We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added J Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
J Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 337 hotels in Kuta
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel was beautifully designed and really attractive. The staff were super friendly and smiled every time they saw us. They asked us if we wanted our room cleaned even when we didn't have the "please clean room sign" on our door handle. The meals were a bit small (but still tasty) compared to the rest of Kuta's restaurants, but I expected this because it was one of the finer dining restaurants. Breakfast seemed to be the same every day with minor differences, which wasn't a problem for us because we missed it 5 out of 8 days (due to our late nights because EVERYTHING is open late). The rooms were as expected but the bathroom was a bit small for my liking. Locality wise it was a bit far, closer to the edge of Kuta, this made getting too and from Kuta central and Legian beach about a 20 minute walk if you were strolling or a 4 minute taxi ride (or 10 minutes with hectic traffic) for about 15,000 rupiah maximum depending on the taxi driver (about one dollar 50 cents or something similar). The rooftop pool was as I expected and the spa was amazing, we felt so relaxed afterwards. All round it was well worth it, however next time I visit Kuta I will probably go to a hotel located closer to the main area so at night time the hotel is walking distance instead of taking a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    101
    64
    22
    8
See reviews for
34
101
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have gone to Bali in May 2012 and we choose J Boutique Hotel for our accommodation. It's easy for us to walk from Hotel to Tuban for restaurant or shopping. The rooms is small but clean and well decorated. The hotel quite close to the airport, it's very convenient for business traveler. However, breakfast is poor, not many dishes for you can choose, especially if you don't eat beef and pork as vegetarian. Besides, the beach near the hotel isn't beautiful, you should go further beach, Kuta Beach, it's greater!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at j boutique in Feb 2012.
Rooms were quite small and basic.
the location is close to the airport but the beach is 15 minutes walk away.
there are plenty of restuarents,shopping malls and basically everything near by.
reception staff were friendly and helpful.
breakfast buffet was Ok and the same menu everyday.
the hotel was included in the bali tour promotion package of air garuda,that's how we ended up being there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellerberrin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We have just speak eight days at the J. Boutique Hotel and found the hotel very accommodating.
The room was very clean a little small, the bed was a king size good mattrass, the bathroom was a bit dark but we coped. The room was serviced thoroughly every day and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all fantastic. Breakfast was very good however the food was a little bit the same every day. Our overall experience was fantastic in a good location not too close to Kuta but not too far away, would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at the J-Boutique hotel for 3 nights in February. It is a pretty standard hotel with no standout features. Among relatively good points, rooms are clean and hotel has a nice bar. However the much advertised pool was a big disappointment. Also, location wise its around 15-20 minutes away from the main area of Kuta.

Overall I felt hotel was bit overpriced for its features and facilities. If you are staying in Kuta you can probably get a hotel at similar price near the beach which is the main party location. If you are looking for a relatively secluded place to stay then you should not select Kuta anyways.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is very chic and modern. The theme colour seems to be black and white. The room is beautifully decorated and clean, however the bathroom is a little small. There is no additional power point for us to charge our gadgets so we have to use the power point in the bathroom to do so.

Location wise is at the end of Jln Kartika. Just walk towards the left as you exit the hotel and you will find many shoppings, resorts and restaurants. The Discovery Mall is about 10 minutes walk away and to walk to the other end of the road where Matahari Mall, Poppies Lane and other shops are located is 30 minutes from the hotel. Kuta beach is a short walk away and can be accessed via any of the resorts nearby.

A 5 minutes walk away is Carla Massage and Spa which we went everyday as their prices are very reasonable e.g. 55,000 Rp for 1 hour Reflexology. There are a few other Spa nearby e.g. Mango Spa but we didn't try.

The buffet breakfast choices is very limited and is almost the same everyday.

The hotel has a very nice roof top pool and jacuzzi.

Staffs are generally friendly and helpful. They were very prompt when we asked them to check out the room's safe box as it was faulty.

Overall, this is a good hotel at a good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

really a nice hotel. Its really clean, that was very important for us. the breakfast was also very good, but the most important thing are the people who work here and i have to say, we are very impressed how friendly and professional they are. thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta
Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a chic, retro minimalist lifestyle designed hotel in Kuta. The Hotel consist 88 designed trendy slumbers dedicated to simply accommodate leisure and business travelers to experience Kuta, Bali. The hotel offers spa & massage treatment on site, outdoor SKYpool, Pool Bar and Jacuzzi. The hotel facilitated with complete range of Food & Beverage outlet such; J Cuvee Wine Shop & Lounge Bar, all day dining The Bellagio Restaurant, and also Live Music performance on Beer Garden & The Upper Lounge. The hotel also serves 24 hour in room service. Every guests may enjoy Free Wifi in all guests rooms and hotel areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.