We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“J Boutique hotel reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added J Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
J Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 181 Hotels in Kuta
Kajang
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“J Boutique hotel reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Overall for a 3 star hotel, it was indeed worth the money. This is a very elegant and stylish hotel with its black and white theme. It provides free transport to the airport which is an added value. Things it can improve on:-
1) Breakfast - not much variety provided so prob can add on more items
2) Room service - no iron/ironing board provided so guests must pay for their items to be ironed

The exterior of the hotel is not very fancy but the interior is very unique and nice.
Nice hotel to stay due to convenience of location to airport and other places.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exposureonenine, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Nimi_C,

Thank you for sharing your comments and thought about our hotel. We learnt few points for improvements. First is in regards to buffet breakfast selectins and as well as the ironing board services. It's in our pipeline for service improvement on 2012.

As for the facade of the hotel we have just recently finish the refurbishment. Hope our our clients would appreciate the improvement that we have taken.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you to stay again at J Boutique Hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    110
    75
    25
    9
See reviews for
38
114
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here for a week with my friend in November 2011.
We were surprised by how roomy the rooms were after reading some reviews saying they were matchbox size. I would say they're comparable to any hotel room I've stayed at.

The rooftop pool is great but the view isn't as nice as they make it out to be. We were often the only two in there during the day so it was nice.

Staff are very friendly and helpful but we found some didn't speak very good English and couldn't understand what we were asking e.g we wanted scales to weigh our bags and they didn't know what we meant.

Breakfast is free and Buffett style. Not a huge variety but it all tastes delicious. They even have an egg station for fresh omlettes and fried eggs which is impressive for a small hotel. Normally I wouldn't eat the Asian breakfast foods but because of the lack of bacon and sausage I thought I'd try some and what I had was yummy. Some things were cold if you didn't come down early though.

The only major issue we had was the shower drain blocked itself on The 3rd day so we had to have quick showers or The whole bathroom would flood but that's apparently a Bali thing and not a hotel thing.

Location is Great because it's slightly out of the way but still easy walking distance to discovery shopping mall. It's also across from a commonwealth bank and circle k (like a 7/11). There's a great little spa a few doors down called Carla's spa (perfect if you feel the hotel spa prices are too expensive) and the staff there were lovely. It's cheaper getting a manicure there than on the beach (and the fish spa is cheaper too!)

Overall I would stay there again for sure but arrive earlier for breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exposureonenine, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Amy D,

Thank you for sharing your fabulous details comments about your experience staying with us. We sincerely take notes of few points for improvement.

Our breakfast menu is served on chaving dishes with heater, this should be able to keep the food warm actually. We also serve late breakfast until 11am, understanding that most guests stay up late during their visit in Kuta. We apologize for the lack of understanding from our staff in regards to your request for scaling/weight your luggage prior to your departure. This service is availale at our concierge desk with scale meter is available to be used.

Your comments are truly valuable, we really appreciate this for our service improvement. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again to J Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I bought a Scoopon deal on our first ever trip to Bali and needed plenty of help from staff to ensure we had a great trip. Couldn't have asked for more - friendly, helpful, always cheerful and full of information for a first time traveller. Breakfast was a pleasure with a range of food suitable for all tastes and the bar staff made sure that we enjoyed our early evenings and a couple of late night night caps. Amazing pool up on the roof provided a great place to relax and gain a view of the area.

Room was clean and simple - just what we wanted.

We stayed on the ground floor and had a fair bit of noise from the outside bar - didn't worry us as we were usually awake or out but could see that if you wanted an early night it could ahve become an issue.

Air con was great, especially as we adjusted to the heat.

Couldn't say enough about the staff - all very friendly and helpful. Definitely look to stay here again on our next trip to Bali.

Room Tip: Probably stay away from the outside bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exposureonenine, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Bblech,

Thank you for shring your positive comments about our hotel and services on tripadvisor's forum. We truly appreciate it.

We will share this very positive input to all our team here at the hotel. This will definitely enhance their motivations to continuously deliver friendly hospitality further.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you to J Boutique Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We brought a cudo deal and it was $500 for 2 people for 7 nights. We wanted an extra night and when i got there, the room they had for us had been rebooked for an addtional night by the previous people. So we were given a room on the 3rd floor with no windows and no AC which wasn't great. but i said in compensation we would like a free upgrade and they did. the lower level is the coolest as the building although there is AC can get quite hot on the higher levels. The pool was perfect size and never too full, never lots of kids either as this is more of a 'grown up persons' hotel. Breakfast was always nice.Although if u ask for an omlette or poached eggs make sure they are cooked thoroughly as my friend didn't weather fair after an omlette one morning.
The airport pick up and drop off is great. they are most accomodating in everything. would suggest esp being bali and "bali belly' to have more than 1 toilet roll in the bathroom. they have wifi all over and the drinks are higher than other places on the street they dont mind if u get a couple of drinks from the Circle K across the road and have a couple in the beer garden. We did sneak up one night and have a late night swim wiht some music although the pool was shut and they were totally fine as long as we weren't making crazy noise.
The massures are great they are very firm but it does get a little cold in the treatment rooms. You are paying for the peace and quiet here bc even though you wil save a bit of cash by getting a massage on the strip its very loud and not as professional.

Room Tip: Go on one lower levels if you can. none have balcony's so it doesn't matter but the lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exposureonenine, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Nicole,

We appreciate your comments and sharing thoughts of your experience while staying with us. Few points that we learnt for improvement including the AC service maintenance that we regularly schedule it.

We're gald to learn that our flexibility of service meet your expectations. This will definitely a good point to share to our staffs, without their support our boutique hotel is only the name on the brand, with no reality of true expereince delivery.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have just returned from my first ever trip to Bali. I stayed for 8 nights up on the 3rd floor of the J Boutique Hotel, Oct 23-Nov 1st, 2011.

My Girlfriend and I thought that it was fantastic value for money, the facilities and staff are excellent.. although we found the hotel food and drinks menu to be overpriced and fairly lackluster.

However, overall i highly rate this hotel!

Room Tip: higher floors are quiter.. opt for floor 3 if possible :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exposureonenine, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Luke,

It was such a pleasure to read your short and concise positive feedback on our hotel and services. Your comment will definitely be useful to us as the management to enhance our staff's spirit. Your feedback is a proof that our staff have done their best to keep you and all other guests experience a real Balinese hospitality.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again to Kuta, Bali.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 via mobile

To Jboutique hotel, this is the first time I try to stay in this hotel for 4 nights 5 days, during the first day came a little disappointed because the room that we want does not fit our expectations, we wanted room type double bed but was given a room in the coupled so twinbed looks like the type double, this only makes us disappointed, thanks for following up our complaint immediately to the hotel. The rest may be more varied breakfast anymore so we are staying a little longer do not feel bored. Hopefully next time much better for its service. I will be back in this hotel one time and share with the people closest to me.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Rooms are not great, very ordinary interior I am not sure why they call boutique, lift is bit crampy, long haunted corridors not enough lighting and No a/c in corridors also. Just a walking distance to Kuta beach and also discovery shopping mall. Has good beer joint with more then 20 brands of beer served. Staff are pretty good and service oriented, wifi works well also.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#53 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a simple minimalist and a lifestyle 3 star boutique hotel. Experience a modern & retro designed hotel in Black and White ambiance located just 10 minutes walk to Segara beach, Kuta beach and right next to Lippo Mall Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.