We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place with nice pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added J Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
J Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 176 hotels in Kuta
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good place with nice pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We staied there for 4 nights, overall experience is nice :)

Like :
1. Location, only 10 mins ride from airport; 5 mins walk to the beach, 10 mins walk to Discovery mall, and all the taxi driver know this hotel
2. Service, all the staff are friendly and nice
3. Pool, nice view and they have hot tub there too!
4. Massage, it was so nice and comfy, (IDR 450,000 for a couple package, including food bath, massage, flower bath & spa gift)
5. Internet service at every floor (strong signal too)
6. Room is clean and big (i don't know what the others are complaining about)
7. Complimentary transfer us to the airport
8. They have full length mirror and in-room safe deposit box too

Dislike :
1. Breakfast, the food was just okay...
2. There is no view from the room window, all I can see is the the a/c outdoor unit.

They will ask for a refundable IDR 300,000 for deposit, in case you use the mini bar or other facilities.( Which is good, because you can make sure you have the cash to pay the airport tax, IDR150,000/person)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    104
    71
    22
    9
See reviews for
36
109
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel during my last trip to Bali.

Good: Location is nice - very close to the airport and within walking distance to Discovery mall/hotel/beach.

Bad: The buiding itself looks attractive - from the outside, inside is another matter. The rooms look aged and not as clean as I wished.. especially the bathroom. The "view" from the room (if it can be called that) is "wall view." They might as well remove the window - would've been better than seeing a dark small space.

There are much better value in Bali. Would not recommend this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A 10 minute taxi ride from the airport. Recently re-furbished. No fuss assistance at check-in with a sweet welcome drink which I did not fancy. 300,000 IRD deposit in case you use the mini-bar, this was promptly returned at check-out, but do keep the receipt safely.
The room is generally clean, and the lights worked, so did the safe.

But there were some misses - I suspect the bed is not 'memory foam', the horizontal bars for the towels had some stains, water temperature control in the shower is dodgy at times, the shampoo bottle is half-empty and I suspect they didn't clear that out following the last user of the room, the drawers in the closet appeared old (I live out of my luggage mostly). The towels have a scent of coconuts and I think those are from the massage spa oils - they do remain in it despite the laundry. There is not much of a view out of the window - street and low houses. The aircon wasn't in the best condition, it only kept the room cool but still not cool enough in my opinion despite setting it at 16 deg!

The room was quiet at night. Service at the BF is quick. The BF spread is reasonable with porridge, sausages and eggs to keep me happy. BF do start rather late at 7am. People in the hotel are friendly and at the 3rd level, I didn't hear much hard partying sounds. They set up a DVD player free of charge in my room when I requested it. It is located near to restaurants and minimarts nearby, but a main mall called 'Discovery' Centro is about 10 mins walk away.

All in all, OK for me, but my partner if she had come along, would have expected more. You might want to consider this hotel for Kuta.

Room Tip: Higher floor, non smoking. Rooms not facing the main road might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

our small group stayed at this hotel as one of us had a very late arrival. before heading up to another part of bali. the hotel lobby looked much better than our rooms. we were disappointed to see that the bathrooms weren't anywhere close to the pictures. they were clean, yes. but our expectations weren't met as the bathrooms didn't even match the guest room, or even the hotel lobby feel. we enjoyed the rooftop pool. and the breakfast was standard fare. the service was cordial and helpful. and it was very very close to the airport (which was very nice, especially when one of us arrived at 1:00 am). would we return? probably not (unless they do actually post pictures of what we could expect - especially the bathrooms. not pictures of bathrooms in upgraded or more expensive rooms). thus a "3" overall rating for what we'd call "exaggerated" advertising or impression, which had caused unnecessary disappointment.

Room Tip: get an upgraded room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Ants in the bed... Bad bad mattress this hotel was reburbushed with cheap materials, rooms are ramshackled... Rooftop pool good view dirty towels cushions are dirty , hot tub( not hot) is dirty with grit and stains.
Downstairs bar is ok lots of traffic, breakfast is ok... Kuta is busy and has seen its best days... This hotel is to be avoided unless your on Valium double dose... We checked out after one night although booked for 4 and the manager was cool about it( they know the hotel is fatigued) went to Seminyak ... Much much better there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were traveling on our way to Lombok and arrived into Bali at midnight. As we were departing again at 10 am the next morning we did not want to spend a lot of money on a room. The hotel was $US 79 for the night and included breakfast.

The hotel is close to the airport and arranged complimentary transfers to and from the airport. Unfortunately they did not tell us about the transfers and so when we arrived we caught a taxi but we made use of the transfer when we left.

The hotel is old but has been renovated and, for the amount we paid, represented good value for the limited time we needed a room. The renovation has had some thought put into it and is a shabby chic look.

The breakfast was okay, again for the price of the room we did not expect a lot.

We would stay again if we were transitting through Bali.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I went there 25-28 August 2012. It only takes 10minutes from Ngurah Rai airport. To Kuta beach is 20-30minutes by walkong. To shops in Jl. Legian is also 20-30minutes by walk. In front of the hotel there is circle K and small dimsum shop, but the hotel also provide beer and drink in hotel area. There is Discovery mall in 10minutes walk to the left. Taxis passing by a lot.

So far Im really satisfied with the room, the swimming pool (at the roof top is really beautiful to stay there at night or in the morning, the spa is also gooood! But my room in 312 is facing a wall so no sunlight came in.

The thing I noticed was the process of checking took a bit long time. I didnt know why or maybe because I reserved it via asianroom.com so they had to proceed it first.

Love staying there. Will count it as a hotel I would like to stay again next time in Bali!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#48 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a chic, retro minimalist lifestyle designed hotel in Kuta. The Hotel consist 88 designed trendy slumbers dedicated to simply accommodate leisure and business travelers to experience Kuta, Bali. The hotel offers spa & massage treatment on site, outdoor SKYpool, Pool Bar and Jacuzzi. The hotel facilitated with complete range of Food & Beverage outlet such; J Cuvee Wine Shop & Lounge Bar, all day dining The Bellagio Restaurant, and also Live Music performance on Beer Garden & The Upper Lounge. The hotel also serves 24 hour in room service. Every guests may enjoy Free Wifi in all guests rooms and hotel areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.