We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added J Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
J Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 174 hotels in Kuta
indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed her for 1 night. It feels a bit like staying in a bunker. Many of the rooms do not have a window, which feels a bit claustofobic. Staff is friendly. Location is convenient if you want to be close to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Douwe D,

Thank you for your recent comment on tripadvisor during your visit in March 2013. We have noted your concern on our back view room. We sincerely apologize for not being able to provide city room view during your visit due to full house occupancy during your stay and no alternative room to offer.

We certainly hope that this experience will not stopping you to come back and stay with us again. We will be very happy to provide room upgrade with city view on your next visit. Do let us know should you have any plan to come back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    109
    71
    23
    9
See reviews for
36
109
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

For what we paid, this place couldn't be faulted. The rooms have been renovated and while they bear no resemblance to anything Indonesian, they were clean and nice. The not downside for us was getting a room on the ground floor right next to the restaurant so when guests walked down the hall, we heard everything! Probably found have asked for another room, but it wasn't that much of a big deal. Breakfast buffet was satisfactory and there's a nice little cafe around the corner that does awesome nasi goreng. A short walk away is the green garden Bali spa - best value massage in Kuta, and then the tuban/south Kuta beach front. Cheap laundry across the road, $3AUD a kilo from memory. And the little tour desk across the road is very helpful too - ask for Wayan, a young kid who'll look after you! The staff were helpful and assisted me in getting my mate from the airport, but it took a lot of asking and I wasn't really sure they understood what I wanted, but we got her in the end! Simple, cheap, don't expect the ritz and you'll be happy staying here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Tammara,

Thank you for staying with us and provide us with your valuable comments. We are happy to share your comments with our staffs indeed. When replying this comment, even one of our staff waiter still recognizes your profile, your kindness remains here in tacked!... truly appreciate that.

We apologize that you had to experience some noise through the room you had been assigned to. Perhaps we might consider putting you on higher floor at your preference if you would plan to come back again.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Booked this hotel for our week long holiday and were quite pleased with our choice.
The hotel is located very close to the airport (less than 5 minites drive with no traffic). The lobby is nice and petit with a charming ambience.
Our room (Executive) was decently sized for two. However if you have more than 3 bags, it'll be a challenge to arrange them without bumping into one of them! Being a boutique hotel, they do have some limitations on what is offered, but what's offered is quite sufficient if you're not planning to stay in the room all day. The breakfast spread may seem limited at first glance, but trust me, it's quite more than enough if you don't plan to binge on variety.
The main Kuta beach is about a 10-15 min walk away, but you don't really realize how time flies cause there are so many mini shops, massage parlours and restaurants along the way to keep you occupied.
I'd recommend that you hunt for their internet offers to get a good deal on your rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room and spring a tad more for the Executive and above range of rooms. Some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear NeoAaragoom,

Thank you for staying with us and provide us with your details valuable experience during your recent visit in February 2013.

We learnt some points of improvements from your comments and we will take it as our constructive feedback. First on the extra storage for the luggages and of course the variety of breakfast buffet. However we're glad that above all that, you appreciate our services and enjoy the hotel much during your week long holiday in Bali.

We certainly hope you that we may see you again on your next Bali Holiday visit. You are correct that we do heavy promotions on our internet web rate, we would also recommend this to all our guests!

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The price I got was very reasonable and I found the service to be very good. A nice location near the airport which has its upsides and downsides as with any location. It is a good place to get driven to other locations as you can get out to the main roads faster but you have to walk further to get to Kuta beach. The beer garden was good and the rooftop pool was fun. The room service was good and quite speedy, the front desk was helpful. The room was cleaned very nicely and I enjoyed having the safe and fridge. The minibar prices were reasonable for a hotel minibar. On the more negative side there was a faint smell of smoke even though it was a non-smoking room and the room's walls could absorb a little more noise. Also the rooftop bar was not in service but considering it was not their ON season this was understandable.

I think taking price into consideration this was a great place to stay. I have traveled pretty widely staying in the more budget conscious end of hotels and this place was one of the best of that class I have stayed in. I would recommend it to someone looking for good but reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Taran,

Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel and services. We have carefully read your comment and enjoy reading and learning from every single input you have shared.

We appreciate your statement of " This place was one of the best of that class I have stayed in. I would recommend it to someone looking for good but reasonably priced hotel" .. We would definitely focus on "value for money" in deciding rate pricing on our internet rate distributions. We will strive to continuously be able to put the right pricing as valuable price for our future customers.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you again shortly!

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel has unique stylish design, nicely presented for a 3* hotel although I still can't take the term boutique used on its name :). Location in the far end of Jalan Kartika Plaza still walkable to Discovery Mall (15 minutes) and lots of convenience stores as well as a Catholic Cathedral. Quite far to Kuta Beach but there is another beach to the direction of Holiday Inn Baruna (German Beach) which is just 7 minutes away

The room was fairly big, but I guess because I got the corner one (room #270). All amenities are well appreciated. No bath tube which I like, the shower worked well.

The breakfast buffet was standard, indeed, there were enough choices but had I stayed longer I could have been bored with the selection. It's mostly Asian/Continental which is understandable as I believe they cater mostly Asian and Australian guests.

They have a rooftop bar and swimming pool but I did not get the chance to enjoy it, however the rooftop pool is larger than I thought so it must be a good place to chill out. I am gonna make sure I would try it next time if I stay here again

I took hotel transport service to airport and paid only 50k a little more expensive than metered-taxi I guess but it's very convenient.

They should keep up the good work as there are lots of competition in the area

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Kongco,

We read details of your comments and feedback after your recent visit with us last Feb 2013. We really appreciate it!

We note your comment "They should keep up the good work as there are lots of competition in the area" as our spirit to continuously deliver exceptional services to all our future guests.
We may not be a "RITZ", but surely proud to serve our customer wholeheartedly. Glad to know that you enjoy your visit with us.

On your next holiday visit to Bali, do let us know as we would be very happy to make your visit a memorable one.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days n 2 nights. We ordered room service when we arrived, food looks nice but did not translate well with the taste. The room was small. There was a window, which u can see nothing but wall. There's no sunshine and i felt stuffy when entering the room. Furniture were old, didnt look as nice as in the pictures. It is situated about 20mins walk to the beach and shops. Overall, this hotel is ok, but i would not go back to this place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Azmnu,

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and shared with others about your experience via tripadvisor. We are very sorry to learn that you did not have a pleasant experience during your stay. We understood that you were staying in back-view room which you did not like it and felt stuffy every time you enter the room. We would have given you alternative room if we still have city view room available back then.

Also on the room service food that you commented that was not according to your expectations, we apologize on this as well. We will share this comment to our F&B kitchen team for their improvements.

We hope that we still have the opportunity to welcoming you back again so than you can feel the different on your next visit. Do advise us if we can somehow make another arrangement on your next Bali Holiday visit.


Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The service is great, I think worth the money. Don’t put high expectation for the honeymoon travelers as this hotel not suitable and suit for friends or family only. the breakfast not many choices and breakfast dishes everyday is same. We get bored with the same menu for the breakfast as I stay there for 5 days. The room is average and the staff there are friendly. Walking distance to the beach a bit far but easy to get a cab, restaurant, convenient store and airport. the room and bathroom is clean. The swimming pool on the rooftop and there is a bar. Called the room service and they serve us very fast. The massage is good and price is reasonable. The view from the room is bad, as my room facing the wall. Overall, I’m satisfied with their service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Crystalfairel,

We appreciate your valuable feedback on your recent visit with us. We have noted your comments on our breakfast varieties. We would make sure our kitchen team to make some improvement on daily changes so our future customers will not get bored easily with the menu every day.

We are glad to know that you appreciate the services from our staffs, this our truly core value compare to others.

Hope we would have another opportunity to welcoming you back again, we deem excited to change your experience into a memorable one. Do let me know!

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#47 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a chic, retro minimalist lifestyle designed hotel in Kuta. The Hotel consist 88 designed trendy slumbers dedicated to simply accommodate leisure and business travelers to experience Kuta, Bali. The hotel offers spa & massage treatment on site, outdoor SKYpool, Pool Bar and Jacuzzi. The hotel facilitated with complete range of Food & Beverage outlet such; J Cuvee Wine Shop & Lounge Bar, all day dining The Bellagio Restaurant, and also Live Music performance on Beer Garden & The Upper Lounge. The hotel also serves 24 hour in room service. Every guests may enjoy Free Wifi in all guests rooms and hotel areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.