal on agoda. Staff was very nice especially in the food and beverage outlets. Their outdoor Beer garden had questionable live music which but really entertaining and got a good laugh out of it. Food was great and reasonably priced for a hotel. Breakfast included in our room rate was delicious, great buffet and omelet station. Their roof top pool is awesome and open late, we went for a dip at almost 11:00 pm. Really close to the airport but quiet. Close by the mall and a short 15 min walk to Poppies Street. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Sophieg,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay during your visit. We definitely be happy to share your notes to all our operations team to keep up their spirit in delivering hospitable service.

We certainly look forward to welcoming back !

Kind Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballajura
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Location was great. Walking distance to everything., but this is not a resort style hotel. Has a roof pool but no shade. Rooms were clean, staff excellent. Breakfast was Ok, but the same every day. As usual it is the other noisy and thoughtless guests that spoil it for everyone.

Room Tip: Just make sure u have a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear 5678kelly,

Thank you for sharing your valuable input.

It is true that we're not a resort typed hotel as we're located right on the city center of Kuta but still close by to most tourism spots. I hope that you did not regret by choice, as our hotel type was clearly describe on our website and most our online travel partners.

Our breakfast was actually rotate everyday with 4 rotations per week. So it's not the same as mentioned. Though we offer Asian/local food as combination of 70% of our buffet breakfast but we still offer western buffet variants and hot egg station a la minute.

Once again thank you for your input and we will definitely continues to seek for service improvement and learning every guest comments with positive mindset.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again and share your valuable comments with us.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have stayed here twice now, and so far im happy. The rooms are really nice and clean, the staff are really nice and friendly. I loved the atmosphere at night time at the front beer garden and the good was really yummy! I didn't enjoy the stairs though! Having to go up and down the stairs to get to the pool and spa was a pain, I would preferred it to be on a level that you could take the elevator! Oh, the elevator.. yeah I didn't like that either seeing as I got stuck in theirs haha...ANYWAY, overall good hotel! would recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear F00dJunkie101,

Thanks for making a second trip!

Thank you so much for your recommendation. Unfortunately, we may not able to rework the given building concept with stairs... :( though alternatively you can take the elevator to up to our SKY Pool and Spa.

Glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and enjoy our food as well. The credit goes to our Operations Team definitely who has done their best to keep our customers happy.

We certainly look forward to re-welcome you back again! :)

Kind Regards,

The Managament
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Looks great from the outside and in the lobby, the rest is poor. The rooms are shabby and very very noisy, the staff is unmotivated and unfriendly, the Airport Transfer was included, but still they tried to charge us.
The bar is ridiculously expensive. I am sorry to say, but the only two positive things are the breakfast, that was amazing with loads of choices of fresh fruits, cheese, meat, muesli-things and traditional food and the hotels close distance to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Zuerihegel,

It is with our deepest regret to read your comments. Most of our guests enjoy our staff friendliness and indeed it was one of our greatest score on this TripAdvisor record. However we apologize should you find 'some' of our staffs looks demotivated and our price menu was not according to your expectations.

We did a proper price analysis prior to setting up price for our F&B items we would confidently say, the price we set truly competitive amongst our competitions unless you compare us to free standalone "Warung" or Food Stalls locals that are plenty surrounding the areas.

In regards to the Airport transfer, our service is not free of charge unless you made a direct booking on our website. the service is chargeable and this has been declared in most of our travel online/offline partners.

Glad to hear that you enjoy our breakfast quality and variety though and thank you so much for the general feedback. We will definitely look into every comments you have shared for our improvements.

Should you plan to come back again to Bali, We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bali and stay with us again!

Kind Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here at the end of February. It was an enjoyable stay, having purchased some vouchers we had some additional perks included which was great.

- Our airport transfer was late, the airport concierge had to call them for us and then they came. Was a bit scary for 2 early 20's females who had never travelled to bali before having to wait with all the drivers trying to beckon us to their cabs. Oh well, not a big deal.
- When we arrived at the hotel, we received a refreshment and then made our way to our room. It was gorgeous and the black and white made it sophisticated. Our room was cleaned daily which was lovely after a day of exploring Bali.
- The pool was beautiful but definitely quite different to a typical pool area you'd expect at a hotel. There were 3 sky beds which were gorgeous, and then on a level up from the pool a few deck chairs and sky beds once again. Most of the time we had this area to ourselves and it was gorgeous but it could really do with some shade because it just got so hot up there!! As well as this, often the music was really loud and felt more like a party area than a relaxing pool environment.
- Breakfast was great, so many both western and Balinese choices. The croissants were delicious as well as the nasi goreng.
- We unfortunately only used the Japonica Spa once but it was the best massage I've ever had. Definitely recommend.

Overall, I think this hotel is great for short stays but having stayed there for 11 nights I think I would choose somewhere with a resort-like feel. Had a great time though and the service was beautiful!

- brea

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Brea - Laura,

First thing, we're very thankful for your details point by points of feedback you shared on this forum. We truly appreciate that.

1. We sincerely apologize on the late coming on our Airport Representative to pick you up at the airport. We take this as our fault truly without excuse. It was unavoidably incident due to number of pick up service we had back then, was overloaded. We could have been able to anticipate it better. We learnt from this and promise we will do some swift improvement in the future.

2. Glad to learn that you like the concept design of our rooms and a touch of refreshment on your arrival.

3. In regards to the shade in our pool, we're currently reviewing it to add on some more shades. It's indeed an open roof SKY Pool some enjoy for sun bathing and some prefer more shades. We're sorry to hear that choices of music we played on back then was not a pleasant and relaxing to hear. We do have some choices though and some guests may request what type of music to be played.

4. Glad to learn that you enjoy our selections of breakfast... Nasi Goreng, is definitely a must have try local food as this is an everyday meal to locals.

5. We definitely happy to hear you enjoy our Japonica Spa services. It's small but we proudly deliver and very professional spa services.

Once again, you have tremendously support us a lot with your input. We couldn't have asked for more then great appreciate your feedback.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#48 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a chic, retro minimalist lifestyle designed hotel in Kuta. The Hotel consist 88 designed trendy slumbers dedicated to simply accommodate leisure and business travelers to experience Kuta, Bali. The hotel offers spa & massage treatment on site, outdoor SKYpool, Pool Bar and Jacuzzi. The hotel facilitated with complete range of Food & Beverage outlet such; J Cuvee Wine Shop & Lounge Bar, all day dining The Bellagio Restaurant, and also Live Music performance on Beer Garden & The Upper Lounge. The hotel also serves 24 hour in room service. Every guests may enjoy Free Wifi in all guests rooms and hotel areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.