We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added J Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
J Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 177 hotels in Kuta
Canberra
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Convenient for airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I'm not a fan of Kuta but this hotel is convenient and comfortable for those having to over night here. It is not the flash resort places nearby but good for a stop-over. Close to airport - as little as 5 min or 50min depending on traffic! Good rooms, good breakfast and friendly helpful staffairport

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Tav_mind,

Thank you for your recent transit visit in our hotel. Indeed our location is very close to Denpasar International Airport as well as only 500 meters to Segara Beach right behind our hotel. We're glad to know that you were happy with our services during your short visit with us.

We value your feedback and hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    104
    73
    24
    9
See reviews for
38
109
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are so nice balconies would be nice of course not easy to change so you should let people bring their own snacks and drinks to the beautiful roof top deck and pool area! I hate it that you have to walk down that main strip and get harassed every time you go into town I know jot the hotels fault! The buffet breakfast is great really for the money a cool spot!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Jess S,

Many thanks to have chosen our hotel as your place to stay during your recent Bali Holiday. We're glad to know that you were happy staying with us. Sorry for not being able to allow bringing food and drinks from outside into our pool area, as we provide services on that area including the bar as you know.

We are sorry to hear that you feel harassed on the street in Kuta. This is rarely happened, they are indeed plenty massage sales and retail sellers try to offer you their services and products, but they will not try to make any harassment. We hope the incident will not dieter you to not to come back again to Bali. The Island itself has so many spots to experience not only in Kuta itself.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very good service. Pleasant staff. The interior decoration could be upgraded, all black, white and grey colours so the rooms are dark except the ones facing the road side. When we asked to be changed to a room that is more spacious and brighter we got one the the third floor facing the road side. They could add more lighting to the washroom. Breakfast includes western as well as traditional dishes, rice porridge, noodles, fried rice, sauteed vegetables, eggs, bacon, sausages etc. Location is great, nice pool at the roof top.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Sithamparapillai,

Thank you for your review on our hotel during your last visit in July. We have noted some of few improvements your have suggested. At the current moment we have schedule to led lamp switch through out the entire public area places, next will move the schedule of lighting improvement in the room.

We're glad to hear that your overall stay with us was pleasent and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is only a 10 min drive from the airport- nice after a long flight. It is in walking distance to the beach, the nightlife district, the shopping areas, and has many restaurants nearby. I had a Balinese massage at the hotel spa which was very nice, and was cheap by US standards. And the hotel kindly extended my checkout time for 2 hours until I needed to take the free shuttle to the airport. All of the staff were very accommodating. The rooms were comfortable and clean. A very nice stay at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Jwhome100,

We truly appreciate your feedback on our services. We are very happy to hear that you have a memorable visit during your stay with us. On behalf of the staffs and the Management, We thank you for your trust to have chosen our hotel as your preferred accommodation for your holiday in Kuta, Bali.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again!

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The location is a little offside. Its a good 10 minutes walk to reach Kuta central area. Its better to take a hotel near kuta or discovery mall. But still beach along Holiday inn is only 5 minutes away. So not that bad either. Rooms are OK. But make special request for rooms facing the road. They will make it if such rooms are available. Breakfast was typical with virtually no veg options. But we got fried rice on special request.

Room Tip: ask for Road facing rooms or you will get that choking feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Jainnamit,

Thank you for your recent comment about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback for our improvement. We have noted on Vegy varieties on breakfast we will do our utmost to make the breakfast variant more appealing.

Hope you had a pleasant holiday during your recent visit and do let us know should we can offer you another special deal on your next trip.

Warm regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denpasar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our businses patner invite to stay at this hotel, from airport it just a minute away and out from the trafict to reach this hotel location, perfect.

At the nigth if you looking the find dinning it just a walk no need taxi, longthe street you will seen so many kind of restaurant and bar.

The one in this hotel we love it before you go to bed is the beer garden located next the parking lots of this hotel close to lobby, you can enjoy the live music and the coctails,beers.

It just perfect for the week end and short trips to stay in this hotel

Room Tip: Except the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Bapak Tjokorda,

Thank you for your recent comment on tripadvisor about our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and recommendations.

We have shared your feedback to our operational team for, I am sure it will bring a very nice smile on their face.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Let me start by saying this is my 13th trip to Bali in the last 5 years. I have stayed in hotels and villas in Kuta/Legian/Seminyak - The reviews that I do tend to take into account the cost paid for the accommodation and how the hotel measures up based on realistic expectations for the price paid. I stayed in an "executive room" and paid around $70 a night, for nine days. I think the standard rooms go for about $55-$60 - The main difference from what I asked while at the hotel is the executive is slightly larger and window faces the street (as opposed to brick wall).

Arrived at 11.30pm and check in process seamless (they requested 300,000 Rupiah as deposit for minibar, which I had as I changed $50 at airport) - welcome drink was refreshing. Elevator to the third floor (room 368), corridors etc a bit dated however room itself was very clean and bed super comfy with nice sheets. The room was cleaned efficiently each day, regardless of when I decided to venture out. Bathroom is quite spacious with good condition tiling (no bath, but nice big shower), double vanity and personal care provided....shower cap, razor, toothbrush set, cotton ear buds, shampoo. Downside for me about room is that none have a balcony (as most do in Bali), this was a little bit annoying being a smoker as I had to either go down two flights of stairs to front of hotel, or up three flights to outdoor pool for a smoke when I was chilling in room. Missed not chilling on balcony with a drink as have done before in other accommodation.

Food was really good - the restaurant/beer garden menu is the same as room service and is available 24 hrs., priced well, most mains around 60-70 k Rupiah

Location is at the south end of the street that Waterbom Park is on. Nice and close to Febri's spa, one of my favourite places for massage ect.

The staff make the stay easy and are always polite and take the time to say hello ( quite common in Bali hotels though)

Roof top pool is super relaxing and water quality very good (and at a nice, refreshing temperature) - Sunset time gives you a glimpse over beach.

Downside overall for me was breakfast. Hotel has a lot of Japanese guests and as such consists of Asian food such as noodles, rice, chicken porridge (looked like glue). They did have egg station, two types of fresh fruit, basic croissant's, juice and cereal etc.....BUT NO BACON !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Travelnut010,

We have read your recent review on tripadvisor and truly appreciate your details experience shared during your stay with us.

On behalf of the Management, we apologize on some lacking on your room expectations knowing that you are smoker and we do not have room balcony to get a refresh air flowing through circulation in your room.

We have also taken note on your breakfast variety especially The Bacon. We have set this as 'on request' basis to be served during breakfast. We have quite variable market mixed that include Asian as well. We do the breakfast varieties based on majority of guest staying on the certain period of stay. Unfortunately during your stay was the heavy seasons of our Japanese, Malaysian and Singaporean in house, so breakfast variety was set according to the asian style varieties. We sincerely apologize on this issue.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again sometimes in the future to become our regular customers. Should there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, would be happy to assist you with it.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#48 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a chic, retro minimalist lifestyle designed hotel in Kuta. The Hotel consist 88 designed trendy slumbers dedicated to simply accommodate leisure and business travelers to experience Kuta, Bali. The hotel offers spa & massage treatment on site, outdoor SKYpool, Pool Bar and Jacuzzi. The hotel facilitated with complete range of Food & Beverage outlet such; J Cuvee Wine Shop & Lounge Bar, all day dining The Bellagio Restaurant, and also Live Music performance on Beer Garden & The Upper Lounge. The hotel also serves 24 hour in room service. Every guests may enjoy Free Wifi in all guests rooms and hotel areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.