We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added J Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
J Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 180 Hotels in Kuta
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were traveling on our way to Lombok and arrived into Bali at midnight. As we were departing again at 10 am the next morning we did not want to spend a lot of money on a room. The hotel was $US 79 for the night and included breakfast.

The hotel is close to the airport and arranged complimentary transfers to and from the airport. Unfortunately they did not tell us about the transfers and so when we arrived we caught a taxi but we made use of the transfer when we left.

The hotel is old but has been renovated and, for the amount we paid, represented good value for the limited time we needed a room. The renovation has had some thought put into it and is a shabby chic look.

The breakfast was okay, again for the price of the room we did not expect a lot.

We would stay again if we were transitting through Bali.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    110
    75
    25
    9
See reviews for
38
114
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I went there 25-28 August 2012. It only takes 10minutes from Ngurah Rai airport. To Kuta beach is 20-30minutes by walkong. To shops in Jl. Legian is also 20-30minutes by walk. In front of the hotel there is circle K and small dimsum shop, but the hotel also provide beer and drink in hotel area. There is Discovery mall in 10minutes walk to the left. Taxis passing by a lot.

So far Im really satisfied with the room, the swimming pool (at the roof top is really beautiful to stay there at night or in the morning, the spa is also gooood! But my room in 312 is facing a wall so no sunlight came in.

The thing I noticed was the process of checking took a bit long time. I didnt know why or maybe because I reserved it via asianroom.com so they had to proceed it first.

Love staying there. Will count it as a hotel I would like to stay again next time in Bali!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My sister in law and I stayed here in Feb for 6 nights in a twin share. The hotel is a bit tired, even with the "renovation". Lumpy lino on the floor in our room and the bathroom was pretty average. The breakfast was also average, in terms of selection and quality. We enjoyed the rooftop pool. It was clean and had good views but was lacking shade for most of the day, with only a couple of sun lounges with shade overhead. We had a nice spa treatment one evening, some coconut wrap or something and it was reasonably priced. It was quite a walk to Kuta, say 1.5km and we never knew there was a shuttle service. However, we knew we were not going to be at the hotel very much, really only to sleep and for the price we paid, we couldn't complain.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel for my last days in Bali and was very disapointed. It is nice in the lobby bu when you go to the rooms, things get worse. It may be renovated but it still feels outdated and worn down. I feel I was tricked. For same price I could have gotten room at Sun Islands.

Rooms do not have memory foam unlike they claim in description on hotels.com. First I got room 266, which has windows to the terrace of their cafe probably (did not seem open at a time), that is if you have curtains open you cannot have any privacy, because there will be people sitting and drinking right behind your window. Bathroom light was out, so it felt like dungeon. So I would suggest you avoid this room.

After coimplaining I got room 326 which had better layout, but still no memory foam matrace! View out to the street which is noisy, window isolation is absent. It is not even a window that opens!

Roof pool used to be nice, I mean it! Cabana's cushioning dirty and broke. The smaller pool had broke tiles. Floor in pool area needs polish.

Such a shame I am stuck in this hotel for the rest of my holiday. Have not yet had breakfast, but mymexpectations are below 0. Probably the only good thing is the Internet in the room (made this review possible). I am never returning to this hotel after my holiday is done.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. In need of a paint throughout but the rooms decent and the staff very helpful. Free car to the airport a bonus. Wifi throughout. Location not great but a quieter option for Kuta.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are ok but some need a good scrub and rooms smell like cigarette and the towels smell like cigarette too. People smoke where the lift is which is disgusting some of the workers even smoke in the lobby lounge area. Breakfast is average hardly no selection of fruits and a couple of the mornings the croissants have been stale. The rooms are fine but i think there are some spots that need a good scrub down,and they have flat screen tvs and u can ask to borrow a DVD player if u want but I think they only have one available. Air con is good sometimes there was no hot water in the shower but has gotten hotter over the days. The staff are helpful but this is my second stay and I am sorry but I won't be coming back. It's not really a holiday hotel it's more for someone who likes to have no one around. The pool has a nice view but the cabanas are run down and there is not much shade once the sun is on you. They need to have a sun shade of some sort and need new cabanas. Thanks anyway j boutique but i think a lot needs to improve I must say that the rooms are cleaned always straight away but I think the rooms need a scrub around the edges and all curtains need a good wash

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at J Boutique for 5 nights after booking through Booking.com.. we were impressed with online pictures and weren't disappointed when we arrived.. We booked a superior room but they had upgraded us for free to a deluxe. We were in room 268 which faced the front of the street (Kartika Plaza) and the upper balcony of the beer garden. We were a little concerned at first thinking it may be too noisy, but we only really heard some low bass noise from the bar on the first night and that was it.

Room was nice & bright, nicely decorated. We had a king size bed, flat screen TV with DVD player, a fridge, plenty of cupboard space and large wardrobes with full length mirrors. Shower was a decent size. There was an in room safe also.

Their view from the rooftop is really good, we only used the pool once as it wasn't overly hot weather and the pool was pretty chilly. There was also a jacuzzi on the roof and a bar. There was some maintenance to one of the walls by the pool when we were there but this didnt affect the use of the pool at all.

The staff were always friendly, and when we checked in we hadnt yet changed enough money into rupiahs so they were happy to let us pay for our room later in the day.

They had a 24 hour restaurant (bellagio) and we ordered room service twice. Both times it arrived quickly.

We had a free airport pickup when we arrived and they also dropped us back at the airport at no charge.
Also free wifi all over the hotel and good signal at all times.

We had buffet breakfast included, and this was good, egg station, hot foods, cereals, fruits, breads, croissants, tea, coffee, juices.

Location is great. 10 minute walk or cheap taxi ride (under $1 AU) into central Kuta, although there was plenty of shops, stalls, money changers, restaurants,spas & salons all along the way into Kuta, so you could browse as you walked into town.
Free shuttle into Kuta, however we didnt realise this until after we had left!

Overall, a very pleasant stay and would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#53 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a simple minimalist and a lifestyle 3 star boutique hotel. Experience a modern & retro designed hotel in Black and White ambiance located just 10 minutes walk to Segara beach, Kuta beach and right next to Lippo Mall Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.