We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added J Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
J Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 176 hotels in Kuta
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Love the design and atmosphere, especially the roof top swimming pool. So relax with trance music and bar. Staff was welcoming and welcomed us with a drink (: Called for room service and they came up to our place quite fast. Love the room design

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Heedayah,

It was such beautiful notes you have shared with others about our hotel via trip advisor. We really appreciate it.

We are glad to know that you enjoy our staffs' services and you have had a memorable experience with our SKYPool.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and We would definitely be very happy to warm welcome you once again!

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    104
    71
    22
    9
See reviews for
36
109
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

They gave me a room facing a white wall.

Food was nice
Staff was nice even though they keep assuming I'm local and talking to me in local dialect
I spent 15 minutes explaining to the spa attendant that I want to charge to room then pay when I check out - after each explanation they keep asking if I want to pay by cash :)

20 mins walk to Kuta beach
They have power outages in the morning so if you leave late (9 am on wards) might get to experience it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We got a room which had windows facing a large wall. Its crazy to build rooms with windows facing wall .It feels like a prision. The A/c 's were not working and food in the hotel was bad. The manager was indifferent .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary and we just LOVED the rooftop pool and bar ,it was awesome !
The breakfast was not bad.
Location is in kartika plaza which is close to Discovery Shopping Mall and kuta beach ,bunch of good restaurants along the road.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We staied there for 4 nights, overall experience is nice :)

Like :
1. Location, only 10 mins ride from airport; 5 mins walk to the beach, 10 mins walk to Discovery mall, and all the taxi driver know this hotel
2. Service, all the staff are friendly and nice
3. Pool, nice view and they have hot tub there too!
4. Massage, it was so nice and comfy, (IDR 450,000 for a couple package, including food bath, massage, flower bath & spa gift)
5. Internet service at every floor (strong signal too)
6. Room is clean and big (i don't know what the others are complaining about)
7. Complimentary transfer us to the airport
8. They have full length mirror and in-room safe deposit box too

Dislike :
1. Breakfast, the food was just okay...
2. There is no view from the room window, all I can see is the the a/c outdoor unit.

They will ask for a refundable IDR 300,000 for deposit, in case you use the mini bar or other facilities.( Which is good, because you can make sure you have the cash to pay the airport tax, IDR150,000/person)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel during my last trip to Bali.

Good: Location is nice - very close to the airport and within walking distance to Discovery mall/hotel/beach.

Bad: The buiding itself looks attractive - from the outside, inside is another matter. The rooms look aged and not as clean as I wished.. especially the bathroom. The "view" from the room (if it can be called that) is "wall view." They might as well remove the window - would've been better than seeing a dark small space.

There are much better value in Bali. Would not recommend this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A 10 minute taxi ride from the airport. Recently re-furbished. No fuss assistance at check-in with a sweet welcome drink which I did not fancy. 300,000 IRD deposit in case you use the mini-bar, this was promptly returned at check-out, but do keep the receipt safely.
The room is generally clean, and the lights worked, so did the safe.

But there were some misses - I suspect the bed is not 'memory foam', the horizontal bars for the towels had some stains, water temperature control in the shower is dodgy at times, the shampoo bottle is half-empty and I suspect they didn't clear that out following the last user of the room, the drawers in the closet appeared old (I live out of my luggage mostly). The towels have a scent of coconuts and I think those are from the massage spa oils - they do remain in it despite the laundry. There is not much of a view out of the window - street and low houses. The aircon wasn't in the best condition, it only kept the room cool but still not cool enough in my opinion despite setting it at 16 deg!

The room was quiet at night. Service at the BF is quick. The BF spread is reasonable with porridge, sausages and eggs to keep me happy. BF do start rather late at 7am. People in the hotel are friendly and at the 3rd level, I didn't hear much hard partying sounds. They set up a DVD player free of charge in my room when I requested it. It is located near to restaurants and minimarts nearby, but a main mall called 'Discovery' Centro is about 10 mins walk away.

All in all, OK for me, but my partner if she had come along, would have expected more. You might want to consider this hotel for Kuta.

Room Tip: Higher floor, non smoking. Rooms not facing the main road might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#48 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a chic, retro minimalist lifestyle designed hotel in Kuta. The Hotel consist 88 designed trendy slumbers dedicated to simply accommodate leisure and business travelers to experience Kuta, Bali. The hotel offers spa & massage treatment on site, outdoor SKYpool, Pool Bar and Jacuzzi. The hotel facilitated with complete range of Food & Beverage outlet such; J Cuvee Wine Shop & Lounge Bar, all day dining The Bellagio Restaurant, and also Live Music performance on Beer Garden & The Upper Lounge. The hotel also serves 24 hour in room service. Every guests may enjoy Free Wifi in all guests rooms and hotel areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.