We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Unique & Friendly (Harris Resort's motto - we would have to agree !)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach to your Saves list
HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pantai Kuta, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 180 Hotels in Kuta
Albany, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simple, Unique & Friendly (Harris Resort's motto - we would have to agree !)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We have just returned after an 8 night stay and had a great experience ! We would definitely recommend this hotel for guests who want a great location (near beach, shopping centre and Poppies II), friendly staff, lots of activities and a relaxed hassle-free holiday. We appreciated the extras this resort provided (Kids' Club, oil burner in the bathroom, free 15 minute spa session, free internet access and use of computer etc). Our 21 month old daughter Jessie especially loved Dino the Dinosaur who visited the children every day, knew her name and made her feel special. It was the highlight of her trip ! Thanks to all the staff, especially Susi in the Kids' Club for making our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pool access room was great (thanks for the upgrade!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRKB01, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting our hotel as your family holiday destination and we appreciate your precious comments of your experience with us.

We were very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the resort’s location and free daily activities by the pool especially with our Dino mascot who greets the HARRIS Fans/Guests in the morning.

On behalf of the team, I would like to thank you for choosing HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach. We hope to welcome you back to our resort in a near future.

Friendly regards,
Virginie Tutin Sandstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    217
    119
    32
    21
See reviews for
191
120
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This hotel appears to be run for the benefit of the staff, not the guests. I was on the second floor and was repeatedly disturbed by large, noisy groups of employees passing my room...I presume during shift changes. Perhaps the staff room is on the same floor?

In addition, a major and very noisy staff rally event started at 08:00 on Sunday morning, in the parking lot, at a time when most guests are still asleep.

Finally, when I was able to access the parking lot the day after this event ,I was told to move my car as I had taken the spot reserved for the hotel manager...all in all a very employee-centric hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRKB01, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your constructive review.

Your precious reviews have been taken seriously to help us provide better services and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused of this exceptional situation. During this period we had the annual event of HARRIS Day and it is unfortunate that it happened on your stay.

Please be assured that your comments about the staff noise in the corridor have been shared to all the team and we are continuously trying to improve our services in order to meet our guest's expectations. We will work on improving our service with more training and controlling.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Friendly regards,
Virginie Tutin Sandstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just returned from spending 5 nights here, I can honestly say that I'm generally happy with my stay as it met most of my needs of wanting an accommodation that had a great location, a kids club, great facilities and nice clean rooms. The staff were great, honest and sincere in the pleasantness and courtesy and made us feel welcomed from the moment we arrived. Pool area is huge, with large lounge areas around it. Rooms are good, with clean beds and toilets, but without a balcony (those on the 2nd floor). Restaurants have plenty of seating areas, both indoor and al-fresco, with a fantastically huge and halal breakfast buffet. There's also a library, a spa, play areas (table tennis, darts and even a flying fox zip line!) Did I mention it's great location? It's practically attached to the great new Beachwalk Mall next door, and you have a choice of the kuta beach just outside or the roadside stalls along Poppies Lane 2 via a shortcut from the rear. I do hope the management team will consider sprucing and maintaining the pool and rooms just a little. It's showing some age, but I guess it's difficult with the high volume and turnover of guests they get. All in all, I'd recommend this, especially for families travelling with young children.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRKB01, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and time to write a comment of your recent experience with us.

We are very pleased to read that you had a great stay because of the great location of our resort attached to beachwalk shopping mall and kuta beach, friendly and honest “HARRIS Players”/staffs, also free daily activities by the pool.

Once again, thank you for your comments; we are looking forward to welcoming you back at HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach.

Friendly regards,
Virginie Tutin Sandstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Not a luxury house, but many other advantages.
This is a very well located house in Kuta Beach (Pantai Kuta). Interior of house and rooms are simple and basic, but clean. Nice pool area and many possibilities for children.
Because the prices are really low, this is a good place to be when you search for a combination of location/child friendly and cheap but still want cleanliness and good staff.
A few words about the staff: this is really a strong plus of this house: they were all genuinely friendly and helpful. We would like to mention especially the bellboy Dody and the poolboys Hamdi and Amir, who played so phantastically with our little son (1.5 yrs old) and always helped us a lot. Thanks a lot, guys!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRKB01, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for selecting our Resort as your family holiday destination and for having taken your time to share your valuable feedback about your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.com.

We are very pleased to read that you had a relaxed stay with us especially with our strategic location, clean room, and friendly “HARRIS Players”/Staffs. Your positive review is our Best Reward. We will pass your message to all of HARRIS players especially Dodik, Amir, and Hamdi.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we are pleased to welcome you with family, back to our resort in a near future.

Friendly regards,
Virginie Tutin Sandstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, Victoria
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My daughter and I have just returned from spending 8 nights/9 days at the Harris Resort - Kuta Beach, 4 - 12 November 2013.

When I booked the holiday I asked three things from our travel agent at Flight Centre; 1 - a resort in the heart of Kuta that once I stepped inside the front door we were away from the hustle, bustle and noise, 2 - Free WiFi , and 3 - a gym. The first two requests were spot on and the third was a little disappointing as it had minimal equipment compared to other gyms in hotels/resorts. Gym junkies might be a little disappointed as it only has a treadmill, Smith machine and leg press. Oh, it opens at 9.00am when the spa/massage opens.

The hotel is located about 100 metres from the beach and is next door to the new Beach Walk multi storey Shopping Centre which houses named branded shops and some Western fast food outlets. A great location for accessing both areas. The hotel is also close to the main shopping strips of Poppies Lane 1 & 2 (T-shirts, singlets, sunglasses etc.)

The bathrooms look a little tired and need of a new coat of paint but once you look past that the rooms in general are clean and comfortable. I did note thought that they are slowly renovating the rooms. Remember that the resort is reasonably priced and it's location makes up for the small pitfall. The Harris is a Flight Centre contracted hotel (four star). The staff are all very friendly and helpful. A special thanks to Amir for keeping us and other guests entertained and is very knowledgeable in relation to activities or tours on the island. Amir generally works at the towel booth which supplies daily towels for the pool.

The hotel also has a large swimming pool, a kids pool with a water slide, kids club, a restaurant which doubles as your buffet breakfast area, spa/massage, gift shop, free use of computers with internet access in the foyer area (as well as free WiFi access in your rooms), concierge desk which doubles as a tour booking desk and conference rooms. There were conferences going when we were there but that didn't interfere with our holiday at all.

Breakfasts - as read in other posts, this hotel does not serve pork related products at the buffet breakfasts. There are signs posted in the restaurant proper indicating this. I guess that this is done out of respect for some religions and it's patrons. There is a variety of food none the less including an Indonesian/Asian influence. You can still get your baked beans, beef and chicken sausages, eggs any way you like them, etc. And if your an Aussie you can still get your Vegemite for your toast or sandwiches.

You can exchange currency at reception and when we left the Aussie dollar exchange rate at the Harris was 10,200 Rupiah. If you have large denominations of Rupiah they will kindly exchange them for smaller notes (20,000 or 50,000 etc).

Overall a very pleasurable stay for us on our first trip to Bali. Would I return to the Harris Resort - Kuta Beach? Of course and plan to return next year with the rest of the family. If you choose to stay there for your next holiday I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.......

A note for the General Manager (who reads the Harris Trip Advisor posts):
- Please consider placing a clock around the pool side area. I was asked the time on a number of occasions by guests as I was wearing a water proof watch in the pool, &
- Also consider the supply of alarm clocks in the rooms

Cheers,

Paul

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRKB01, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for selecting our Resort as your family holiday destination and for having taken your time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us.

We are very pleased to read that you had a relaxed stay with us during your holiday in Bali especially with our strategic location, free WiFi connection in all resort’s premises, and friendly “HARRIS Players”/Staffs. Your positive review is our Best Reward. We will pass your message to all of HARRIS players especially Amir.

Please be assured that your comments about the rooms condition have been shared to all the team and we are continuously trying to improve our services in order to meet our guest's expectations.
Moreover, we thank you for your input related to the clock around the pool side area.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we are pleased to welcome you back to our resort in a near future.

Friendly regards,
Virginie Tutin Sandstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Its strategic place in kuta just a few minute to hard rock cafe , kuta beach just in front the hotel , the room is standart but i like the aromatherapy , the staff very helpful for foreign but not for locals, i dont know why.. For woman travelers if u wanna go out on night some locals man wanna say want to meet you the safer is u say no, because so many tragedies in Bali especially woman and locals man .... All the bali staff very helpful for foreign but not locals...
So if u go to bali u must speak some english or mandarin or any language u can get special service with same pay.. This all i said because my private experience ..

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRKB01, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your valuable reviews.

We are very pleased to read that you were happy with our in room aromatherapy.
Moreover, we do value your review to help us provide better services and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused related to services of the staff. We will work on improving our services with more training and controlling.

Once again, thank you for your comments and be assured that every point is taken seriously to help us improve our services.

Friendly regards,
Virginie Tutin Sandstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just arrived home from bali,we had booked 5 nights at the Harris,but after the 1st night decided to check out the next day. We paid extra for the poolside room(would hate to see what the others looked like), it was plain,dull,unfriendly,and unwelcoming. They are in desperate need of a revamp. The bathroom had no power point. There was a brown water puddle constantly on the floor from the a/c. The shower smelt of sewerage every time it was turned on. The breakfast was not nice, nothing for children,mainly Indonesian food,which we don't actually mind,except this looked dry and shrivelled. The kids club(which was the main reason we booked there) was deserted. The kids pool is only for toddlers. There was only one pillow each on the beds,which made it impossible to watch tv. Unfortunatley,this hotel skimps on service and atmosphere. Overall,this hotel was not awful,but we would rather spend a bit more,and get value for money.

Room Tip: Good location in kuta,but not worth the money. :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRKB01, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your valuable comments.

We do value your review to help us provide better services and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We will work on improving our services with more training and controlling.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for our service that did not meet your expectations.

Friendly regards,
Virginie Tutin Sandstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach

Address: Jl. Pantai Kuta, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach is strategically located, only few steps away from famous Kuta Beach and exciting nightlife of Legian street, also direct walking access to new retail & lifestyle hub - "beachwalk". The Resort features 191 rooms and suites equipped with LCD flat TV with cable television and free WIFI in all Resort's premises. It is fit for holiday destination with a free-form swimming pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens and a kid's pool with waterslide. Free fun daily activities are available by the poolside as well as free Dino Kid's Club for 3 - 12 years old and enjoy relaxing body treatments at H'Spa and Happy Feet Reflexology. For dining selection, HARRISSIMO Pizza & Pasta and HARRIS Cafe offer a wide range of Indonesian, Asian, and International specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Kuta Beach Hotel Kuta
Harris Hotel Kuta Bali
HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.