We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, average place for short term (transit)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added J Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
J Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 178 Hotels in Kuta
Dili
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good, average place for short term (transit)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Near hotel, convenient with good beer garden next door, convenience store across street, close to Kuta and airport. Great for transit.

It has full amenities but it could use a freshening up. The sheets, towels, room seemed clean but the whole place could use a little maintenance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear DiliRoni,

Thank you for your recent comment on tripadvisor about our hotel's facilities and services. We learned valuable points for our improvements. Indeed we have schedule purchase for linen maintenance, which we always done it two times a year to keep the linen quality in good condition.
We are also on regular maintenance for the public areas general maintenance, to keep our hotel in good shape and ready to serve our next customers.

Thank you so much for sharing with us your input, we really appreciate it. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    109
    74
    25
    9
See reviews for
38
113
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We ended up in this hotel after we found a good deal on booking.com, but decided to leave after one night. This place is just falling apart (as is Kuta itself), it has been refurbished with crappy materials and has a very cheap look. Our room was noisy, a small bed we hardly fit in with ants walking in it, furniture supposed to be funky but falling apart and a bathroom with a nasty smell and just not clean. Upon arrival we spent some time on the roof top pool terrace, cushions in the lounge chair had a layer of black fungus on them, and the hot tub contained a lot of sand, hair and black dirt. We hardly caught any sleep the night we stayed here and left first thing in the morning. Stay away from this hotel, all it's good for is a quick drink in the bar downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear MarNL,

Thank you for submitted your feedback about our services. We're terribly sorry to hear your bad experience staying with us. We understood that we're far by perfect, but we are keen to lend our ears to listen to your feedback for your improvement.

We are using standard hotel bed 1.8 m x 2 m for our King Size Bed, so sorry if our bed doesn't suit your expectation. We have also note some points in regards to the smell in the bathroom and overall cleanliness. We will continuously seeking improvements to ensure our future guests will enjoy the stay after our improvement.

Once again thank you for staying with us, though only for one night. We certainly hope to still have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was the first time for us at this hotel. It was nice, clean, and had a very good restaurant. They are very service oriented and went out of their way to serve and please us. For the price (less than $60 US), it was an incredible deal. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Hunter C,

We read your comment with great smile over our face. The staffs here appreciate your feedback very much!...

Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you on the second stay in Kuta- Bali. Do advise us in advance should there's anything we may assist for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in J Boutique 4 nights after we came to Bali. Hotel is from the central Kuta about 20 minutes far by walk. To the airport it is only 5 minutes by taxi and you can arrange a taxi for 6 USD. I think it´s better to take hotel taxi from the airport, because taxi drivers at the airport are not really fair with the prices. Rooms are smaller, but OK, furniture is older, pool on the top is very nice with fine view to the airport, breakfast are good. We don´t have any problem during our stay, staff was nice. Hotel isn´t on our top, or some romantic, but for shorter stay it´s very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear LeandKe,

Thank you for your feedback. We have shared your recent comment to our team in operations and they are happy to learn that you had a nice stay during your visit with us. Glad to learn that you enjoy the SKYPool over the roof top. This is one of our signature outlet where our guests may enjoying swimming with 180 degree view over the Kuta - Segara area.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

As the hotel is provide the pick up service from and to airport, this is a good choice to spend a night in Bali. Located in a busy area, and actually very close to the airport, but can take more than 30 mins depending on the traffic, this service is very helpfull. Its good to arrive in the airport and see someone is waiting there with our name on their hands. I stayed in their room in the lowest floor, dominant with white color and old school design but still nice.
There was saturday night and they always have life music in the beer garden, that was nice. It just u can hear the hustle bustle in the road and car park located behind ur wall and u can see them directly from ur wide is not so nice.

Room Tip: dont choose the room in the lowest floor although its closer to the breakfast room.Hearing the horn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I'm not a fan of Kuta but this hotel is convenient and comfortable for those having to over night here. It is not the flash resort places nearby but good for a stop-over. Close to airport - as little as 5 min or 50min depending on traffic! Good rooms, good breakfast and friendly helpful staffairport

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Tav_mind,

Thank you for your recent transit visit in our hotel. Indeed our location is very close to Denpasar International Airport as well as only 500 meters to Segara Beach right behind our hotel. We're glad to know that you were happy with our services during your short visit with us.

We value your feedback and hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are so nice balconies would be nice of course not easy to change so you should let people bring their own snacks and drinks to the beautiful roof top deck and pool area! I hate it that you have to walk down that main strip and get harassed every time you go into town I know jot the hotels fault! The buffet breakfast is great really for the money a cool spot!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Jess S,

Many thanks to have chosen our hotel as your place to stay during your recent Bali Holiday. We're glad to know that you were happy staying with us. Sorry for not being able to allow bringing food and drinks from outside into our pool area, as we provide services on that area including the bar as you know.

We are sorry to hear that you feel harassed on the street in Kuta. This is rarely happened, they are indeed plenty massage sales and retail sellers try to offer you their services and products, but they will not try to make any harassment. We hope the incident will not dieter you to not to come back again to Bali. The Island itself has so many spots to experience not only in Kuta itself.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#49 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a simple minimalist and a lifestyle 3 star boutique hotel. Experience a modern & retro designed hotel in Black and White ambiance located just 10 minutes walk to Segara beach, Kuta beach and right next to Lippo Mall Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.