We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Niche Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Niche Bali to your Saves list
The Niche Bali
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JL. 190, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 215 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
perth australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

our secont time to this hotel and it didnt disapoint. rooms were clean, meals were great, pool was awsome after a day shopping. staff were exceptional, its like our home away from home. will def stay again

Room Tip: i wouldnt recomend the ground floor 131,132,133 as its right next to kitchen and cleaning room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiancaRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is very good in the heart of bustling Legian Street. Unfortunately being close to the bars and nightclubs makes it attractive to the young crowd who tend to not respect or consider other guests or staff. The hotel is good value for money and we were more than happy with our room and the breakfast. Being on the ground floor we did not hear any noise from the night clubs but some guests did say if you were on the top floor, there was a noise problem.
The pool bar is open until 10pm and some guests were noisy but that's OK because after 10pm it did go quiet. They do have a no noise after 10pm policy and they do enforce it. During our two week stay , two lots of guests were thrown out for loud and abusive behaviour and I do admire the owners for enforcing this policy. The staff are amazing. The owners are very lucky to have such great staff and they should be treasured. Unfortunately our holiday had to be extended as my husband and his daughter both came down with dengue fever. We were so relieved that we were able to keep our rooms for an extra week and the staff made the whole traumatic week so much more bearable. They couldn't do enough for us and the cleaning staff even visited my husband in hospital and brought a basket of fruit. The hotel sent flowers too. A big thank you to all the wonderful staff at the Niche for all your kindness and assistance throughout our stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarkstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the niche hotel for 8 days. Hotel is decent enough for the price and in a awesome location. WIFI was expensive and people seem to steal it from you ( make sure u change ur password with reception ) Breakfast was pathetic and had a disgraceful spread. We were there over NYEPI day which was annoying as they fully lock the hotel down with no lights allowed and not allowed to leave the hotel. You would think they would put on some entertainment for tourists. We were forced to eat this buffet on NYEPI day which was 250 000 and the food tasted like [--] The pool is pretty good but the happy hour is pretty weak, buy 2 cocktails get 1 free... yay.... We were there on a boys trip so we weren't too concerned by the hotel, more concerned about the location. But i wouldn't bring the girlfriend here!!! Cya Bahhhhhh

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChief87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a great little hotel. It is down an alley and Taxi drivers aren't sure where it is but it is in a fantastic location not far from Poppies 2. The pool area and swim up bar is beautiful and the rooms are spacious and clean.There weren't any small children at this hotel ( as I was on an escape without mine, it was lovely!) Breakfast was yum! We didn't experience any sewerage smells that other reviewers have. I did try the spa for a massage but Soma day spa on the main road was much better! I didn't see any gym - not that I would have used it anyway. The only down side is that you have to pay for wifi but I would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: we had a ground floor room, was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeenKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth West Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Second time we have stayed at this relatively out of the way hotel in Legian, Bali. First time was great...quiet, friendly, no kids....everything the brochure and the no noise agreement you sign upon arrival, promised. But second time the earlier standard was trashed. Pool is open until 10pm each night and when we were there a number of guests thought this meant plenty of splash and yahoo until that time. Loud bad language in the pool area, and at least one young child who's main method of communication with parents was high pitched grunt and or shrieking. We witnessed people mixing their own drinks behind the pool bar, bringing their own alcohol into the pool area which we understood was not permitted and smoking in the pool (guess where the ash and butts went). Glass bottles were also carried around and in the pool. The staff were very friendly (perhaps too much so to enforce the rules). The rooms basic but comfortable. While we like this hotel, unless standards are enforced, it is doubtful we would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirlanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I loved it here. I saw lots of complaints about noise in reviews but only heard it a little on one or two nights which you can't exactly escape if you're going to stay in the city. What would you expect? The staff were all very friendly & helpful. The room was fine. We did come home to the sewerage smell once but it left within like 10 minutes. No problem. The food was good until I ordered nachos which made me feel a little sick. I thought it was cheap til we started eating out and found even cheaper and good food. Try the Legian cafe right across the road when you come out of the lane way, good food, good service. The pool was great and drinks are fine and safe. The spa isn't much of a spa but the services were fine and I wouldn't expect any more especially from the cheap price we were paying. The hawkers in the laneway did get extremely annoying- they do take advantage of you if they can. they did rip me off, don't pay more than 50,000 for a bintang top. They started stuffing things in my bag I didn't want, my boyfriend went to the security at the hotel and problem solved. They bugged us a little after that but nothing intense like before. The tour guide guy at the entrance is great and very friendly if you need to book things use him. The breakfast is basic but has anything you'd need for breaky (fruit, bacon, eggs, sausage, toast, fried rice, yoghurt, juice, coffee, pancakes, danishes along with a different item per day e.g hash browns/mushrooms) so I'm not sure what people would be expecting to eat and for such a cheap price per night it's fine. The cable channels aren't very good there were only about 3 that we watched but the rooms come with a dvd player and you can buy dvds very very cheap so we were fine. The beds are a little hard but I got so used to it now my bed is too squishy. Great location, close to anything you'll need. The hotel is very clean and My boyfriend and I will definitely be back without considering other accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lululx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This is not a nice place to stay. We had a superior room and the whole 8 days all you could smell was the sewer coming up thur the pipes in the bathroom. Nothing like a sewage truck turning up every couple of days at the main entrance and pumping out raw sewage. The breakfast is very basic. Rooms look nice on the Internet etc, but very deceiving. Book somewhere else!!!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#4 of 215 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#16 of 215 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#3 of 215 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Niche Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Niche Bali

Address: JL. 190, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Niche Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 38 modern and well appointed rooms The Niche Bali hotel is ideally situated to offer its guests easy access to the variety of shops, restaurants and entertainment options Legian Street is world renowned for. The Niche Bali hotel is your perfect choice for Bali accommodation.Opened in May 2011, our brand new 1st floor Superior King rooms with pool view and modern furnishings are available for our guests wanting something a little more special. The Niche Bali hotel is popular amongst travellers wanting accommodation in Kuta and Legian.A trip to Bali wouldn’t be complete without some pampering and self indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your The Niche Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Niche Bali Hotel Kuta
Samsara Hotel Kuta
The Niche Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing