We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant to your Saves list
Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Legian 118, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 190 Hotels in Kuta
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The best thing about this accommodation was the pool. It was large and had noodles to play with and good lighting for swimming at night. All of the rest of the hotel's lighting was terrible, especially on the long walk from the room to the main road, I slipped in a large pile of mud and almost landed on my face because I couldn't see where I was going. The room was also quite dark and the water stank like rotten eggs or sulfur. There were also loads of mosquitoes in the room that made it very difficult to sleep at times because there was no mosquito netting around the bed. But the main reason that I gave this place a poor rating is because one of the hotel employees tried to swindle us by asking us if we needed a taxi, which we did, and then trying to shove us into his friend's car without telling us a price and then trying to charge us $6 to go somewhere that only costs 1 or 2 dollars in a metered taxi. At over fifty dollars a night, the staff should be better than that. There are better places to stay at better prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    73
    55
    23
    27
See reviews for
41
66
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Matahari Bungalows are very run down. The rooms are spacious and the bed is comfortable, but this place is in desperate need of renovation. It is not well signposted, so we had trouble finding it. It is right on Legian Street, but the rooms are far enough from the street that they are quiet. The pathways to the rooms are not lit, and they flood when it rains, making access to your room difficult. The pool was nice, but there were a lot of insects in the water. The water in the room was hot, but it smelled disgusting. There were a lot of mosquitoes and no net. The a/c worked well.

The staff were a mixed bag; the receptionist was very helpful and looked after our bags, but the concierge was in cahoots with his friend, a driver, charging extortionate amounts of money for taxi fares. We were also awoken very early in the morning, by a wakeup call for another room. There are better places available for less money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Matahari is located in Legian just a 5 minute walk from Kuta beach. At first youi'd miss the place as it is set back behind a clothing store but once found it proved an excellent spot to start exploring Bali from. The hotel is showing its age but in our room, D43, had recently been spruced up and was in good condition albeit the new eco water saving toilet didn't actually save water as you must flush it twice to empty it. The pool and gardens were great as was the poolside bar and grill. The complimentary breakfasts were basic but filling, eggs cooked as you liked toast and bacon or ham, fruit, coffee/tea and orange juice or nasi or mei (noodles) goreng.
Its location leads you straight out the front enterance into the heart of all the shopping madness that is Bali and it tends to be the heart of where aussies congregate. Just a few hundred metres walk brings you to the Bali bombing monument; a word of warning if you visit it, take tissues.
Overall I doubt if I would bother to stay anywhere else as in my case I only look at the room as a place to sleep and the staff were excellent. One last thing dont rush out to change your money, within less than a kilometre you will find hundreds of money exchanges and their prices can vary as much as 20c per Australian dollar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool, its at the back of the complex and there is no traffic or party noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Located along Jalan Legian where the night come into life. The hotel offers room surrounding by large green garden with a swimming pool. Never used the pool but it look good for me. The only comment is they need to replace the floor tiles. Anyway, the pool water is crystal clear. During our check in, room big for three of us (with 3yrs boy) but the main door lock damaged. A complaint filed & they managed to repair within a short time. I like the interior design of the room with wood panel & traditional ceiling. Furnitures are due for replacement & need some repairs. Small TV (i mean very small & old model) with only local channel. Ordered room service - Chicken Fried Rice, fried egg & fanta (Cost Rp61,125). They only served set breakfast with option for American breakfast or fried rice set. Fruits & Coffee/tea are free flow.

Overall, the hotel is clean & surrounded by green trees. Don't expect high quality service standard as this hotel is not a stars rated. The location is very strategic for Legian nightlife, convenient store & restaurants are everywhere around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Get away from the noise of Kuta / Legian, just 50 meter off the main road. Close enough to all the action (bars, shops, restarurants nearby, beach 10 minutes away).
I paid 450.000 rupiah for a renovated room with flatscreen TV, ample bathroom space and fridge. Free breakfast. Staff speaks good English and are very helpful. Large swimming pool.
Lots of guests from other parts of Indonesia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I've been visiting Bali for over 20 years and have stayed at Matahari Bungalows on most of those trips, I've stayed elsewhere but always go back. Have had 5 trips this year spent 3 of those at Matahari Bungalow, it is handy to everything. If you want to go walking then Seminyak is not far, Bomb Memorial is only 200 meters, Poppies 1 & 2 easy walk, Kuta Square + Centro all within walking distance if not simply take your pick of the hundreds of taxis after your business. I've read some negative opinions about the place but in all my visits never really had a problem. Yes it is dated & in some areas well worn but remeber people it is a budget 3 star Balinese Hotel. Beyond the outward appearance I have found over the years it's the hotel's staff who have made my stays enjoyable. The pool & gardens are simply gorgeous with a swim up pool bar equal to more expensive establishments. Whenever I've had airport transfers I can rely on a friendly member of staff to be there waiting for me. The breakfast is included in the room rate & along with all the meals available on the very well priced menu they are great meals & great value. The establishment also has an on-site Spa with excellent service in fact it would be the best massage I've ever had. The hotel location puts numerous bars and eateries within comfortable walking distance with probably the cheapest beers in Bali directly over the road at "Sea Breeze". I believe you should try this hotel, you be the judge why else would there be every year returning guests who will stay nowhere else?

Room Tip: The Garden View rooms have a very pleasant private balcony from which you can lookout over the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Didn't like the place very much. The good: staff are friendly, nice quiet complex, nice views of the beach, clean pool, big room. The bad: My room had a bad stench to it, the shower had poor water pressure, no shampoo or shower gel, TV had poor reception, air con was not strong enough. I'd rather pay a bit extra and stay in a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant

Address: Jalan Legian 118, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 190 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlike many budget category hotels , Matahari Bungalow has a large open garden and swimming pool. Cozy hotel at strategic place gives more value for budget hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Bungalow Bar And Restaurant
Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant Hotel Kuta
Matahari Hotel Bar
Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.