We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Value for Your Money in Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Ayu Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bali Ayu Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bali Ayu Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Petitenget No 99 X, Seminyak, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 174 hotels in Kuta
Brisvegas
1 review
“The Best Value for Your Money in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I hate to say it in case I cant get a room next time we travel but the Bali Ayu is the best value hotel I've ever stayed in. Clean and spacious rooms, fantastic spacious rooms, designer outdoor showers.

Located away from Kuta and Legian this hotel is a great base from which to plan your stay in Bali. The unfenced pool was a drama for the two year old but we coped just fine. There was nothing more the staff could have done to make our stay more enjoyable. If your going for the nightlife and shopping then this is not you, but if you want a good safe clean hotel at a great place this is it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    58
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
27
50
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Stayed at Bali Ayu for 14 days in August 2010,. First trip outside Aus.
Hotel was good each room had 2 double beds, rooms were made up each day. Clean towels each day. Only draw back was no tea or coffee making facilities. Other more pricey rooms had tea & coffee facilities.Great Pool,no sun umbrellas though.Location is actually Seminyak. Free shuttle bus to Kuta each day. 10 Minute walk to beach, can walk along the beach to Kuta in about 45 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

My family & friends stayed here for 2 weeks. We'd never been to Bali before so had no idea what we were getting ourselves into. But after reading other trip advisor reviews decided Bali Ayu fit our budget and needs. A little out of the main drag means it's removed from the traffic noise but only a short walk/taxi ride to get anywhere. The staff were super friendly and helpful which came to be expected when we realised that everyone can arrange a better "deal". Rooms were massive, especially down past the pool & bar area and were serviced daily. Awesome spa services available and often at a better rate than out of the hotel. Hotel restaurant is nothing to rave about but the included breakfasts are fine and save $$ elswhere. Cheap dining within meters outside the hotel complex. Warung Enys is a must to dine at! Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Stayed at the Bali Ayu hotel in August 2010 for one night. The room was simple, yet clean and comfortable, and the establishment itself was well-maintained. The hotel also offers a nice pool. The staff were very nice and eager to answer questions about activities and the surrounding area. The only issue with the room was that the bathroom had a 'mildewy' smell to it due to the humidity, but it the bathroom itself was clean and the smell wasn't overpowering. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to Seminyak beach from the hotel. Overall, for about $35, this is a fantastic bargain if you don't mind walking to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic getaway, the location is great as it is close to plenty of restaurants and the spa on site is just heavenly and so cheap, the pool too is really well looked after. We arrived and were shown to our room which was ok (it was the standard room, but we were told that they were recently updated, meaning they now had flushing toilets) the bed was terribly hard and when asking for a different mattress we were told they had no others. the toilet was atrocious, filthy and we were not happy. After 2 days of uncomfortable, noisy, sleepless nights the builders (who were living and working in the room next door) were continually banging hammers and tools around, we then complained and were upgraded to a superior room, WITH a proper softer mattresses! This made the trip for us at Bali Ayu, having gone to a different room. the bathroom was still suspect but the bed was great. My advise is upgrade to a better room. it will be the difference between an ok holiday and an amazing romantic holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We have stayed at the Ayu on numerous occassions as a family. Look as I said this hotel is not perfect but it is clean and meets the basic neccesities. There are various room choices and we have stayed in a standard room which are up the front of the hotel and are like standard hotel rooms. There are superior villa type rooms there is upstairs and downstairs so its good if you are with a family or 2 couples etc. There is a gated entry and a little garden and balcony a kichnette outdoor shower and bathroom big four poster bed there is also enough room for 2 single beds to be added as we did for the 2 kids. Look the rooms are not out of this world are quite basic but are clean and surfice. They are cleaned daily. They are slowly renovating these rooms and I have seen them once complete and they are really nice. We have also stayed in the Private villas with their own swimming pool these are fantastic a really lovely setting. This time we went mum and dad stayed upstairs had an outdoor bathroom and balcony then you come down to a shared kitchentte and dining area where the beautiful pool is and there is a bedroom downstairs with another lovely outdoor bathroom. If you want to spend a little more and are with a group of 4 these are perfect. There is also a 3 bedroom villa. The hotel is small and cosy with nice surroundings. The breakfast is really average but edible if its not to your standards turn right and go to Enys Warung for fruit salad and banana pancakes to die for as well as fresh fruit juice for about $3 AUD and the downstairs resturant is very nice. The room service is average and is cheap as chips as is the bar by the pool. The pool is never over crowded but yes the pool towels are limited and quite often damp and musty we just bought our own and got them laundred. There is a cheap laundry if you turn right about 50m down the road. Enys Warung which is also to the right is really cheap and lovely if you have any requests ask her in the morning and she will get it for you at the market and cook it for you for dinner. She sells cheap lovely fruit and make the best banana pancakes you can also do indonesian cooking classes with her and her husband they will honsetly bend over backwards for you and it is so cheap. There is also a good little dvd shop to the right also and right next door a little convienient store where you can stock up on drinks for the bar fridge and treats they also hire scooters there. There is a free shuttle into Kuta twice daily and it is about $3 AUD to get back in a cab. Its about 15 mins walk from the beach but a lovely walk as there are no hawkers to bother you you can walk for ages without being hassled. A few times I actually walked to Kuta but it took me a good hour and a half but was a nice walk . There a loads of lovely resturants nearby aswell as day spas although the day spa at the hotel is lovely and is super cheap. Look if you are looking for a cheap quite clean hotel with no frills out of the hustle of Kuta then this is the place for you. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions regarding this hotel. I will be more than happy to help.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

First time stayed at the Bali Ayu and we will go again. Staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a Delux room with a nice balcony. Bathroom was clean, The pool was warm and lovely with a bar just at the end (outside the pool). There are a couple of guys who will take you on a day trip (car plus driver) and we went out for the day to the volcaneo. Met plenty of other people from Aussie in the pool area and bar, so have great contacts now. The hotel in just outside Seminyak, but there is a hotel minibus that runs every morning at 10.45 am and they will take you anywhere. My hubby loved the location and there is a splendid restaurant five minutes away (Benetos), turn right out of the hotel driveway and quick walk. Dinner was approx $5.00 and excellent and the owner puts on a free show every Friday.

Kath Williams from Western Australia

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bali Ayu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Ayu Hotel

Address: Jl Petitenget No 99 X, Seminyak, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 174 hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Ayu Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bali Ayu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Ayu Hotel Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Ayu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.