We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, happy with our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added J Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
J Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 174 hotels in Kuta
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, happy with our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at J Boutique for 5 nights after booking through Booking.com.. we were impressed with online pictures and weren't disappointed when we arrived.. We booked a superior room but they had upgraded us for free to a deluxe. We were in room 268 which faced the front of the street (Kartika Plaza) and the upper balcony of the beer garden. We were a little concerned at first thinking it may be too noisy, but we only really heard some low bass noise from the bar on the first night and that was it.

Room was nice & bright, nicely decorated. We had a king size bed, flat screen TV with DVD player, a fridge, plenty of cupboard space and large wardrobes with full length mirrors. Shower was a decent size. There was an in room safe also.

Their view from the rooftop is really good, we only used the pool once as it wasn't overly hot weather and the pool was pretty chilly. There was also a jacuzzi on the roof and a bar. There was some maintenance to one of the walls by the pool when we were there but this didnt affect the use of the pool at all.

The staff were always friendly, and when we checked in we hadnt yet changed enough money into rupiahs so they were happy to let us pay for our room later in the day.

They had a 24 hour restaurant (bellagio) and we ordered room service twice. Both times it arrived quickly.

We had a free airport pickup when we arrived and they also dropped us back at the airport at no charge.
Also free wifi all over the hotel and good signal at all times.

We had buffet breakfast included, and this was good, egg station, hot foods, cereals, fruits, breads, croissants, tea, coffee, juices.

Location is great. 10 minute walk or cheap taxi ride (under $1 AU) into central Kuta, although there was plenty of shops, stalls, money changers, restaurants,spas & salons all along the way into Kuta, so you could browse as you walked into town.
Free shuttle into Kuta, however we didnt realise this until after we had left!

Overall, a very pleasant stay and would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    106
    70
    23
    9
See reviews for
36
107
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley Beach, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We planned a trip to Bali for 12 nights and after seeing the rates for J Boutique, decided to stay here for 9 nights and the final 3 on Lembongan Island. Reading the reviews on here we expected to see relatively okay accommodation and were quite pleasantly surprised when we arrived. As others have said, it is not 5 star accommodation but neither is it dirty, unfriendly or an unpleasant place to stay. The hotel proved to be exactly what we wanted, the first 9 days which we spent in Kuta and at the J Boutique we mainly went shopping and did day trips, spending the nights and a few afternoons at the hotel itself. If you're looking for a value for money hotel with quality service then this is it. The staff really make this place, they were all very helpful and friendly. Any requests we had in relation to our room such as our air conditioning breaking down once, were complied with almost immediately. The rooms which have been renovated were cleaned every day and I couldn't fault their cleaning. The rooftop pool has beautiful views over the city to the beach and is also very clean. Breakfast was great, having the buffet every day and also the option of ordering omelets and bacon. We also really liked the complimentary drop into Kuta square every day, which is about a 15 min walk. What really made this place one that we'd like to come to again, was at the end of our stay when we came back from Lembongan Island. We had a 7 hour wait till our flight and our agent had booked for us to be picked up from the Hard Rock with our luggage. We weren't actually staying at the Hard Rock so they didn't let us keep our baggage there. We decided to try the J Boutique as we didn't want to be carrying our heavy luggage around busy Kuta for 7 hours and even though we had already checked out and they had already got our money for the accommodation, they agreed to hold our bags without question. On top of that, they rang the driver who was going to pick us up from the Hard Rock and re-organised the pick up. For those expecting 5 star, resort-like accommodation where you don't have to step out of the resort for anything, this is not for you. If you are like us and wanted to see the sights, shop and do day trips, then come back to a nice, clean air conditioned room with amazing staff, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Me and my best mate stayed here and we had the best time in Bali. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and welcoming.. Some of the best customer service I've ever experienced. I would definitely stay here again..it was close to everything and we made heaps of friends that worked at the hotel and that worked out in the street stalls as well. Balinese people in general are so humble and appreciative of everything..even though most of them have nothing, It's so refreshing and really makes u appreciate the little things and look at life in a different way, my experiences there really opened my eyes and I'll never forget the friends we made.. Thanks :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

They have airport pick up which is great if you first time in Indonesia and taxi drives jumping on u as soon as u go out.
Friendly stuff. Breakfast was good. Hotel is not new you can see it but therefore its not so expansive. Internet was a problem and location is not the best. Along the road on Kuta - very busy. But close to small food, shop and ATM and same street as all restorants and shops. A bit far to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel was beautifully designed and really attractive. The staff were super friendly and smiled every time they saw us. They asked us if we wanted our room cleaned even when we didn't have the "please clean room sign" on our door handle. The meals were a bit small (but still tasty) compared to the rest of Kuta's restaurants, but I expected this because it was one of the finer dining restaurants. Breakfast seemed to be the same every day with minor differences, which wasn't a problem for us because we missed it 5 out of 8 days (due to our late nights because EVERYTHING is open late). The rooms were as expected but the bathroom was a bit small for my liking. Locality wise it was a bit far, closer to the edge of Kuta, this made getting too and from Kuta central and Legian beach about a 20 minute walk if you were strolling or a 4 minute taxi ride (or 10 minutes with hectic traffic) for about 15,000 rupiah maximum depending on the taxi driver (about one dollar 50 cents or something similar). The rooftop pool was as I expected and the spa was amazing, we felt so relaxed afterwards. All round it was well worth it, however next time I visit Kuta I will probably go to a hotel located closer to the main area so at night time the hotel is walking distance instead of taking a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have gone to Bali in May 2012 and we choose J Boutique Hotel for our accommodation. It's easy for us to walk from Hotel to Tuban for restaurant or shopping. The rooms is small but clean and well decorated. The hotel quite close to the airport, it's very convenient for business traveler. However, breakfast is poor, not many dishes for you can choose, especially if you don't eat beef and pork as vegetarian. Besides, the beach near the hotel isn't beautiful, you should go further beach, Kuta Beach, it's greater!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at j boutique in Feb 2012.
Rooms were quite small and basic.
the location is close to the airport but the beach is 15 minutes walk away.
there are plenty of restuarents,shopping malls and basically everything near by.
reception staff were friendly and helpful.
breakfast buffet was Ok and the same menu everyday.
the hotel was included in the bali tour promotion package of air garuda,that's how we ended up being there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#45 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a chic, retro minimalist lifestyle designed hotel in Kuta. The Hotel consist 88 designed trendy slumbers dedicated to simply accommodate leisure and business travelers to experience Kuta, Bali. The hotel offers spa & massage treatment on site, outdoor SKYpool, Pool Bar and Jacuzzi. The hotel facilitated with complete range of Food & Beverage outlet such; J Cuvee Wine Shop & Lounge Bar, all day dining The Bellagio Restaurant, and also Live Music performance on Beer Garden & The Upper Lounge. The hotel also serves 24 hour in room service. Every guests may enjoy Free Wifi in all guests rooms and hotel areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.