We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added J Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
J Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 175 Hotels in Kuta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days n 2 nights. We ordered room service when we arrived, food looks nice but did not translate well with the taste. The room was small. There was a window, which u can see nothing but wall. There's no sunshine and i felt stuffy when entering the room. Furniture were old, didnt look as nice as in the pictures. It is situated about 20mins walk to the beach and shops. Overall, this hotel is ok, but i would not go back to this place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Azmnu,

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and shared with others about your experience via tripadvisor. We are very sorry to learn that you did not have a pleasant experience during your stay. We understood that you were staying in back-view room which you did not like it and felt stuffy every time you enter the room. We would have given you alternative room if we still have city view room available back then.

Also on the room service food that you commented that was not according to your expectations, we apologize on this as well. We will share this comment to our F&B kitchen team for their improvements.

We hope that we still have the opportunity to welcoming you back again so than you can feel the different on your next visit. Do advise us if we can somehow make another arrangement on your next Bali Holiday visit.


Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    106
    73
    25
    9
See reviews for
38
112
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kajang
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The service is great, I think worth the money. Don’t put high expectation for the honeymoon travelers as this hotel not suitable and suit for friends or family only. the breakfast not many choices and breakfast dishes everyday is same. We get bored with the same menu for the breakfast as I stay there for 5 days. The room is average and the staff there are friendly. Walking distance to the beach a bit far but easy to get a cab, restaurant, convenient store and airport. the room and bathroom is clean. The swimming pool on the rooftop and there is a bar. Called the room service and they serve us very fast. The massage is good and price is reasonable. The view from the room is bad, as my room facing the wall. Overall, I’m satisfied with their service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Crystalfairel,

We appreciate your valuable feedback on your recent visit with us. We have noted your comments on our breakfast varieties. We would make sure our kitchen team to make some improvement on daily changes so our future customers will not get bored easily with the menu every day.

We are glad to know that you appreciate the services from our staffs, this our truly core value compare to others.

Hope we would have another opportunity to welcoming you back again, we deem excited to change your experience into a memorable one. Do let me know!

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Love the design and atmosphere, especially the roof top swimming pool. So relax with trance music and bar. Staff was welcoming and welcomed us with a drink (: Called for room service and they came up to our place quite fast. Love the room design

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Heedayah,

It was such beautiful notes you have shared with others about our hotel via trip advisor. We really appreciate it.

We are glad to know that you enjoy our staffs' services and you have had a memorable experience with our SKYPool.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and We would definitely be very happy to warm welcome you once again!

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

They gave me a room facing a white wall.

Food was nice
Staff was nice even though they keep assuming I'm local and talking to me in local dialect
I spent 15 minutes explaining to the spa attendant that I want to charge to room then pay when I check out - after each explanation they keep asking if I want to pay by cash :)

20 mins walk to Kuta beach
They have power outages in the morning so if you leave late (9 am on wards) might get to experience it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We got a room which had windows facing a large wall. Its crazy to build rooms with windows facing wall .It feels like a prision. The A/c 's were not working and food in the hotel was bad. The manager was indifferent .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary and we just LOVED the rooftop pool and bar ,it was awesome !
The breakfast was not bad.
Location is in kartika plaza which is close to Discovery Shopping Mall and kuta beach ,bunch of good restaurants along the road.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We staied there for 4 nights, overall experience is nice :)

Like :
1. Location, only 10 mins ride from airport; 5 mins walk to the beach, 10 mins walk to Discovery mall, and all the taxi driver know this hotel
2. Service, all the staff are friendly and nice
3. Pool, nice view and they have hot tub there too!
4. Massage, it was so nice and comfy, (IDR 450,000 for a couple package, including food bath, massage, flower bath & spa gift)
5. Internet service at every floor (strong signal too)
6. Room is clean and big (i don't know what the others are complaining about)
7. Complimentary transfer us to the airport
8. They have full length mirror and in-room safe deposit box too

Dislike :
1. Breakfast, the food was just okay...
2. There is no view from the room window, all I can see is the the a/c outdoor unit.

They will ask for a refundable IDR 300,000 for deposit, in case you use the mini bar or other facilities.( Which is good, because you can make sure you have the cash to pay the airport tax, IDR150,000/person)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#48 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a simple minimalist and a lifestyle 3 star boutique hotel. Experience a modern & retro designed hotel in Black and White ambiance located just 10 minutes walk to Segara beach, Kuta beach and right next to Lippo Mall Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.