We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added J Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asiatravel.com Orbitz.com
and 10 more sites!
J Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 338 hotels in Kuta
Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in J Boutique 4 nights after we came to Bali. Hotel is from the central Kuta about 20 minutes far by walk. To the airport it is only 5 minutes by taxi and you can arrange a taxi for 6 USD. I think it´s better to take hotel taxi from the airport, because taxi drivers at the airport are not really fair with the prices. Rooms are smaller, but OK, furniture is older, pool on the top is very nice with fine view to the airport, breakfast are good. We don´t have any problem during our stay, staff was nice. Hotel isn´t on our top, or some romantic, but for shorter stay it´s very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear LeandKe,

Thank you for your feedback. We have shared your recent comment to our team in operations and they are happy to learn that you had a nice stay during your visit with us. Glad to learn that you enjoy the SKYPool over the roof top. This is one of our signature outlet where our guests may enjoying swimming with 180 degree view over the Kuta - Segara area.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    101
    65
    22
    8
See reviews for
34
101
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Balikpapan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

As the hotel is provide the pick up service from and to airport, this is a good choice to spend a night in Bali. Located in a busy area, and actually very close to the airport, but can take more than 30 mins depending on the traffic, this service is very helpfull. Its good to arrive in the airport and see someone is waiting there with our name on their hands. I stayed in their room in the lowest floor, dominant with white color and old school design but still nice.
There was saturday night and they always have life music in the beer garden, that was nice. It just u can hear the hustle bustle in the road and car park located behind ur wall and u can see them directly from ur wide is not so nice.

Room Tip: dont choose the room in the lowest floor although its closer to the breakfast room.Hearing the horn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I'm not a fan of Kuta but this hotel is convenient and comfortable for those having to over night here. It is not the flash resort places nearby but good for a stop-over. Close to airport - as little as 5 min or 50min depending on traffic! Good rooms, good breakfast and friendly helpful staffairport

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Tav_mind,

Thank you for your recent transit visit in our hotel. Indeed our location is very close to Denpasar International Airport as well as only 500 meters to Segara Beach right behind our hotel. We're glad to know that you were happy with our services during your short visit with us.

We value your feedback and hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are so nice balconies would be nice of course not easy to change so you should let people bring their own snacks and drinks to the beautiful roof top deck and pool area! I hate it that you have to walk down that main strip and get harassed every time you go into town I know jot the hotels fault! The buffet breakfast is great really for the money a cool spot!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Jess S,

Many thanks to have chosen our hotel as your place to stay during your recent Bali Holiday. We're glad to know that you were happy staying with us. Sorry for not being able to allow bringing food and drinks from outside into our pool area, as we provide services on that area including the bar as you know.

We are sorry to hear that you feel harassed on the street in Kuta. This is rarely happened, they are indeed plenty massage sales and retail sellers try to offer you their services and products, but they will not try to make any harassment. We hope the incident will not dieter you to not to come back again to Bali. The Island itself has so many spots to experience not only in Kuta itself.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very good service. Pleasant staff. The interior decoration could be upgraded, all black, white and grey colours so the rooms are dark except the ones facing the road side. When we asked to be changed to a room that is more spacious and brighter we got one the the third floor facing the road side. They could add more lighting to the washroom. Breakfast includes western as well as traditional dishes, rice porridge, noodles, fried rice, sauteed vegetables, eggs, bacon, sausages etc. Location is great, nice pool at the roof top.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Sithamparapillai,

Thank you for your review on our hotel during your last visit in July. We have noted some of few improvements your have suggested. At the current moment we have schedule to led lamp switch through out the entire public area places, next will move the schedule of lighting improvement in the room.

We're glad to hear that your overall stay with us was pleasent and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is only a 10 min drive from the airport- nice after a long flight. It is in walking distance to the beach, the nightlife district, the shopping areas, and has many restaurants nearby. I had a Balinese massage at the hotel spa which was very nice, and was cheap by US standards. And the hotel kindly extended my checkout time for 2 hours until I needed to take the free shuttle to the airport. All of the staff were very accommodating. The rooms were comfortable and clean. A very nice stay at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Jwhome100,

We truly appreciate your feedback on our services. We are very happy to hear that you have a memorable visit during your stay with us. On behalf of the staffs and the Management, We thank you for your trust to have chosen our hotel as your preferred accommodation for your holiday in Kuta, Bali.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again!

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The location is a little offside. Its a good 10 minutes walk to reach Kuta central area. Its better to take a hotel near kuta or discovery mall. But still beach along Holiday inn is only 5 minutes away. So not that bad either. Rooms are OK. But make special request for rooms facing the road. They will make it if such rooms are available. Breakfast was typical with virtually no veg options. But we got fried rice on special request.

Room Tip: ask for Road facing rooms or you will get that choking feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Jainnamit,

Thank you for your recent comment about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback for our improvement. We have noted on Vegy varieties on breakfast we will do our utmost to make the breakfast variant more appealing.

Hope you had a pleasant holiday during your recent visit and do let us know should we can offer you another special deal on your next trip.

Warm regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta
Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a chic, retro minimalist lifestyle designed hotel in Kuta. The Hotel consist 88 designed trendy slumbers dedicated to simply accommodate leisure and business travelers to experience Kuta, Bali. The hotel offers spa & massage treatment on site, outdoor SKYpool, Pool Bar and Jacuzzi. The hotel facilitated with complete range of Food & Beverage outlet such; J Cuvee Wine Shop & Lounge Bar, all day dining The Bellagio Restaurant, and also Live Music performance on Beer Garden & The Upper Lounge. The hotel also serves 24 hour in room service. Every guests may enjoy Free Wifi in all guests rooms and hotel areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.