We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overall - Minor issues.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added J Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
J Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 194 Hotels in Kuta
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Overall - Minor issues.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Let me start by saying this is my 13th trip to Bali in the last 5 years. I have stayed in hotels and villas in Kuta/Legian/Seminyak - The reviews that I do tend to take into account the cost paid for the accommodation and how the hotel measures up based on realistic expectations for the price paid. I stayed in an "executive room" and paid around $70 a night, for nine days. I think the standard rooms go for about $55-$60 - The main difference from what I asked while at the hotel is the executive is slightly larger and window faces the street (as opposed to brick wall).

Arrived at 11.30pm and check in process seamless (they requested 300,000 Rupiah as deposit for minibar, which I had as I changed $50 at airport) - welcome drink was refreshing. Elevator to the third floor (room 368), corridors etc a bit dated however room itself was very clean and bed super comfy with nice sheets. The room was cleaned efficiently each day, regardless of when I decided to venture out. Bathroom is quite spacious with good condition tiling (no bath, but nice big shower), double vanity and personal care provided....shower cap, razor, toothbrush set, cotton ear buds, shampoo. Downside for me about room is that none have a balcony (as most do in Bali), this was a little bit annoying being a smoker as I had to either go down two flights of stairs to front of hotel, or up three flights to outdoor pool for a smoke when I was chilling in room. Missed not chilling on balcony with a drink as have done before in other accommodation.

Food was really good - the restaurant/beer garden menu is the same as room service and is available 24 hrs., priced well, most mains around 60-70 k Rupiah

Location is at the south end of the street that Waterbom Park is on. Nice and close to Febri's spa, one of my favourite places for massage ect.

The staff make the stay easy and are always polite and take the time to say hello ( quite common in Bali hotels though)

Roof top pool is super relaxing and water quality very good (and at a nice, refreshing temperature) - Sunset time gives you a glimpse over beach.

Downside overall for me was breakfast. Hotel has a lot of Japanese guests and as such consists of Asian food such as noodles, rice, chicken porridge (looked like glue). They did have egg station, two types of fresh fruit, basic croissant's, juice and cereal etc.....BUT NO BACON !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Travelnut010,

We have read your recent review on tripadvisor and truly appreciate your details experience shared during your stay with us.

On behalf of the Management, we apologize on some lacking on your room expectations knowing that you are smoker and we do not have room balcony to get a refresh air flowing through circulation in your room.

We have also taken note on your breakfast variety especially The Bacon. We have set this as 'on request' basis to be served during breakfast. We have quite variable market mixed that include Asian as well. We do the breakfast varieties based on majority of guest staying on the certain period of stay. Unfortunately during your stay was the heavy seasons of our Japanese, Malaysian and Singaporean in house, so breakfast variety was set according to the asian style varieties. We sincerely apologize on this issue.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again sometimes in the future to become our regular customers. Should there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, would be happy to assist you with it.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    116
    81
    28
    9
See reviews for
44
120
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here 25-27 APR 2013
Hotel room were bit old but still its good value for money, you only pay around USD 50 a night for a 3+ star boutique hotel in south Kuta area.
They only have shower no bath tub but the bathroom size isnt small.
Hotel lobby not too big but gives you warm cozy feeling inside.
Breakfast was simple but tasty and nice.
Pool is at the 4th floor, quite a hassle to get there , its not too big but good enough to have a swim.
Overall I will recommend my friends / clients to stay here if they have tight budget but would like to stay in Kuta area.
Mind you, its about 15-20 mins walking to the Discovery Mall though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBH-Bali, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear JessicaJohana,

Thank you so much for your feedback and comment on our hotel. We truly appreciate you have taken your time to write review about our facilities and services. We are glad to learn that you have a very nice stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, and the staff is brilliant.
The location is good if you want to be close to the airport, but it is quite far from the bars and pubs on Legian street.
The restaurant is really nice and the food is great. I loved the music on the terrace and the shisha as well. The prices are ok as well.
The breakfast doesn't offer many choices but it is ok.
I didn't try the pool as I only stayed for one night. The room is very nice, cosy and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Lulia S,

We read and shared your positive review about our hotel to all our staffs. Surely this will bring great smiles on their face.

We are extremely happy to know that you have such pleasant experience your staying with us. Do come back on your next visit, and we will be very happy to make your stay another memorable experience.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed one night more or less in transit from Denpasar to sorong. For this it's perfect. Really close to the airport. Very friendly staff who collect and drop off. Arranged a box breakfast for me too as my flight was really early. Good food if you are too tired to look for it. Lovely spa - just what I needed to start my holiday. Just very noisy so try get away from the stair well - guests ma. Noise ll night coming and going to flights.

Room Tip: Book directly not through an agent outside of indonesia
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Catheryn,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to us and truly appreciate your feedback via tripadvisor. We noted details that you had shared here for our service improvement. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our room and our food quality, we will be very happy to share your experience with our staffs.

Should you need another short trip or even a long holiday in Bali, do contact us direct we will be very happy to make special arrangement on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Enjoyed my Nyepi Day at this hotel, stayed here for 3D2N, and all is good. I've got connecting room, room was very nice, clean, and i love the decoration. Bed and bathroom was have no problems.
I do love their swimming pool in rooftop, this facilities is excellent value for us, because we can see what really happened when Nyepi from rooftop, the road was empty and silent, there was no flight or anything coming.
Their breakfast was great! i love their menu.
Quite strange, that the mobile network when i was in rooms was not good, appeared SOS.. it was happened to my roomy as well. They provide wifi connection, but it was bad also. The staff was have no idea, hence we hope they will check this issue and can explain well to guest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Amelup,

Thank you so much for staying with us during NYEPI Day (The Silent Day). We have noted your positive feedback about our room and our outdoor SKYPool.

Following your concern over the signal of cellphone network, We had indeed issues back then with the BTS operators, which was rarely happened, but it was only temporary as it was resume back to normal afterwards.

In regards to the WiFi internet, we use Internet bandwidth of 2Mbps ratio 1:1 in our hotel, this should covers the needs for our guests, but we apologize that you have had bad experience to get the connection back then and the staff was unable to assist. We are really sorry this, as limited staff was in charge during Nyepi Day, especially our IT person is Balinese and he was not at the hotel to assist you at that time.

We are happy to re-invite you again to come and stay with us, and will surely do our best to make improvements on our services.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel was very central. It was about 4 stories high. Had been renovated by the looks of it. Nice decor, nice big beds. Lovely rooftop pool. Fabulous buffet breakfast in the morning, & excellent service. There was building going on next door but that is probably why we got a scoopon for $200 each for 5 nights. Couldnt fault it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Alana,

We appreciate your comments and feedback about our hotel during your visit back in March, 2013. We read your review with brightful smile on our face. I am sure all our staff would appreciate to read your comment too.

If you decide to come back and enjoy Bali Holiday, we would be very happy to welcome you as our special guest. Do let us know and we will make your stay a memorable visit!

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

i stayed here for 3 nights. i got a good room with big windows on the ground floor. i read a lot of people write a review that a lot of rooms in this hotel have no windows. so, i suggest you request the room with windows.

the hotel provide free wi-fi and i have no problem with it. The food for breakfast is still OK, but they don't have many choices for breakfast. The location is a plus. you can walk just in minutes to one big mall, Discovery. a lot of choices of food near hotels. and the beach is so close to the hotel. the beach located at the back of the hotel

the room is clean with wood parquet flooring. the bed is so so. not really good. they provide 32 inch LCD TV in room.

The rooftop swimming pool is awesome. you still can see the ocean and the airport from there :)

what impressed me is the service. the staff was helpful. after 3 nights stay my wife and i move to ubud, we rent a motorbike, so we cannot bring a lot of stuffs, so i need to put my extra bags at the hotel so we can pick the bags up later. and it's ok with them. they take good care our bags :) and not just that, after we come back from ubud, we are wet because of raining while we are on the motorbike. again, we ask the staff for help by letting my wife take a shower at the hotel and the staff let my wife take a shower at the spa. they do extra miles for their customer. we really appreciate that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Kukuruyuk,

We appreciate your comment and feedback on our hotel & services. We are glad to know that you had fabulous experience during your recent visit in March 2013. We have noted some points for improvement especially on the variety of breakfast. We are also happy to learn that our staffs have done such extra miles to provide services that exceed your expectations.

We certainly hope that you will be coming back again and we would be very happy to make you our special guest. Do let us know if you have any plan to come back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#62 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a simple minimalist and a lifestyle 3 star boutique hotel. Experience a modern & retro designed hotel in Black and White ambiance located just 10 minutes walk to Segara beach, Kuta beach and right next to Lippo Mall Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.