We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Niche Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Niche Bali to your Saves list
The Niche Bali
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JL. 190, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 180 Hotels in Kuta
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“amazing hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My sister and I stayed at The Niche for the first time in Aug 2012 I have been traveling to Bali for
over 30 years and I have to say it is one of the Best hotel's I've stayed in, the room are nice and very clean, the staff couldn't do enough for you, the food was great and if it wasn't on the menu
all you had to do was ask and they would make it for you. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    54
    21
    1
    11
See reviews for
18
56
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

As first timers in Bali, this place was perfect.Friends told us about it. The whole place has been refurbished, the pool is lovely. The hotel is clean, very freindly and helpful staff. Rooms are cleaned daily. We stayed upstairs near the lobby, noise want a problem. This place has a great friendly atmosphere. We will be back..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked in at the Niche Bali about a week out from arrival, hoping to get a room in order to join friends that had booked in there much earlier. I managed to get a standard room and booked 8 nights for a very reasonable cost of just under NZD$1,000.00 for the entire time.
Upon checkin late in the evening I was greeting by friendly professional staff, I was asked to sign a disclaimer to provide assurance I would adhere to the policy around noise after 10:00pm, which I was happy to do. I was also pleasantly surprised when I was told that I had been upgraded to a superior room (303)
I was provided assistance with my bags to the room and given a tour of the room, and shown where things were and provided with a demonstration of how to use the inroom safe. Then I was left to it.
The room was large, larger than room 301 which a friend of mine had booked (superior room) and was larger than 302 by the looks of the outside. The room was clean and spacious, a king size bed with comfortable mattress and pillows and a couch area at the end of the bed. There was a 42" LCD TV and a DVD player provided as was there an alarm clock with an iPod dock.
There was an automatic room freshener ( or maybe it was an automatic insect repeller) that puffed every so often. There was also an insect repellant electrical device with pads to plug in and warn off the mozzies. There was a large wardrobe with wooden coat hangers and 2 bathrobes provided, there were also drawers insider the robe as was there sets of drawers on either side of the king sized bed.
The bathroom was of a large size, fully tiled, consisting of the wall hung vanity, a glass enclosed shower and the toilet. The shower was great, lots of hot water and a good water pressure at all times. The toilet had to be flushed on a couple of occasions and sometimes the water flow was not immediate in terms of drainage in the toilet or the basin, and then all of a sudden it would flow perfectly, not a major problem and not enough of a inconvenience to complain about, I just got used to it and know that this can sometimes be an issue in many areas of Asia that I have travelled, so no too much out of the norm.
The rooms were cleaned daily and this was of a very high standard - I can be fussy and don't miss much, the sheets were cleaned, as were the towels ( although they were not pure white, they were clean) and the floors swept and mopped.
The apartment I had also had a private balcony with 2 chairs and a small table, an ashtray provided and matches (although I am not a smoker, it was certainly prepared for any guest that might be).
The resort itself is of a small scale, about 40 or so rooms over 2 levels and all built around the pool. The pool was clean and I also saw the edges and pool surrounds cleaned and scrubbed on a daily basis prior to most people rising from sleep. The pool is quite sedate in the mornings but can get a bit noisy in the afternoons depending on the guests. Happy hour from 4:00pm through 6:00pm. The pool had a nice swim up bar also.
A good standard of breakfast food provided, hot selections including egg station and a selection of cereal and fruit with tea, coffee, and juice, there was plenty to go around. The food available throughout the day was or a very good standard, I was surprised with the quality, if you like calamari - goes great with a beer around the pool for an afternoon snack.
The staff were lovely and can't be faulted, all bent over backwards to accommodate their guests, this was a well run ship, so to speak.
The Niche is set back from the street and you have to pass a couple of market stalls to get to the resort, I found a couple of them rude and quite frankly a pain in the neck, to the point where I became rude and just walked past as if they didn't exist, it seemed the only way to get peace from them, I can understand they are just trying to make a living, but they were just rude and arrogant.
I was very much appreciative of the ability to check out late as my flight was not until 11:00pm, I was charged a minimal charge of Rp400,000.00 which was very reasonable and enables me to use the room through until 6:00pm.
All in all I really enjoyed my time at the Niche Bali and would recommend to others, it pays to note that there were not quite enough sun loungers to accommodate all the guests and the sun does go down around 4:00pm due to the configuration of the building layout, but by the end of the day after spending most of it in the sun, it was a welcomed change. The beach is probably a good 20-30 minute walk from the Niche.
Thanks to all of the staff at the Niche for making our stay a great one.

Room Tip: The superior rooms of 301, 302 and 303 are great if you can get them and can navigate stairs. The g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here in July, we had two rooms between us, one on the ground floor and another upstairs. Yes there was some night club noise at night in the upstairs room, but you'd be very picky to be disturbed by it considering you also have air conditioning going. The rooms were clean, so were the bathrooms, linen changed daily and the cleaners were extremely thorough. Towels were not snow white, but they were clean and we weren't paying 5 star prices anyway. Breakfast had a good selection with a chef cooking eggs to suit. Other meals were reasonable and so were drinks, the cocktails were impressive for $6.50. Pool is in the middle, with the swim up bar, the hotel location is fantastic, you can walk all over the place, hotel is just off the main street, near the memorial. Staff at the hotel were friendly, the security guard and front desk manager keep an eye out all night, and also keep an eye on the laneway. The rooms feel secure, staff are honest and there is a room safe anyway. Travel adaptors are provided. Laundry is cheap and comes back ironed beautifully, and just for a change, you CAN afford to drink from the mini bar! We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you think you'd be disturbed by disco music, choose a downstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I thought when I booked this hotel that with it being a small resort it would be nice and relaxing, but unfortunately I was wrong!! You could every noise, voice and footstep in the place. The doof doof music from the Bars near by was enough to drive you nuts, so getting a full night sleep wasnt an option. The rooms were a bit run down and the towels needed to be upgraded, (quite grey and old). The water pressure was no more than a dribble. But I guess you only get what you pay for. With it being down the end of an alley way, there was some market stalls you had to walk past to get to the hotel, we found the men who ran those stalls very rude and pushy when you wouldnt buy from them. They even went as far as abusing us as we walked past. I found this very unsettling especially at night time. The mini vans that sit at the end of the alley way for those wanting something bigger than a Taxi or those who couldnt be bothered walking to the main road to hail one, were a good idea, except we found that with 1 or 2 of them unless you were giving them a fare to the airport or longer they didnt want to know about you, which I found to be absurd since I would have thought any business would be better than no business! The pool was small and not ideal for sitting and relaxing around if more than 10 people were doing the same. The breakfast was ok...had worse but have had better too. The 1 fact I did like was the location to Kuta (although a little further away from the Nightclubs would have been better). The staff that we did encounter seemed friendly enough although maybe a bit aloof at times. All in all I dont think we would stay here again, but I guess for younger people or those who are not to fussy about where they stay wouldnt mind the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom near the Day Spa are probably the best if you want a little peace and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My mum (62yrs) and I stayed at the Niche hotel for 4 nights. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly. Rooms were nice and clean and very modern with tv, dvd and bar fridge. The bathrooms were quite roomy and towels changed every day and beds made up every morning. Buffet breakfast was really nice with fresh fruit, cerials and juices, as well as hot buffet. If you want eggs for breakfast they are cooked to your liking.
The pool was big enough for us and had a swim up bar which was very popular among the other guests during our stay. The hotel is set back from the main road and was pretty quiet. Occasionely we could hear music from the nightclubs but we were aware of this before we stayed nad it wasnt loud enough to bother us.
The hotel is walking distance to alot of shops, and the Matahari shopping centre. We walked everywhere as everything was in close proximity to the hotel.
All the staff were so helpful and friendly and spoke english very well.
We would definately stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are better as you dont hear much noise from the nightclubs up the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I wanted a cheap get away for a few nights and saw this hotel.
From the minute we arrived we loved it. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble It's a lovely small boutique hotel with maybe 40 rooms. We were upstairs overlooking the pool and the rooms below were directly in front of the pool. Although the pool was not huge was just right for us and had a great swim up bar. The rooms were all fairly new and had everything you need. Yes we could faintly hear the clubs at night but that was to be expected and it really wasn't loud enough to bother us. We have since recommended it to other friends who loved it although we would not take the kids there as its not really suitable but that was exactly what we wanted

Room Tip: Make sure you specify if you want a room around the pool as they do have others behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Niche Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Niche Bali

Address: JL. 190, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Niche Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 38 modern and well appointed rooms The Niche Bali hotel is ideally situated to offer its guests easy access to the variety of shops, restaurants and entertainment options Legian Street is world renowned for. The Niche Bali hotel is your perfect choice for Bali accommodation.Opened in May 2011, our brand new 1st floor Superior King rooms with pool view and modern furnishings are available for our guests wanting something a little more special. The Niche Bali hotel is popular amongst travellers wanting accommodation in Kuta and Legian.A trip to Bali wouldn’t be complete without some pampering and self indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Niche Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Niche Bali Hotel Kuta
Samsara Hotel Kuta
The Niche Bali Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Niche Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.